We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Treasure for Toronto”

Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts
Ranked #69 of 515 things to do in Toronto
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Canada's first purpose-built opera house was completed in 2006 and is the home of the Canadian Opera Company and the National Ballet of Canada. Highlights of the Four Seasons Centre include the world's longest freespan glass staircase and a horseshoe-shaped, European style auditorium featuring phenomenal advancements in modern engineering and acoustical design. Facility tours are available. For upcoming opera and ballet performances, visit the Canadian Opera Company and The National Ballet of Canada websites.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great Treasure for Toronto”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Beautiful space and an amazing sound, this brings the performance alive

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Friend69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    49
    9
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Beautiful design”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The cool, minimalist architecture combines with the warmth of the wood. The acoustics are wonderful, even in the fifth balcony where I often sit. My only problem is that the lights in front of the balcony block my view if I sit in the first row and, if I sit further back, I have to peer around heads.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Well_Travelled_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Brilliant Opera venue”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

For several years we have been opera regulars at eh Canadian Opera Company seasons. We took a pass this year because we are sick of the drive into Toronto in the evenings (dangerous and unreliable). I've been to many opera houses worldwide, and it's impressive: intimate, comfortable, incredible acoustics. They hit a home run with this venue!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank DaveCanadaKitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Introduce someone to ballet or opera”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Have been taking my daughter to events here since we moved back to the city - especially enjoyed Alice in Wonderland last year.
World class entertainment

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank lovethebruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“An Opera House to be truly proud of !”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This spectacular opera house is a true mix of the old and the new. Most important is the acoustics which are very good. I have seen many productions of both the Ballet and Opera and just love coming to this gem in Toronto. An experience not to be missed

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarolandIra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing