We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the sweetheart tournament for female hockey. The hotel was great for having all the hockey players! Our only issue is that the pool heater broke on our stay so the pool was ice cold. The kids still went in but many of us parents couldn't bear the temperature! Lots of selections for breakfast and one can still eat healthy with the choices avaliable!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samhamscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in October 2011. Facilities are good as this is a new hotel. Only exception was in-room internet. SLOW, SLOW. SLOW. Gave my concerns to the front desk, response was "well its the week-end and our provider has no staff available" (i.e. - tough luck). If you want to go anywhere you must drive as the location is near NOTHING within walking distance. 15 minute to downtown and then find someplace to park. All the good restaurants and attractions are away from this location.

Next time we will pay an extra $10-$15 a night and stay someplace more convenient.

Room Tip: All rooms on the back side of the hotel are very quiet and relatively private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Car933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I booked a family 'suite' for my family, two adults and two teenagers. To call it a 'suite' however was a misnomer. The 'suite' is really just a standard room with a dividing wall to create a room with bunk beds near the window. With a king size bed in the other part there was little room for anything else and was too small for four people. While such squashy accommodation may be acceptable in an expensive city it was unaccceptable in a small town and the hotel is greedy to design it that way (it was not cheap either). The hotel was however very clean, pet friendly and the kids liked the X-box and the pool. The breakfast was OK - your usual chain hotel breakfast.

Room Tip: If you are a family book two rooms and don't bother with the family suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Secretsquirrel888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Have stayed here several times now and have always had an enjoyable stay. Great beds, friendly front desk staff and yummy breakfast.
This is my definite choice for a place to stay on the island.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank totraveller12342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We found the location of this hotel excellent. It is the central portion of PEI and was very easy to get to the historic part of Charlottetown as well as to access other highways to tour PEI, either east or west. We ended up staying 3 nights.

The hotel was immaculate, the front desk was very accommodating, our room was excellent, modern, and super clean. The beds were super, very good for sleeping, obviously quite new. Breakfast was included with our stay, and it was of good selection, having lots of hot items as well as continental fare.

The business center was fast and there was a laundry not far from where our room was.

We found the value excellent and would certainly stay in this hotel again if we returned to Charlottetown.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flameforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

This hotel is close to many places to eat and very easy access to highways.

The staff did a great job and provided us with many restaurant choices.

We had a great two night stay while we toured east and west PEI.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allgoodonesgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

When we checked in here in mid-September, we were disappointed in this area of Charlottetown because it could have been the outskirts of any small city in North America( chain and fast food restaurants, Home Depot, etc) and not the charming are the local tourism authority touts.

Our room was fine, although it looked like it had been stayed in many, many times and the complimentary breakfasts were actually good and varied,especially considering the large groups of people staying here. The hotel is convenient for exploring Charlottetown and the entire central part of PEI, including the Acadian Region, Green Gables area, and the National Park spread along the north shore of the island

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realistic62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#15 of 23 in Charlottetown
273 reviews
3.8 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#10 of 23 in Charlottetown
287 reviews
4.6 km away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#12 of 23 in Charlottetown
568 reviews
4.1 km away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
456 reviews
4.2 km away
Charlottetown Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown

Address: 200 Capital Drive, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Price Range: $131 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottetown. The sophisticated Holiday Inn Express Charlottetown Hotel borders the city's harbor and is just a short distance from the University of Prince Edward Island and many great attractions. This Charlottetown hotel, located in the capital city of Prince Edwards Island, is just a short distance from many fine area attractions, including the Confederation Centre of the Arts, Fox Meadow Golf and Country Club and numerous cycling paths. You can go on an adventure through the Head of Hillsborough, the Tea Hill and the South Shore loop on your bicycle while staying here in Charlottetown. Other hotels in the area can't compete with our great value and location. Our Charlottetown hotel offers the best solutions for your area business needs. You can stay productive at our well-equipped business centre that features copy, fax and print services, and if you want a meeting to go off without a hitch, host it in one of our three spacious meeting rooms considered the best among Charlottetown, PEI hotels. Stay at Holiday Inn Express and you can experience a blend of convenient amenities, great value and service. You can go for a swim in the heated, indoor pool and relax on our deck. Keep your workout routine in sync at our fitness center that features free weights, treadmills and stair climbers. Don't wait any longer, reserve your room at our Charlottetown hotel today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Charlottetown
Holiday Inn Express Charlottetown
Holiday Inn Charlottetown
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing