We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice server but overall fail”
Review of Montecito

Montecito
Reserve with OpenTable
Montecito is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #236 of 9,771 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: US$26 - US$41
Cuisines: Italian, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown West
Description: Montecito brings to life and deliver a shared love of culture, comfort, innovation and simple culinary excellence. Located in Toronto's Entertainment District, the restaurant is 12,000 square-foot and will seat 399 people in it's two-storey dining room, lounge, and outdoor patio. Just steps away from the TIFF Lightbox, this turn-key event space features a lounge and dining room complete with a private entrance...perfect for celebrity and high-profile events. Montecito's menu changes daily highlighting the simplicity of California cuisine with ingredients that pay homage to the best of Canada coast-to-coast. Visit us at 299 Adelaide St. W!
Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

I’m not sure why chefs feel the need to re-invent traditional favourites like Eggs Benedict or Pancakes yet miss the mark to improve on the standard.

The Eggs Benedict serving was sparse with no potato serving to accompany the EB a first time for that for me. The eggs were over cooked which may have been the result of sitting too long and arrived warm not hot. By the time I moved to the second egg it was just room temperature.

The pancakes while ample were served with condiments heaped on top and not on the side as one might expect to control how much condiment you might want with your pancakes.

I sample a friends fried chicken which was long on the breading but at least the chicken was moist.

The by the glass wine prices seemed higher than average and the selection was just average.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Erni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 280 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

We had a la carte brunch at Montecito restaurant. Moderate number of choices but nice variety and originality are on the menu. Baked eggs, frittata and pancakes were ordered. All were very good (no ketchup available???) and service was very good too. We’ll be back soon to try dinner and highly recommend this upscale but comfortable restaurant.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank JALToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2018

The good: good location, great decor, nice layout, good food
The not so good: some menu items seem a bit expensive for the portion size
The really good: meat cooked correctly to order, kale salad

There are only a couple of food items I'm not crazy about. Kale is one. Until I tasted the kale salad here I had all but given up on kale.The portion is plenty big enough to share with 1 or maybe two others.
I had the roasted beet starter. There wasn't much special about it. The beet starter at The Senator was my comparison. It is very good.
For my main I had the BBQ Duck pizza. It was quite good and it had nice thin crust.
Also ordered at our table was the Fogo Island cod. It was very good.
The other main ordered was the striploin. It looked very good and apparently tasted the same.
We didn't have time to try any desserts.
Overall it was a good experience but except for the kale salad and the pizza it seemed a little pricey.
The service was good.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2018

We had dinner at Montecito for a friends birthday and the food and drinks were creative and delicious! They even gave my friend a birthday dessert!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kyla V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

We returned to Montecito during our trip to the Toronto International Film Festival after a great evening there last year during TIFF.

We started with the charcuterie board. Great mix of flavours and condiments. The mustard is particularly yummy and we end up applying it to just about everything.

The Fogo Island cod is a favourite and did not disappoint. The trout was a new dish and was perfectly cooked with great but not overpowering flavour. The house Chardonnay continues to be one of the best white wine pours by the glass - a great pair with the fish dishes.

We finished with a flight of homemade ice creams. All very unique flavours with toasted marshmallow winning our vote.

The openness of the dining area, great service and atmosphere and consistently good food keep Montecito on our go to list!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank jmacphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie B, Manager at Montecito, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Montecito. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our Fogo Island Cod and new homemade ice creams. We look forward to seeing you back again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Montecito also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Montecito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing