We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
A Good Experience

The Museum can be a bit hard to find, tucked, as it is on the corner of a residential block and on... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Fwombats
,
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Textiles, Art, History.

Visited this museum with a friend who is a quilt maker in their spare time. The items from the... read more

Reviewed August 5, 2018
MisterStateTrooper
via mobile
Read all 107 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Toronto
from US$15.60
More Info
from US$15.60
More Info
from US$47.50
More Info
from US$136.60
More Info
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
34
45
15
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
45
15
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gift shop rug hooking western mexico art pass exhibits include big exhibit exhibits change works of art on display unique gifts worth a visit fabric looms admission yarn tapestries scarves
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 107 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2017

I discovered the existence of this little museum almost by accident. I don't think it engages in much advertising. It's a bit off the beaten path, and is located on a three floors of what seems to be an apartment building.

From their website, I gather the Museum has a sizable collection. But, probably owing to space restrictions, only small parts of it are on display. When I was there, there were two exhibits: one on Japanese textiles, and the other on textiles of an indigenous group living in western Mexico. Both were interesting, but the Japanese display perhaps more than the other, because it included a lot of information about the very complex and sophisticated processes by which fibers are produced and woven for Japanese traditional clothing.

Although I saw a mother with two children about ten years old, this is not a museum for children. Rather, this is a place for people who really appreciate textile design and colours, and want to learn more about different cultural manifestations of them.

There is no place to eat on site. But there is a wonderful gift shop, where I wish (in retrospect) I had spent more time. It includes some beautiful scarves and other fabric items, at prices that seemed fairly reasonable.

Thank Introvertica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2017

The current exhibit (until Sept.4, 2017) on the Huichol yarn paintings from western Mexico is fascinating. The other current exhibit (until January 21, 2018) is on Japanese textiles, with beautiful kimonos. There is a nice gift shop.

Thank RobTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2017 via mobile

I was fascinated with so much involved in the textile art and design. What a fantastic field. Textile industry, fashion, creativity and design can influence, rebel and contribute so much to the culture and its representation! I am very glad I visited it. You should too!

Thank ViaCestari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2017 via mobile

Two floors of textile goodness, and an amazing little shop.
One floor was closed prepping for the next big exhibit. So they gave us tickets to get in again free another time.

Thank wubbuwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2017 via mobile

I really wanted this to be great, but it's hard to say it was even good. One floor was closed for setting up another display. The attendant offered us return tickets rather than a reduced rate, which may be their policy, but considering I live hundreds of miles away, not a good substitute. The one floor that was open had a nice gift shop, but the display was too minimal for what we paid. The fabric weaving looms were neat and interesting, but it would be cool if they could add some surface patterns or primitive batiks in the diy area. (It would also be nice if someone were more available to answer questions, etc.)

Thank MicWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews