We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostelling International Toronto
Nearby Hotels
US$302
US$277
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$215
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$198
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
US$250
US$228
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$230
US$217
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$217
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$294
US$216
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$279
US$263
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$280
US$240
Delta Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (456)
Filter reviews
456 results
Traveller rating
153
190
78
20
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
190
78
20
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshi hostelbed dormbasement barfemale dormdaily activitiesniagara falls tourtop bunkmixed roomi stayed in a private roomshared roomking stationcommon areastoilet and showerchurch streetfree breakfastwell equipped kitchenst lawrence market
Filter
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 456 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The location is excellent - very close to St Lawrence Market and about 10 min walk to the Eaton Centre. King Station on the subway is just round the corner.

Staffed by other travelers who are pretty knowledgable about the area and organise activities everyday.

Bathrooms were very clean and spacious - showers were separate little rooms. Stayed in a 10 bed dorm, which again felt spacious. Only problem was there were only 4 big lockers and 6 small ones which doesn't seem very fair.

The lobby area which quite small for the size of the hostel. There was free wifi, but if you didn't have a laptop you could pay $3 for 1 hour of internet use, which I think is a little steep.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank themeparkaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Very friendly and helpful staff they have...i just stayed one night,very clean rooms,good lockers,St Lawrence market is not far away,CN tower too.
tasty breakfast in the cavern,good bbq burgers in the terrace for dinner.
you need to try the pub crawl,great guides they have!...don't forget the burrito on the corner.
see u soon guys
cheers

Room Tip: dorms have their own bathroom inside..
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betour02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2011

This was our last hostel after 3 weeks in Canada, and it was OK - clean, friendly, lots going on etc. In terms of service, it was really good, and the staff were both knowledgable and helpful. It was also in a really good location - 5 min walk to streetcar/subway stops etc, and about 10 mins to the distillery district. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm with bathroom which was good, but it was on the 9th floor, and the lockers didn't have electronic locks as the website states, and they also weren't bag-sized, which means 4 girls with nowhere to really put their stuff! Oh, and get some new mattresses please!

Room Tip: Definitely get a dorm with its own bathroom
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireL81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Im from Brazil and stayed in Canada for 4 days. I was searching for a cheap place to stay cause i dont had a lot of money and stuff so i choose the HI. It was amazing, more than i was expecting! The place is really clean, safe, nice people working there, the bedroom is really fine, i was expecting something totally different and in my next trip i will stay at the HI for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brunocalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights last month and thought it was a great hostel. Was a bit wary as it was my first solo trip but the staff were brilliant-helpful, knowledgable and friendly. Hostel was clean and welcoming. Private room was fine, plenty of space with all the facilities needed, bathroom (shower and toilet) was very cramped but for 2 nights I wasn't too bothered. Breakfast choice was brilliant and tasted great. Cafe area was rather hot but to be expected when underground with a kitchen. Lockers for luggage were very helpful, need you own lock to use them for free. I used small one from my suitcase which was sufficient. Location was great-I never actually found the subway but was told it was close by! Walked to the CN Tower etc which only takes 15mins and is very straightforward. Toronto City Sightseeing bus also passes close by so if you're doing a tour of the city you can hop on and hop off near the hostel. Overall a brilliant hostel, would definately recommend and will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kemma102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews