We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable”
Review of The Hazelton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hazelton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Memorable”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This is one of my favorite all time hotels. The location for shopping and the chocolate cafe across the street - fabulous! The deluxe room was beautiful and spacious. The walk-in closet space was especially nice, enabling us to keep the suitcases out of the 'living space'. The bathroom was modern and lovely with a beautiful separate shower and soaking tub. I found it hard to leave the Hazelton.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kkosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    47
    21
    9
    8
See reviews for
83
237
64
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Beautiful Hotel... very chic room interior with lots of beautiful furnishes... service was a 5 star or what I expected from this level of a hotel. Amazing service, we did not have to lift one finger at all. The hotel is just gorgeous and looks like they thought about everything down to the smallest detail. Friendly helpful and welcoming staffs. Best stay in this hotel. Will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathanfarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed here for four nights after our skiing trip in Alberta. Upon Arrival the staff were great and took our bags up to the room. We were then taken up to the room and given a tour of the features which I found a little pretentious as all obvious.

The deluxe room was spacious and the bathroom was great. I found the room to be very similar to Aria in Las Vegas (same space and very similar decor) most modern hotels now are of this standard.

The "One" restaurant was closed for renovation and we were made aware of this two weeks before arrival. However, after the first night we had a piece of paper under our door informing us the pool was closed until the 11th Jan and was also being renovated. Poor. We chose this hotel over Le Germain for the extra benefit of the pool, so this was disappointing. I spoke to the reception about "alternative arrangements" which the letter quoted to see what they were? I don't think there was any other "alternative arrangements" as I had to suggest perhaps they had an arrangement with another hotel to use their pool? The reception called back and had arranged for us to use the Four Seasons pool which I think they should of had in place before someone asked.

The hotel WIFI was also poor and regularly dropped out and one morning was not working at all. I was told it simply was not working and its being looked into after an hour later we had to go across the road to Starbucks to log on.

Upon checkout we were greeted with the additions of $15 a day for "local calls" which we made none and internet charges. After pointing out we had made no local calls and the WIFI was poor they did take that off the bill. At no point was there any mention of the charge for WIFI and considering you do not have to put your room number in to connect Its an additional standard charge. Five star hotels should be building the norm such as WIFI into the price of all rooms as is a basic requirement.

Having stayed at other 5 star premium hotels this one just doesn't match up. Its more a four star and on that basis would in hindsight choose Le Germain hands down.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisJames204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I Would say I spend 40-50 days per year in hotels, not often do I have the pleasure of staying in hotels like The Hazelton. From the moment you arrive you are greeted by a team of friendly, professional, and well versed valets and it only gets smoother from there. Front desk staff had me checked in and minutes and escorted up to my room.

The room was very well designed with a spectacular bathroom and closet, exceptional bed and an extensive pillow menu that almost topped the room service. In addition to the bedroom the living room is the perfect home away from home, with a great couch, flat screen and deck and chair.

I also had the time for a little fitness in what felt like a private celebrity gym, top of the line equipment with fresh towels cold or room temperature water and a great steam to finish off my workout.

All and all this hotel is my new home away from home.

*One the restaurant in the hotel is 5*, can't miss on that menu.

Enjoy,

Adam

Room Tip: South facing rooms are my preference as you get french doors that open up to Yorkville Ave....Toront...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Was fortunate enough to experience staying a few nights at this fantastic hotel! Absolutely loved my entire experience, which started when I arrived with the amazing door staff, and courteous, extremely accomodating front desk staff....they started my experience here off right, and that exeperience continued throughout my stay. Beautiful rooms, great location...I really haven't had a better hotel experience in downtown Toronto than I had here. Would recommend this hotel to anyone! Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north america
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed at The Hazleton and also used their spa facilities. The rooms are elegantly appointed. True luxury. Comfortable beds, Sparkling clean rooms, Beautiful bathrooms.
At the spa I had a Hydration facial and a deep tissue massage, both of which were wonderful and relaxing. I found the staff to be helpful, friendly and professional.
Because it was during the TIFF festival the hotel and area was quite busy. But thanks to Olivia Tran we had no problem getting into One (Hazleton Restaurant-owned by chef Mark Mcewan). We felt like "real celebrities"!
We had the pleasure of rubbing shoulders with Bono from U2 and actor Colin Farrell which was surreal.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aeroplano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My husband I stayed at the Hazelton Hotel while we were in town visiting our friends. What was supposed to be a quick stay for us, it ended up being a stay to remember.
The food from the One resturant was amazing. We were able to enjoy both breakfast and dinner in the resturant. Towards the end of dinner, the bar was getting very loud but it was a good way for us to end the night with our friends.
The room was not a typical standard size room. My husband and I were able to both fit in the deep bath tub!
The service that we recieved from the hotel was second to none. From the moment we were greeted at the door to the moment we left, the service was immpecable.
We look foward to our return in a few months.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Midtown
Park Hyatt Toronto
Park Hyatt Toronto
#16 of 136 in Toronto
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hazelton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hazelton Hotel

Property: The Hazelton Hotel
Address: 118 Yorkville Ave, Toronto, Ontario M5R 1C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown , Yorkville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#1 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#6 Business Hotel in Toronto
#11 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#29 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hazelton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hazelton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazelton Hotel Toronto
The Hazelton Hotel Toronto, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing