We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary dinner”
Review of LaVinia Restaurant

LaVinia Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
LaVinia Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 9,819 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Mimico
Reviewed November 21, 2017 via mobile

We went to LaVinia for the first time on a Sunday evening on the recommendation of friends. While most of the restaurants we passed were half empty, this place was packed. The menu is varied; plenty of tapas. We tried the grilled calamari and the veal carpaccio, both of which were good. One of their signature dishes is the paella, which was fantastic. We split an order and it was a very generous portion size. The staff were friendly without being annoying. The owner makes a point of circulating among the guests to say a quick hello. My only issue is the price of the wines. I feel they're a bit steep, but that is my complaint at most restaurants!

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank Shep404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 370 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2017 via mobile

La Vinia restaurant is consistently serving some of the most delicious Spanish food anywhere and some of the best food in Toronto. We return every year on visits to Toronto.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank jankY2734FV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2017 via mobile

On a non descript part of lakeshore in a strip mall this restaurant is a gem.

Chef Fernando and his family run this Spanish restaurant and it is superb

Paella was superb. Fried milk for dessert unexpectedly excellent

Already discovered by locals it was full on a Friday night

Date of visit: November 2017
1  Thank roxygirl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2017

Wow .....this place is so sad....We went there with the expectations that we will have somewhat similar experience like in Spain. We were so sad when we tried and tasted the food......the food is below average, not even able to compare with some North American places, forget about European.

We tried appetizers, main dishes, paella,....and top it of with a creme brûlée....the biggest disaster of all. Honestly, I am not able to say which is worse of all.....we paid on average 70$ per person, which is way over priced for what you get......there are many lovely places in Toronto where you can enjoy. this is for sure not one of those....do not waste you money, go elsewhere.....

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank beauty_2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2017 via mobile

Food is very good in this small restaurant. Service is attentive. We will be back! It is worth a try!

Date of visit: October 2017
2  Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed LaVinia Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to LaVinia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing