We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average motel in walking distance to downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
Ranked #62 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Room was pretty clean and large. Be aware that some rooms face the inside of a shopping centre. This feels a bit strange. But at least you don't hear the street noise. Parking is on site in a parking garage and relatively cheap compared to other hotels in Toronto. Reception staff was friendly. Breakfast is ok, not many choices but ok and sufficient seating space. Overall average motel, ok for a budget stay in Toronto.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Roadtoholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,502)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Downtown Toronto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,161 - 1,167 of 1,502 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2012

staff were very helpful and the room was clean and well-equipped. we thought the hotel was brilliant value for the price we paid, especially given the location so close to everything in the city centre. a great long weekend:-)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bandluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I really like the location of this hotel but the cleanliness of the hotel is sometimes lacking. Last time I stayed here, my room could have used a good spring cleaning. Other times it's been much better. Other than that, the location is excellent, lots of restaurants, Queen Street shops and the AGO nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks onto Spadina, not onto the mall.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Super 8 has a great location and others have told me its nice, so i booked it. Maybe because i booked at a low rate, they decided to put me in a room overlooking the dumpsters, with carpet that is completely rippled and a tripping hazard in the middle of the room, a couch bowed in the middle and a bed also tipped heavily to the middle. The linens on the bed have actualy tear holes in them (does no one check these things and take them out of service?)

Overall...if you are booking here, make sure you have a room that is updated. Even an openable window would have helped the situation somewhat.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This time our stay at this hotel was not as pleasant. Our queen bed room faced the China Town centre mall and was small, with rather grungy looking walls (unwashed...black marks here and there) and a dreadful brownish paint all over reinforcing the "cupboard atmosphere" of the place. The front desk staff forgot to give us the remote control for the air conditionning, and we had to phone front desk to reset internet connection. At 3am, there were kids running through the corridors (newly arrived guests?)...in all, not a smooth stay. We think, however, that the location is excellent, the staff very friendly, and that this is nevertheless a good deal for Toronto downtown.

Room Tip: Make sure to check the rooms before settling in! Get the remote control...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voyageuse53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

as usual great staff good little place to stay I love that it is so close to everything but hidden from most people's minds great location for allI need for most trips to Toronto will be there again soon

Room Tip: hidden on 3rd floor of Chinatown ctr
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We booked the hotel at a decent price under the Sportsman Show rate. Hotel and parking are together and right in the thick of things in the heart of Chinatown. It was easy to get where we needed to without driving, the Spadina street car is right across the road and took us to Front St and then to Bloor station easily. The room was ok, we had a King room but they wouldn't upgrade us, and it was a sad sight when we walked by one of the updated versions being cleaned but couldn't have it. Also, our room/window was literally IN the Chinatown mall - it didn't look outside, but rather the very top floor of the mall. We had an escalator right underneath the window! That was pretty strange, and I wish I would have known that was the case because I would have requested otherwise (and while walking through the mall, it was pretty smelly in parts and just had a dead vibe, so it wasn't like looking into the Rogers Centre or anything). The room was spacious with nice furniture, no bed bugs! We checked several times. However the bathroom was kind of gross because when I shut the door a cloud of black hairs and dust came flowing towards me, and it looked like it had all been swept behind the door. The shower itself looked new and the pressure was good, however the curtain had a big yellow stain on it. Probably the worst part was all 4 of the towels had 1 or 2 black curly hairs in-bedded into them, and they didn't look like hairs from someone's head. I had to take a kleenex and pull them out and was really grossed out while using them. Either they weren't cleaned well or the washing/drying machines are old and inefficient. Also, the room isn't very sound proof. I woke up several times to peoples doors slamming out in the hallways, and I could hear our neighbour very clearly coughing in the morning. Overall though, it was OK, as we weren't looking for anything fancy.. The staff were all very nice and helpful, and the location made it good for us. Just don't rely on the bathrooms being very clean, or the room being very quiet and secluded, and make sure to request to NOT be looking into the mall as there are two floors above that all look outside.

Room Tip: Request to NOT be in one of the rooms that is in/looks into the Chinatown mall
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Chinatown
Studio 6 Toronto
Studio 6 Toronto
#99 of 137 in Toronto
185 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#56 of 137 in Toronto
2,694 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#80 of 137 in Toronto
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Chinatown
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#95 of 137 in Toronto
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Downtown Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Downtown Toronto

Address: 222 Spadina Ave, Toronto, Ontario M5T 2C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: $146 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Downtown Toronto 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Super 8 Downtown Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Toronto Hotel Toronto
Super Eight Toronto
Toronto Super Eight
Toronto Super 8
Super 8 Downtown Toronto Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing