We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent hotel on west queen west” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gladstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gladstone Hotel
Ranked #24 of 131 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel on west queen west”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Unique hotel with great staff in a non-tourist funky area. I live in the City so I did not find the street noise bothersome, in fact it was quieter than where most other hotels. The bed was one of the most comfortable i have ever slept in. I loved the old style cage elevator. If you are expecting a business hotel, this is not the place for you, however if you want to be surrounded in art and stay in one of the trediest parts of the City I would definetly recommend this hotel. It is only 20 minutes by streetcar to downtown.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikedsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    233
    45
    20
    18
See reviews for
59
303
62
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sackville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Funky, friendly, comfortable - with great coffee delivered to your room in the morning. The staff were exceptionally friendly in the both the hotel and the cafe.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlipTop69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

After checking in, we went up in the operator-only beautiful old elevator to our room. Opening the door it was completely done in Target red with knitted butterflies in boxes on the walls. Very interesting to say the least. Room was very comfortable and the art and orientals in the hallways were very nice. Shower was the tiniest I had ever seen, with a bathtub spout sticking out about a foot from the bottom. We liked the quirkiness. Could hear a little street noise but it wasn't bad. Second night, though, we had to adjust the shutter in the transom above the door so a little less hallway light came through as that had confused our sleep at night....however the drapes and shades did such a good job of keeping out the daylight that it was much later than expected when we got out of bed.
Melody and Art bars were hopping with country music and later, karoake.
Staff at the hotel were very helpful and pleasant. Definitely not a chain hotel experience but fun. Go for it.

Room Tip: ask for back of hotel to be away from street...view may be of the supermarket, though. Front looks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sethb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Design of each room, the restored classic bohemian hotel, the great bar, the fantastic cafe and great staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

I had been looking forward to staying at this hotel for a long time, but was disappointed with the quality of service and decor. Here are some of the highlights:

Pros
The art gallery had wonderful art and the location of the hotel is in the best part of the city. The free morning coffees delivered to your door were also very much appreciated, as was the comfy bed. Another great advantage was the free wireless in the rooms.

Cons
The decor needed some sprucing up. The armoire door in our room was not hinged to the unit so that when I opened it, the door fell off of one of the hinges completely. The bathroom had some sort of tape that was used to create a decorative stripe across the walls but it was peeling away from the wall on the door frame (probably due to the moisture). Both the armoire and drawers/chest were placed on stacks of hardcover books to increase the height of the furniture, I'm guessing to match the scale of the room's ceilings, but it just looked tacky.

The front desk staff were okay (check-in person was great) but some of the staff were a bit curt and only offered a minimum level of service (they made me feel like they were doing me a favor by doing their job). For example, the elevator requires an operator and there was never anyone there who was always available to operate it. You had to ask for someone, and when someone came, it was always like we were a pain for asking to use it. Consequently, we used the stairs while we were there.

Check-out was the worst because the guy was super slow checking in another guest and chatting it up with her even though I was visibly in a hurry to leave (with my suitcase and everything). He did not apologize for dawdling and ignoring me, and it just left a horrible impression of the hotel.

The bartender in the hotel bar was also slow to serve and did only the very minimum level of service. This is all while serving two other patrons in the entire bar. Just very odd.

In a nutshell, this hotel is more for the kind of folk that like 'vintage' furniture from Salvation Army, don't mind paying boutique-hotel prices but not getting the usual corresponding attentive service, and don't need hotel robes or slippers. I will check out the Drake or other hotel next time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elle0ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Last April I stayed at the Gladstone and it was really delightfull: the decoration of the rooms, the people working there, the coffee in your room in the morning, the art in the vestibule, good food, fun gigs in the bar, the location in the best part of town....
I'm hoping I'll be able to visit Toronto and the Gladstone in the near future again! (already recommended to everyone who wanted to hear!)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EstherWorldTurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

This is a lovely hotel on the Queen West strip. Each room is decorated in a different style by an artist.

Rooms are small, but stylish and the hotel was surprisingly quiet and I slept well (Saturday night).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaggieDundurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Queen Street and West Queen West
Drake Hotel Toronto
Drake Hotel Toronto
#9 of 131 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Downtown West
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#23 of 131 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Toronto
Hotel Le Germain Toronto
#7 of 131 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gladstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone Hotel

Property: Gladstone Hotel
Address: 1214 Queen Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Toronto
#24 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#32 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gladstone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gladstone Hotel is not only the oldest continuously operating hotel in Toronto, it's also one of Canada's favourite Art Boutique Hotels. Blending historical Victorian architecture with contemporary elegance, downtown culture and whole lot of art, the Gladstone Hotel has a very diverse client base and is a hub for locals and international travellers alike. 37 Hotel rooms each individually designed by different Canadian artists, 2 restaurants, 4 event spaces including a ballroom with a full size bar, 3 Art exhibition spaces and a meeting room. We organize private events, staff parties, corporate events, press/book launches, weddings and more. Find out what people are saying about the Gladstone Hotel in Toronto, or leave a review of your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Gladstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Toronto, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing