We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Master of Fishing / Genuine Guide

Taro is an absolute legend. This guy not only understands fish and their patterns, but has an open... read more

Reviewed July 31, 2020
T6527ERgregoryc
Catching that Bucket List Smallmouth bass.

Even though it was pouring rain when we arrived at our prearranged location, Taro was ready to get... read more

Reviewed June 29, 2018
bgaffrey
,
Porterville, California
Read all 49 reviews
  
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
48
0
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
48
0
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews smallmouth bass lake ontario fishing master bait knowledge cast gear beginners
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 49 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile

My best fishing experience.

The guides name is Taro. He's the real deal and loves what he does and it shows.

We pulled in over 60 fish!!! And I don't even think that was a good day for this awesome Guide.

You'll Love it!

Date of experience: September 2016
4  Thank TorontoSkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2016

I was lucky enough to be able to head out with Taro while i was in Toronto. Travelling half way round the world from Australia i've always wanted to catch Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass. I was not disappointed with my full days guide with Taro. He got me onto the fish and was very friendly and plenty of laughs were had. He was willing to go with the flow and allowed me to try any technique i wanted to and always got me to areas that were productive. If your ever near Toronto and wanted a half day for full days guide I can highly recommend Fish City Tours. He taught me some new techniques that i can't wait to try on the species back home. We caught fish all day. If i'm every back in the Toronto area i will be definitely booking another tour with Taro.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2016

I found Fish City Tours and Taro on social media and I decided to pull the trigger and hire him for a 5 hour charter. My wife and I had the pleasure of spending last sunday morning with Taro on Rice Lake while we DOMINATED THE WATER! Needless to say, I would recommend him and these are the top five reasons why:

1. He catered the experience to what we wanted
My wife and are are on different spectrums of fishing excellence and he was able to keep us both happy. He recognized that I wanted to really actively smash the fish, while my wife was content to bait drag, vertical jig and just chill. When my wife decided that she wanted to fish more actively, Taro taught her how to do that.

2. Taro is a Jedi Master, and a great teacher
He was able to teach my wife about the basics like casting, how to jig, how to set the hook and different things to expect while fishing. For me it was cool to pick his brain about what he is looking for in fishing spots. He was able to teach me concepts and techniques that I can use next time I go fishing. When I go fishing, i dont have a fish finder, GPS or all the other fancy electronics, but he showe me key things to look for.

3. He knows what he is talking about
To be a good teacher you have to have a to know what you are talking about, and Taro knows! There was a point where during the day where I just lost a fish, and after that the fishing slowed for a bit. So he made an adjustment, and on the first cast after it was FISH ON!

4. He puts you on Fish!
As I said earlier, we were on the water for 5 hours and in that time I caught 25 plus fish. Honestly I lost count after 15. The action didn't start out so hot, so we tired different presentations, baits/ lures. Once he found the pattern, it was lights out!

5. He is an overall good Dude!
Taro is easy to get a long with. He kept the vibe on the boat light and he took time to get to know my wife and I. He talked about his wife and his kids, his love for Nike's and shared a few fish stories. He is definitely a people person.

I have been on other fishing charters with different guides and companies over the last couple of years and by far, this one was the best. I will defintely recomend Fish City Tours and I will be booking again.

Date of experience: May 2016
2  Thank Arden V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2016

Spent a day fantastic chasing pike with Taro on Lake Ontario. Boat was well equipped and will only get better as a new boat is scheduled to arrive the week after my charter. Fishing gear was in excellent working order and included quality tackle from Shimano, G. Loomis and St Croix. Taro had a massive selection of lures and worked really hard all day to get the best result possible for the client. Many lure and position changes. Taro used all of the technology at his disposal, including several fish finders and an underwater camera, to find the fish. Weather was tricky but despite that we ended up with 7 pike. The largest was a 37" 12 lb. monster which was landed on 6lb. test nylon monofilament. 2 other fish over 7 lbs and nothing less than 3 lb. Would highly recommend Taro to anyone visiting Toronto. He really knows his stuff and shares his knowledge readily. The day will last long in my memory.

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank Kiwisandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

We are beginners who caught our first northern pike in Lake Ontario with Taro Murata. Great fishing experience in the GTA; caught plenty of spring pike in rain and sunshine! Taro is a knowledgable and entertaining guide, you won't be disappointed. Book him in advance!

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews