We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for local breakfast.”
Review of Le Petit Dejeuner

Le Petit Dejeuner
Ranked #5 of 187 Dessert in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: King Jarvis
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great spot for local breakfast.”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Went for breakfast on a Sunday morning when we were out and about in Toronto. Loved the apple pancakes and the french toast! Orange juice was two thumbs up, too.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    76
    34
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Interesting spot with straightforward food”
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

I went for dinner mid-week with a couple of friends, so there was no issues with long lines and harried wait staff. Overall, it was a fine place. Nothing to rave about, but a nice change from the plethora of italian restaurants around.

The menu isn't extensive, but has a mix of salads, sandwiches, pasta, meat, fish, and mussels. Pretty much everything is served with fries ... as you'd expect from a Belgian/French restaurant.

One person in the party had pasta with meat sauce, which was very good. The rest of us had the mussels. The reviews on these were mixed. The sauce was excellent. Most of the mussels were good, however, there were a few in each bowl that were undercooked or didn't fully open during cooking. I my opinion, they should have left the mussels to cook for a few more minutes. Squishy mussels is not a good thing.

The green salad was very good. A nice mix of greens with apple slices and served in a papadom bowl. Very light dressing, which let you taste the salad.

For dessert, we opted for a Belgian waffle with fruit. They were fantastic. The batter is unsweetened so you can taste the flavour of the waffle with the fruit rather than canadian-style Belgian waffles that are typically way too sweet. The waffle dessert is easily large enough for two people to share.

The service was great. The place is long and narrow so the atmosphere is cozy and intimate. Most of the tables are for two or four people. If you have a group larger than 6, you should definitely call ahead to make sure there's room.

Helpful?
Thank TheTraveller314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not sure what the fuss is about”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We were in Toronto for the weekend (March 17) and friends recommended this for breakfast. We stood in line for 45 minutes for a mediocre meal. The coffee was undrinkable, which was very annoying after such a long wait. The omelettes were okay. The best, and pretty much only good part of the experience was talking with the interesting people we met while waiting in line. We ended up sharing a table with a young couple because they needed a foursome and were going to bypass us and them for the next group of four. We had a great conversation with them during the meal, and that saved the whole thing.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very good brunch food”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My bf and I went for brunch b4 we did our groceries shopping at the St Lawrence Market this past Saturday. There was a lineup but we got seated quickly. It is a nice little local spot with funky green cushy chairs.

The Eggs Benny was the best I have had in a long long time, and their homemade sausage terrine was also very nice. Bf thought the french toast was fluffy and excellently made. Would definitely return - can't wait to try their famous waffles.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kalani_in_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The food is good, space is a bit tight, and the wait can be long”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Really good brunch, but no matter when I've been there, it's been a wait. Once you're in, the quarters are a little confined.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank normalguyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Petit Dejeuner also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Le Petit Dejeuner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing