We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for - doesn't deserve the rave reviews!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Downtown Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
Ranked #63 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for - doesn't deserve the rave reviews!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Stayed for a concert at Rogers Centre. This hotel is cheap, and for very good reason. It is inside a small shopping centre in the heart of Chinatown. It is safe and quiet, but during my stay one of the elevators was broken and getting back and forth between the underground parking (basement level three) and the hotel (third floor) was very inconvenient. The lobby and decor of the hotel have been updated and look great - however the same has not been done for the guest rooms. Furniture was not in great condition and the pull-out couch in our room was dirty and useless. Breakfast isn't special.

Parking is very inconvenient and hard to find. I had to drive around the hotel in order to get to it after I missed it the first time. It states that Hotel parking is on the third and lowest level - I figured because it specified the third level was for hotel patrons that we would get some kind of a deal. Be warned - you don't! So do yourself a favour - park on level one and save yourself some elevator/parking time.

The only thing I was impressed with was the free wi-fi - something you don't often get in the nicer Toronto hotels for free. Location was also very convenient - $7 cab ride from Rogers Centre.

Would I stay here again? Yes. But only in a pinch. Do yourself a favour and spend a little extra and stay somewhere closer to the Yonge/University-King area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank satin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    590
    362
    121
    61
See reviews for
389
404
122
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Receptionist staff are very friendly and helpful. My boyfriend and I had checked in last minute and were still able to find a room. Great internet connection and a nice breakfast in the morning however I would of preferred a cooked breakfast. Rooms are spacious and clean but the bathroom wasn't up to standards. Overall nice motel for the money and I would go back again.

Room Tip: Reception staff are very helpful and there are plenty of different rooms to choose from so I'm s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MONTREAL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Good price, perfect location and plus we got free parking...for no reason, which was a good surprise for us! Nothing bad coming to my mind to comment about this place. For the money we paid, we got a bit more we expected!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKY17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

My partner and I stayed in a king double which was nicely positioned with a view of the CN Tower. The room was comfortable with TV, Microwave, Fridge. One major amenity for us is having acces to wifi, this was an issue as the signal strength for connecting from our room was non existent. We had to request an Ethernet cable which resolved the issue for us but I did see other guests sitting in the lobby to connect from there. Not a life or death issue but if it is not available in room then it should not be advertised that it is. If you love Asian food this hotel is in the best location, we enjoyed some really well priced Vietnamese & Thai food only a stones throw from the front door of the hotel. Right next door there is an Asian shopping centre with a foodcourt at the base level with 4 dollars meal deals, that value can't be beat for a tasty lunch. There are some lively bars & venues located on College st. Which are just 15 min. Walk from the hotel and you can stroll through Kensington (lively bright area with lots of cafes & shops) to get to College st. A good breakfast is on offer including bagels, apples, oranges, cereals, condiments, muffins, juices and some good coffee. There is a bar onsite although it's small it's nice to have it there if you don't want to venture out but are in the mood for a beer.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nkdiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland.OH
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Stayed 3 nights. Room was clean, location is convenient and close to public transportation which makes it easy to get around Toronto. Continental breakfast and free internet included.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mile13Cleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

By no means is this a SPECTACULAR place to stay. But if you're in Toronto for a night out on the town, a wedding, or another function where you're not spending a lot of time in your room ... then the Super 8 will suffice.

They allowed me to have an early check-in, which was extremely helpful as I was in a wedding party that day.
I DID have to call a week before, the morning of, and the hour before I got there though to ensure they had a room ready for me.
(They kept telling me to call back).

It also comes with a decent continental breakfast which consisted of bagels, muffins, cereal. I just wish it had some fruit!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AEP283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

The hotel was clean and bright. It's location in chinatown is only six blocks from anywhere and the trams pick you up right on the corner! It was an excellent stay and we will use this hotel and location again!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragongirlmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#82 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Chinatown
Studio 6 Toronto
Studio 6 Toronto
#90 of 132 in Toronto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Downtown
Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#53 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Chinatown
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#101 of 132 in Toronto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Downtown Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Downtown Toronto

Property: Super 8 Downtown Toronto
Address: 222 Spadina Ave, Toronto, Ontario M5T 2C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Downtown Toronto 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 Downtown Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Toronto Hotel Toronto
Super Eight Toronto
Toronto Super 8
Toronto Super Eight
Super 8 Downtown Toronto Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing