We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food in a great neighborhood restaurant”

The Monkey Bar & Grill
Ranked #297 of 8,963 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: US$23 - US$39
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, International, Canadian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Toronto
Description: After almost twenty-five years, The Monkey Bar continues to be praised by patrons and critics alike. Proprietor and classically-trained chef Richard Fox-Revett, formerly of Centro, Splendido and The Four Seasons Yorkville, offers a menu that is a flavourful fusion of Canadian, Italian, French and Asian influences, and includes seafood, meat, and vegetarian dishes. The atmosphere is inviting and the service is impeccable. Enjoy a pre-dinner drink from our specialty cocktail menu, or a selection from our broad list of premium vodka and single malt scotch. An extensive wine list, featuring new and old world wines by the glass, half litre and bottle, complements your dining experience. In addition, all our desserts are made in-house. We even provide a children’s menu for the little ones. Our full menu is also available for takeout. The Monkey Bar offers upscale cuisine at affordable prices, all just steps from your front door. Rediscover North Toronto’s favourite neighbourhood restaurant.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Have had some of my best meals in ages at the Monkee Bar and Grill.the service is very good and the place is popular.
A veal chop I had was fabulous as was the rest of the meal.
The menu is not large as the restaurant is quite small.
Anything you order will be good as the chef is great.Caesar salad is a favorite as is the steak frites.
A comfortable place to go but reservations on the weekends definitely.
Prices are very good considering the fine quality of the food.

Date of visit: January 2012
1  Thank jsimonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Melissa F, Owner at The Monkey Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for your compliments. We are grateful that you are not keeping The Monkey Bar a secret! We look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 120 of 122 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2012

I've been to this restaurant four times now and each time the food and service have been excellent yet I hesitate to go because it's so loud. But a lot of restaurants are loud so if you can get past that this is a fabulous spot. The food is interesting without trying too hard or being too weird. Prices are fair and the portions are quite generous. It's not a big place so you probably have to reserve a spot around a week in advance. Now that it's fresh in my mind, I'll be going more often.

Date of visit: January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Melissa F, Owner at The Monkey Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for your kind words! It can get a bit noisy on a Friday or Saturday, but we'd love to see you mid-week when we can usually find you a quiet table. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Tripadvisor reviewer on Facebook
Reviewed January 3, 2008

This is my favourite

1  Thank A Tripadvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
A Tripadvisor reviewer on Facebook
Reviewed December 30, 2007

Great calamari

1  Thank A Tripadvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: July 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Melissa F, Owner at The Monkey Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Monkey Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Monkey Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.