We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth visiting.”

Claddagh Oyster House
Ranked #1 of 254 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$39
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Queen Street
Description: THE ISLANDS ONLY YEAR-ROUND OYSTER BAR WITH FRESH LOBSTER TANK.Featuring more than just the best available oysters from PEI, the Claddagh Oyster House is a warm, contemporary dining room located within an historic building in downtown Charlottetown.A Constantly changing menu that features the freshest seafood, premium Island beef, chicken, pasta and more - combined with our extensive wine selections are sure to please.THE CLADDAGH OYSTER HOUSE - MORE THAN JUST GREAT OYSTERS!!
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting.”
Reviewed 16 February 2017

We went for winterdine week 3 and it was excellent.As usual,food was terrific and always great service.We will be back again.Thanks

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    167
    34
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent restraurant”
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Great food and excellent service. Very friendly atmosphere. Great entertainment which leads to a good time.

  • Visited December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rayandgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great atmosphere!”
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Went all out for dinner here recently and it absolutely exceeded our expectations. The food was top notch and has a great selection of all protein options on their menu to meet any preference. The lobster risotto and halibut with the mussel cream sauce was absolutely delicious. I went specifically for the colcannon potato dish as it was highly recommended by friends so was a bit disappointed it isn't there anymore in the same form! The only other suggestion I would have is to serve the lobster/crab cakes with warm chutney instead of the chutney served cold. Very small suggestion in relation to how amazing the whole meal was. Also, sticky date pudding was just so delicious!

Atmosphere was amazing... the brick walls give a historic/rustic feel, waterfall backdrop against the back wall, the bar area is very nicely laid out. Intimate yet good for a larger group. Service was also fantastic, server was attentive yet gave us time/space to enjoy our meals - great balance.

Will be back very soon - I think this is going to be our new 'go to' restaurant! Thank you!

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peislander24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Winterdine Dinner”
Reviewed 30 January 2017

We enjoyed a fabulous evening at the Claddagh Room with three other couples and we had long table at the back of the restaurant next to a "waterfall" fountain against the wall.
The square bar in the centre of the room also gave it lots of atmosphere. We all chose the "Winterdine" menu which included a carrot-cheese soup followed by a delicious steak which was cooked to perfection. The grilled beef was served with creamy mashed potatoes, oven roasted carrots, parsnips, beets, and brussel sprouts. Sticky date pudding in a rum sauce was the satisfying dessert. The restaurant was a little noisy because everyone was so excited to be inside on a cold evening with good friends, good wine, and sumptuous food. I recommend it!

  • Visited January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed 26 January 2017

There was a waiting line when we got there, but because they took our phone number to call us when it was our turn, we were able to have a pint next door while waiting - well managed! The waiting was worth it ; we all enjoyed our meal, sitting next to the window in this beautifully decorated old building. We loved it, would go back and would recommend it!

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Claddagh Oyster House also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Rustico, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Claddagh Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing