We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience James Alan: Magic & Martini
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
39
11
0
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
39
11
0
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 55 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2014

Went with the wife and enjoyed the entrainment. The food was delicious!!!! it was soooonice to have a show going on while I was eating and for once it wasn't at my table :/ will go back again drinks were a great value as well. The magic was was the best part!!! I don't know who was more glued me or
My wife :) :)

Date of experience: September 2014
2  Thank Crusinthevista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2014

The show takes place in a tight little cabaret-style club, upstairs from College Street. Because each show is different, there is continuous rotation of performers. On our night we had the main guy, James Alan, who blew us away. The other guy, I forget his name was older and a more traditional magician. The closing performer was amazing and we're still talking about it.

Food's okay. About what I expected for the cheap price. Drink up and have a fun night out. (Ask to see a private trick after the show. Some of the acts will oblige. Very cool.)

Date of experience: September 2014
3  Thank ExtremelyMental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I've always loved watching magic shows but they've been traditionally scarce in Toronto. I came across Abracadabaret Magic and thought we'd give it a try. The Host, James Alan, was very funny and quite a good magician! He said there are usually 2-3 performers each Sunday night but many were away on vacation at this time. James performed a 70 minute magic/comedy show and really held his own. The food was surprisingly good. Dinner/Show price is 30.00. The show alone is 20.00, so adding the dinner is great value! We had a lovely fresh salad, choice of bruschetta or shrimp cocktail, and an entree choice of Chicken roulade, Trout, Veg. Penne, or curried seafood. They were all delicious! James engaged the audience well and left us with dropped jaws at a couple of his tricks. The venue is up a flight of stairs in a small but intimate setting. If you're looking for something different and entertaining to do on a Sunday night, I'd certainly recommend this show.

Date of experience: July 2014
3  Thank Dee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This place is in downtown Toronto just off Spadina, more of a hole in the wall type place from the outside, can seat about 40 people, all with a good view of the small stage. The place is not fancy, but the food was surprisingly good and the drinks were a reasonable price (bottle of wine for $25).
The magic show consisted of 2 magicians that were actually very entertaining and quite good. Some tables had kids with them and the show was quite suitable for them as well. Couple of the kids were asked on stage to "help" the magicians.

Show and dinner price was about $30 each, and considering the 3 course meal provided (salad, shrimp cocktail and choice of chicken, seafood, fish or pasta) it was well worth the price. We had a coupon package so ours was a few bucks cheaper

Didn't look like they took credit cards, only cash but there was an ATM machine there to get cash.

Note that you have to walk up 1 flight of stairs to get in.

Ample parking in a lot across the street.

Performances on Tuesday and Sunday nights only

Date of experience: June 2014
6  Thank 518AndyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 11, 2018
Google Translation

Date of experience: November 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews