We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of The Clarence Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Clarence Park
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Excellent location and clean, safe rooms. Some staff much friendlier and more knowledgeable than others. The great location makes the hostel excellent value for money. Not much of a vibe going on- perhaps organised bar crawls (or even a hostel bar?) might improve this. Needs updating, could have done with an elevator too. Felt a bit exclusive at times as lots of students who clearly know one another taking over the lounge and kitchen. If you aren't looking to spend much time in a hostel, and just looking for a safe, clean base with a good location then it's great!

Room Tip: ask for ground floor if you have a heavy case!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesssenior24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2017

We spent a week in this little hostel in a private room, which was super cozy and had an ensuite, so not only perfect for travellers, but also couples. The hostel offers 2 large community rooms, a huge kitchen and car parking space. And it's located close to downtown so you can walk everything. A lovely place to stay!

Room Tip: No elevator, narrow stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

For the price, the rooms weren't bad other than the uncomfortable beds and half broken a/c that was blowing cold air from the front and hot from the back.
The location was the best part of this hostel. In the perfect spot downtown and close to anything and everything you need.
But the downfall, the second we went to check in, we noticed how unprofessional the lady at the front desk was. The way she was talking and the vulgar words she was using in front of people who were about to check in, was extremely unprofessional.
We were ok with all of this and we're dealing with it all because the price was right... until it came to the last day..
We weren't informed when check out was so we assumed it was 2 o'clock, like check in.
While waiting in our room to check out, the cleaning lady came to change the sheets and did not mention anything about us having to check out.
We went downstairs and checked out no problems and on our way we went.
At the airport we noticed an email saying we had checked out late and we're being charged a fee. After checking with the credit card company, we found out we had been charged $64.00 for late check out fee! MORE THAN WHAT WE PAID FOR ONE NIGHT.
We later found out that check out WAS at 2 o'clock and were told we checked out at 2.30, which is not true.
The people running this hostel are clearly money grabbers and they obviously are not putting the money they're stealing from people into their hostel because it needs a serious upgrade.
Not impressed and would never stay here or give these people my money again.
If they got new staff or owners then maybe it would be worth it.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank jamaicagirlxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

I booked 2 beds in a 6 girls bedroom for me and a friend of mine from the US. We were spending a weekend in Toronto. If you are looking for a cheap place but with clean and comfortable place to stay, this is the perfect place! From what I've heard from my other friends staying at different hostels during that time, their price were slightly more expensive, but having about the same comfortness here at The Clarence. It was mid July quite hot, but it had cool AC, clean bed sheets, room and bathroom. The kitchen also provides basic breakfast like cereal, milk, juice and stuff. Also, the location is really good! Close to Kensington martket and the bar street is just two, three streets behind the hostel. Not too close with loud noise, but also not to far from walking back after a drink. A park in fron of the hostel also brought some quietness. The only thing that I could complain of is that, because my friend arrived in Toronto after the check-in hour, the reception said she would leave the bed sheet and blanket to the night guard, so when my friend arrives at mid-night she could pick them up. However, she did not, eventually my friend had to sleep with towels as a cover during her first night. Besides this, I think it's a really nice place to stay! 這裡真的是一個很棒的地方!如果你想找價格便宜,但環境衛生乾淨的青年旅館這裡再適合不過了。地點就在市中心,前緣面向公園提供一個安靜舒適的環境,酒吧街就在兩三條街後面,部會太近以至於晚上太吵,但也不會太遠走路只需五分鐘而已。

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Yessika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed at The Clarence Park for 6 nights and everything was great. The location is incredible, literally open the front door and the CN tower is staring you in the face! Because of the great location I walked my way around the City each day, only using the subway when I went up to Casa Loma (well worth visiting by the way!)

I had a private room in building 10: the bed was very comfortable and the room spacious. My only comment would be that the shower pressure was quite poor but not really a major problem

Didn't really spend time in the common areas so can't really comment on atmosphere

Would recommend

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank thecrimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

This review is going to be a little bit mixed so please stay with me, I'm going to begin on a positive note...

The location of this hostel is excellent, really close to all the main attractions, in an easily accessible area from all transit routes and has all the shops/restaurants and bars you could need right on the doorstep! I loved this area so much that I actually ended up renting a condo 2 blocks away after moving out.

The hostel itself is well maintained, it's fairly new and extends over about 6 buildings mixed with dorm rooms, private rooms and apartments. The rooms are all cleaned on a daily basis. The building has a kitchen, reception room, tv room and computers to use.

Based on this, I would stay here again.

Now on to the negative...

I arrived pretty early in the morning and was aware that I couldn't check in until 2pm, so I dropped off my case and went exploring, after travelling overnight I was super tired so got back to the hostel at around 2:30pm to check in and my room wasn't ready, I finally got into my room at 3pm, an hour after check in time.

You're assigned a particular bed, now if managed correctly this can definitely work, however it is not managed correctly, in my dorm room there was a girl who stayed in one bed and then for the next night had to move into another bed in the same room! Pretty stupid, but not the stupidest thing I saw, there was somebody else in my room who had to move rooms 4 times!!! The whole booking process really needs looking into!

Personally I didn't feel that this hostel had a good atmosphere, in fact, at times it felt pretty hostile, in the evenings the staff tend to take over the living room drinking, this would be fine if they were inclusive or organised nights out to encourage socialising, but they don't, it felt very awkward and if the kitchen was full, you had no option but to sit in your room, as this hostel is split over a few different buildings, it could be beneficial to have a living room in another building as an additional social space to sit in.

There were two really helpful staff, Gabby and a lady whose name I didn't catch but she tends to work the evening shifts, both approachable and friendly, some of the other female staff I felt were rude and unapproachable.

A bit of a mixed bag, some super great points and some not so great, this hostel has the potential to be amazing but needs a few tweaks.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

This is not luxury, but the rooms are clean and functional and a few have private bath. The location, just a 10 minute easy walk from Union Station, makes it ideal. Not having 24 reception can be a problem if you intend to arrive late. Luckily for me a cleaning lady was able to check me in.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#59 of 137 in Toronto
2,732 reviews
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#32 of 137 in Toronto
2,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 137 in Toronto
3,668 reviews
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#55 of 137 in Toronto
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Park

Address: 7 Clarence Sq, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1H1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Toronto
Price Range: $38 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep smart (and on budget) in prime downtown Toronto! Located just 2 blocks west of the posh Ritz Carlton Hotel, and 2 blocks east of the ultra-chic Thompson Hotel, we overlook a beautifully restored park in prime downtown Toronto. Whether your thing is shopping, entertainment, food, or sightseeing, find the best the city has to offer within a few minutes of our front door. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Clarence Park Toronto, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing