We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plimbett's Downtown B+B in Old Cabbagetown - beats boring Best Westerns any day!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pimblett's Downtown Toronto B&B
Ranked #50 of 117 Toronto B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 June 2012

If you hate clutter, stop reading now. If you can cope with clutter, but hate cats and dogs, I'd recommend another internet search. For the rest of you that love kooky, kitschy, chintzy charm then Pimbett's Downtown B+B is just the ticket. Crammed full of stuff from straw boaters, to stuffed deer heads, to books, books, books, to silverware, to just about everything that Geoffrey likes to collect, it is a treasure trove of eccentricity in Old Cabbagetown. If there's a space, Geoffrey will fill it. Brucester, the soppy, gorgeous, affectionate Doberman will follow you round the B+B hoping for a cuddle and a quick kiss on the nose. Tiddles, the cat, is a bit more aloof, but adds to the quirky charm of the place.
I was staying in the Agatha Christie room and I bloody loved it. Forget your Best Westerns, your Marriotts, your Radissons and Sheratons. They are all pants. What my room lacked in space, it made up for with oodles upon noodles of charm. If I ever come back to Toronto I will be heading to Pimbletts Downtown B+B for the best poached eggs (served on Prince Charles and Lady Di plate!), the most loving dog, the most eccentric innkeeper and a neighbourhood that oozes character.
Only one word of warning: it's an old house. In other words, it's a bit creaky. The stairs groan, the boiler rumbles. Bring your earplugs and don't let this minor point put you off. You will never forget this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

This was my third stay at this casual B&B in a rambling brick Victorian in Cabbagetown. I keep coming back because I love the eccentric decor, the casual atmosphere, and the quiet off-the-beaten-path location. As other reviewers have noted, this place is not for everyone. Don't stay here if you expect turndown service, new linens every day, or cookie-cutter accommodations. Do stay here if you like random oddity and unique character, huge English breakfasts, animals (a dog and a cat are in residence), and a relaxed and casual atmosphere. It's like being a guest in your eccentric uncle's mansion. Geoffrey is an excellent host, and the breakfast is cooked to order. The streetcar is a short block away and the ride to downtown takes just minutes. My one complaint is that my bed was a little too firm, but I wouldn't stay anywhere else, considering the value and unique experience provided by Pimblett's.

Room Tip: The Agatha Christie room is at the center of the house and has very little street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bookish42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My husband I stayed here in September 2011 for 4 days. The B&B was the worse B&B we have stayed in. It was dirty, very very cluttered and not your typical B&B. We asked for some coffee or tea in the afternoon and was told it is only served at breakfast. They offered nothing to us. The host was not the most helpful, but John the cook in the morning was very pleasant. Breakfast was so so, buffet style in a very small and cluttered kitchen. It felt more like a boarding room and not a B&B. Just not our type of B&B. The common room was so small and cluttered.

We had a private deck but the screen door was torn so we couldn't keep it opened because of bugs coming into the room, and the glass door was so hard to shut. With them knowing when would be arriving you would think the furniture would be clean but it was dirty. The bathroom was new but no place to put your toilettres. We had to use the floor. Would not recommend if you are looking for a clean, romantic place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adelelebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

I travel a lot for work and decided to try something different so I stayed at Pimbletts for 4 days. If you want cozy friendly affordable place (that is a little bit zany) then this is the place for you. I stayed in the bulter's room, it was at the back of the house and nice and quiet. Be warned that it's not a [place for everyone. If you want a sterile hotel room with no character then it may not be the best place for you. Howevery, for me the price was great compared to the hotels downtown and and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OttawaStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

I felt like I was walking into a traditional English home, with so many lovely antiques and trinkets decorating the place! The house is absolutely gorgeous, with so many things to look at, and the top floor has it's own little patio that has a beautiful view of the city. The jacuzzi is huge and extremely relaxing also, and we had a very good sleep in the king- sized bed.

Geoffrey is wonderful and we had a lot of fun talking with him in the morning on a variety of a subjects. He makes you feel right at home and cooks a fabulous (huge) English breakfast. Try the Yorkshire tea!! I will be recommending this place to all my friends for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TerraBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Having read the reviews of other travellers, I was quite prepared for Pimbletts to be an 'experience' - unfortunately it was an experience I would rather forget.
Cabbagetown had some lovely old houses, but the general area was rundown. The house itself was so cluttered and - while this may be fun to look at - it was not fun to live in, not having been dusted in months. The bedding in the room was clean and adequate but nothing matched.
The biggest problem was the creaking floors. Obviously this could not be avoided because of the age of the property. Unfortunately, we were unable to sleep at all on our last night. The people 'using' the room above were going up and down the stairs, in and out of the front door all night, pacing the floor and doing 'other things' that were clearly audible to us. We felt very intimidated and couldn't wait to leave at first light.
Although Mr. Pimblett and his cook were friendly, I certainly could not recommend this area or this establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brucecleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We have been coming back to this B & B for the last 5 years largely because of the great location and the friendliness of the host Geoffrey and his helper John. The place also attracts people from all over the world so breakfasts are always very interesting and very hearty -- full Engish breakfast buffet every morning.
The decor is not for everyone as some might find it cluttered and even not clean. However, in hearing comments from other guests over the past few years, I have to report that most people describe it as "charming". I certainly have not seen anything like it anywhere else.
Guests also have the option of having breakfast in a sun room at the back of the house or in the garden surrounded by numerous plants. It is hard to realize at times that you are in walking distance of Yonge Street. The ambience is very peaceful and private.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fran155011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#22 of 136 in Toronto
3,960 reviews
Chinatown
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
#53 of 136 in Toronto
1,598 reviews
Bond Place Hotel
#60 of 136 in Toronto
2,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
McGill Inn B&B
McGill Inn B&B
#19 of 117 in Toronto
155 reviews
Downtown
Ada's Guesthouse
Ada's Guesthouse
#62 of 117 in Toronto
51 reviews
Downtown
Downtown Home Inn
Downtown Home Inn
#10 of 117 in Toronto
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pimblett's Downtown Toronto B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pimblett's Downtown Toronto B&B

Address: 242 Gerrard St E, Toronto, Ontario M5A 2G2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range: $125 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pimblett's Downtown Toronto B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Englishman's home where guest are welcome. Affordable downtown Toronto location. Parking available, fully cooked breakfast. Queen rooms, king beds, one room with a jacuzzi. Close to shops, restaurants, bars and all Toronto Downtown sites. Special tourist accommodation and business guests welcome. Wireless internet and internet desk provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pimblett's Downtown Toronto B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pimblett`s Downtown Toronto Hotel Toronto
Pimblett`s Downtown Toronto Bed And Breakfast
Pimblett's Downtown Toronto B&B Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing