We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully eccentric discovery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pimblett's Downtown Toronto B&B
Ranked #50 of 118 Toronto B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We liked this B&B very much for it being so different from others. I don't think that we have seen anywhere so many objet d'art scattered around a house. To some it could appear 'cluttered' but the house certainly had character & charm and must have reminded many of the 1930s. Geoffrey (Pimblett) was a good host and we enjoyed our many entertaining conversations with him. He was helpful and pointed us in the right direction for many of the places that we wished to see. The en-suite room was entirely adequate apart from the shower which we couldn't get to work However, that was probably more our fault than Geoffrey's. His colleague, John, produced a superb and well-balanced breakfast. He was also the most pleasant of men and charmed, with his chat, not only ourselves but all the other guests during the breakfast period.
If you wish to stay in a hospitable B&B in an older part of Toronto then this is the place for you.
Gillian Braban & Peter Cave

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kjelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights and was delighted by the beautiful house/mansion. The room ("The Library") was large with a nice bathroom and a comfortable bed. The house is an old style mansion with beautiful wood, and many high-quality antiques and paintings spread all over.

The hospitality and friendliness of Mr. Pimblett and his staff was wonderful and very professional! The full breakfast had eggs any way you like them, sausages, bacon, pancakes, toast and jam and a fruit salad, along with coffee, tea and/or orange juice - something you won't find in many B&Bs, especially for this price! The house also has a side garden where you can choose to eat your breakfast. It has a lovely shade from old green trees and a decorative pool, making it a very serene and delightful environment in which to eat and relax.

This place is a gem and worth every penny! Don't miss it! One block North, you can walk to Carlton street to take a streetcar which will take you to College subway station in under 10 mins. There are also convenience stores nearby and a Loblaws supermarket.

Room Tip: Make sure you reserve in advance because this place is popular and may be full if you just show up w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Can A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Okay....? Where do I start...that is kind of the question I asked myself when I entered this house! Jam packed full of "conversation pieces" it was quite different from anywhere I have stayed before. But I have to say I loved it! It,s definitely not for everyone but the beds are comfy, the bathrooms are spacious with nice strong showers lots n, lots of towels, shampoo, and soaps. Books, books and more books line the antique bookshelves that seem to be everywhere in the house. Breakfast was great ...eggs just the way you want them and bacon, sausage, toast and jam and plenty of coffee or tea. If you are a monarchist your gona love it...the queen and her whole family is everywhere. Located close to downtown and the subway in lovely old cabbagetown. A very unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherrill Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

If you hate clutter, stop reading now. If you can cope with clutter, but hate cats and dogs, I'd recommend another internet search. For the rest of you that love kooky, kitschy, chintzy charm then Pimbett's Downtown B+B is just the ticket. Crammed full of stuff from straw boaters, to stuffed deer heads, to books, books, books, to silverware, to just about everything that Geoffrey likes to collect, it is a treasure trove of eccentricity in Old Cabbagetown. If there's a space, Geoffrey will fill it. Brucester, the soppy, gorgeous, affectionate Doberman will follow you round the B+B hoping for a cuddle and a quick kiss on the nose. Tiddles, the cat, is a bit more aloof, but adds to the quirky charm of the place.
I was staying in the Agatha Christie room and I bloody loved it. Forget your Best Westerns, your Marriotts, your Radissons and Sheratons. They are all pants. What my room lacked in space, it made up for with oodles upon noodles of charm. If I ever come back to Toronto I will be heading to Pimbletts Downtown B+B for the best poached eggs (served on Prince Charles and Lady Di plate!), the most loving dog, the most eccentric innkeeper and a neighbourhood that oozes character.
Only one word of warning: it's an old house. In other words, it's a bit creaky. The stairs groan, the boiler rumbles. Bring your earplugs and don't let this minor point put you off. You will never forget this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

This was my third stay at this casual B&B in a rambling brick Victorian in Cabbagetown. I keep coming back because I love the eccentric decor, the casual atmosphere, and the quiet off-the-beaten-path location. As other reviewers have noted, this place is not for everyone. Don't stay here if you expect turndown service, new linens every day, or cookie-cutter accommodations. Do stay here if you like random oddity and unique character, huge English breakfasts, animals (a dog and a cat are in residence), and a relaxed and casual atmosphere. It's like being a guest in your eccentric uncle's mansion. Geoffrey is an excellent host, and the breakfast is cooked to order. The streetcar is a short block away and the ride to downtown takes just minutes. My one complaint is that my bed was a little too firm, but I wouldn't stay anywhere else, considering the value and unique experience provided by Pimblett's.

Room Tip: The Agatha Christie room is at the center of the house and has very little street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bookish42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My husband I stayed here in September 2011 for 4 days. The B&B was the worse B&B we have stayed in. It was dirty, very very cluttered and not your typical B&B. We asked for some coffee or tea in the afternoon and was told it is only served at breakfast. They offered nothing to us. The host was not the most helpful, but John the cook in the morning was very pleasant. Breakfast was so so, buffet style in a very small and cluttered kitchen. It felt more like a boarding room and not a B&B. Just not our type of B&B. The common room was so small and cluttered.

We had a private deck but the screen door was torn so we couldn't keep it opened because of bugs coming into the room, and the glass door was so hard to shut. With them knowing when would be arriving you would think the furniture would be clean but it was dirty. The bathroom was new but no place to put your toilettres. We had to use the floor. Would not recommend if you are looking for a clean, romantic place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adelelebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

I travel a lot for work and decided to try something different so I stayed at Pimbletts for 4 days. If you want cozy friendly affordable place (that is a little bit zany) then this is the place for you. I stayed in the bulter's room, it was at the back of the house and nice and quiet. Be warned that it's not a [place for everyone. If you want a sterile hotel room with no character then it may not be the best place for you. Howevery, for me the price was great compared to the hotels downtown and and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OttawaStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#22 of 136 in Toronto
3,973 reviews
Chinatown
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
#55 of 136 in Toronto
1,598 reviews
Bond Place Hotel
#60 of 136 in Toronto
2,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
McGill Inn B&B
McGill Inn B&B
#19 of 118 in Toronto
156 reviews
Downtown
Ada's Guesthouse
Ada's Guesthouse
#63 of 118 in Toronto
51 reviews
Downtown
Downtown Home Inn
Downtown Home Inn
#10 of 118 in Toronto
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pimblett's Downtown Toronto B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pimblett's Downtown Toronto B&B

Address: 242 Gerrard St E, Toronto, Ontario M5A 2G2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range: C$125 - C$179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pimblett's Downtown Toronto B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Englishman's home where guest are welcome. Affordable downtown Toronto location. Parking available, fully cooked breakfast. Queen rooms, king beds, one room with a jacuzzi. Close to shops, restaurants, bars and all Toronto Downtown sites. Special tourist accommodation and business guests welcome. Wireless internet and internet desk provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pimblett's Downtown Toronto B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pimblett`s Downtown Toronto Hotel Toronto
Pimblett`s Downtown Toronto Bed And Breakfast
Pimblett's Downtown Toronto B&B Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing