We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Brunch”

Prohibition Gastropub & Oyster Bar
Ranked #526 of 9,819 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: US$20 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: East End
Reviewed August 20, 2018

Met a friend here for Sunday morning brunch and wasn't disappointed. Prohibition came recommended by another friend and thought we'd try it. Made a Yelp reservation a couple of days in advance. When I arrived I was given a table overlooking Queen street and since it was such a beautiful day this was, I think, the best table we could have had. Tried the brunch blood orange mimosa which wasn't great but the brunch caesars were - complete with a bacon strip garnish. I tried the duck benny which was very good. Portions were a good size as well. Overall the service was very good too. Definitely worth a try if you live in the area.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CityGirl079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 166 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

Went to Prohibition for the first time last night. It seemed like a decent bar, very lively, I had a good first impression.

We were seated, ordered drinks and looked over the menu. They have these little buttons on the table to press for when you want service. We pressed it... nothing. Pressed it again a few minutes later... again nothing. The blue light was definitely coming on, it was working. Third time pressing and still no service.

We didn’t want to play this game any more so we ended up leaving and going to a different bar down the road with traditional table service and had a much better time.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank danschaumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018

One can't always tell a book from its cover, and the same holds true for Prohibition Gastropub. From the outside appears to be rather ordinary, but step through the door and one is instantly transported to an upscale pub in Manhattan. Lively, enjoyable atmosphere in a comfortable setting.

Drinks were moderately priced and quite good - and the food was absolutely delicious. We'll go back again the next time we're in Toronto!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Eduard_Pineiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

Came for some drinks....$5.09 for the late hooch hour.

Delirium and Fin du Monde

Tried the smash burger $16.97 with coconut curry soup...delicious.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank F7044MKmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2018 via mobile

My friend and I have ended our night at Prohibition twice and both times were quite a different experience... yet both equally entertaining. We visited first a month ago, both times on a Friday, and were greeted by a young crowd of dancers. The music was a top 40 vibe and the dance floor was packed. Last night when we went the crowd was much older, as was the music. We weren’t alerted of any special evening taking place so we assumed that the DJ was playing music to suit the crowd(?). There are a couple things that were consistent both visits - superb temperature control and corners filled with coats and bags (and this time shoes too). Don’t bother with coat check if you want to fit in in the place... just throw your jacket in a corner on the floor. We watched one lady even go as far as taking off her shoes and putting them in the corner. Also, you never have to worry about what to wear to Prohibition because anything goes. We saw people dressed like they just came from working on a construction site to girls dressed in their plunging neck dresses. We are always entertained when ending our night here and being able to let lose and drop it low (which is totally accepted and encouraged.)

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank IYamwhatiyam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prohibition Gastropub & Oyster Bar also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Prohibition Gastropub & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing