We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convention center” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Charlottetown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN Charlottetown
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Convention center”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Hi, I shared this room with my brother in law and our 2 boys for a hockey tournament. The room is a nice size and the tv was good. The room was vacumed and clean except for black stuff on the ceiling. The ceiling also required repairs to the gyproc.

The elevator was out of order all weekend. The security door was broken but it's not like you don't feel safe in PEI.

Breakfast was typical toast cereal coffee juice items.

Overall if you're happy with the price it's an ok place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charboneau, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Good Morning,
I thank the guest for taking the time to comment on his/her stay at our hotel.
Please allow me to apologize for the non functioning elevator. Although the building is only two stories high, I fully recognize that this was still an inconvenience to you. We are awaiting specific parts to be shipped to the island for the repair of the elevator. I am pleased to read that this inconvenience did not prevent you from enjoying your stay at our property and I plan to share your observations with the hotel team.
I hope that we can welcome you back to our hotel on your futire visit to our city.
Sincerely,
Walter van Beek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    147
    143
    96
    86
See reviews for
165
192
37
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Hotel is in a good location for walking around visiting the sites of Charlottetown. Good facilities for washing and dry cleaning. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gazza53255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charboneau, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
My name is Walter van Beek, the General Manager of the hotel.
I would like to thank this guest for taking the time to comment on his/her stay with us and I will ensure that your positive experience at the Best Western Charlottetown is shared with the team.
We look forward to hosting you on future visits to our beautiful island.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Although this hotel has some great features I was left disappointed.
1. We booked as a group - the group rate wasn't much of a discount from market price.
2. Did not feel welcome as a group. We had to sign an additional agreement as a way to discourage misbehaviour of our kids.
3. Some of our group were placed separate from most in an area of the hotel with a group of rude people. Our complaints went unanswered.
4. Keys are a problem. We, too were given advice on keeping from cell phones, etc which I did. Key problems persisted. I became fed up with being blamed for their obvious problem.
5. Pool very over-chlorinated. Seven of our kids ended up with chlorine burns.
6. Interesting layout with parts of the hotel on opposite sides of the street. Could be marked a bit better as it is unique.
7. Clean.
8. Nice decor
9. Microwave & fridge cost extra.
10. Billing inquiries unanswered
11. Fitness centre good
12. Breakfast fine
13. Kids liked the arcade
I liked the hotel itself but didn't get a sense we were an inconvenience to some staff. They were pleasant enough but didn't seem equipped to respond to issues.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pplscarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charboneau, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
My name is Walter van Beek, General Manager of the hotel.
I appreciate receiving the feedback that this guest provided to us. We can always improve our overall product and service although I am happy to read that many aspects of your stay were enjoyable.
My team and I will carefully review your comments and address those areas that can be further improved.
It is correct that we discuss our quiet policy of the hotel with group visits and this is confirmed in writing. It is always a delicate procedure and I hope that we explained our reasons for this with you on check in. We truly go out of our way to protect the peace and quiet of the night time hours of all our guests and we have learned from past experience that the best way to convey this to all arriving guests on these busy days is that we have certain hotel rules that we ask all to respect.
I hope we did not offend you in any way during this process.
We look forward to your future visits to Charlottetown.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Souris, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

I live on PEI but this winter my boyfriend and I decided to stay in Charlottetown for the evening. I was very pleased by the Best Western. The pool is very nice however they are doing some new renos so there is no longer a hot tub and no sauna. The room was very clean and the workers were all very friendly. It is in a very good location for downtown Charlottetown. Only a few minutes away from the mall and the Confederation Center. One of my faves on the Island for sure !

Room Tip: The kingsize beds are very comfy ! Spend the extra money for a kingsize then two doubles if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peigirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charboneau, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
It was a pleasure to read this guest comment.
We welcome island guests, especially at this festive time of the year, with great enthusiasm.
I am pleased to hear that our hotel team looked after your needs and that you enjoyed our recent upgrades to the hotel, including new beds and bedding throughout the property.
Thank you for taking the time to share your observations with us and fellow travelers.
I hope that we can welcome you back to our property in the not too distant future.
Walter van Beek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

I have been travelling to PEI for 14yrs on a monthly visit to work and have stayed at many Hotels, Best Western Charlottetown is a clean, spacious, great suites, free continental breakfast, indoor pool, gym...etc...perfectly located to downtown, waliking distance to many pubs, restaurants, shopping, waterfront, the staff are excellent to deal with, take great pride in there positions and are alwyas friendly, I would highly recommend this property....

Room Tip: Suites are excellent....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rdivey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charboneau, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
I truly appreciate receiving this great review from the guest.
My team has worked extremely hard in refurbishing this property to bring it up to Three Diamond status.
The guest rooms have been completely renovated with new beds, carpeting, wall vinyl, granite countertop bathrooms, flat screen television etc.
We have opened a new breakfast room and all fitness equipment has been updated.
I look forward to sharing your observations with all hotel associates.
Thank you and we look forward to hosting you at our property in the near future.
Walter van Beek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

On November 10th, 2011 I had the opportunity to stay at the Best Western in Charlottetown, PEI. In my role as General Manager for my business , I had planned to meet with our entire service team in PEI while I was there. The Best Western hotel management was kind enough to provide me with a room large enough to accommdate both my overnight stay as well as my meeting requirements. This is a beautiful hotel and I found all the staff to be very courteous and professional. I plan to stay there again whether it be a business or a personal/family trip to PEI.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charboneau, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
I thank this guest for sharing his/her comments with us. It is truly rewarding to see that you enjoyed your stay at our property. I will ensure that your feedback is shared with the team at the hotel.
We have just concluded a substantial upgrading of the hotel and we are receiving very positive comments on the new product.
I hope that you will have an opportunity to visit with us again on your next journey to our beautiful island.
Walter van Beek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieppe, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Stayed two weeks ago beautiful large spacious room with new controls for heating and cooling. I enjoying staying at this property in my business and personnal travels.

Room Tip: Beautiful Suite Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacques L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charboneau, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Good Morning,
I would like to thank the guest for taking the time to comment on his/her stay.
We have very recently completed a full refurbishment of the hotel including a complete new interior package in the guest rooms. It is most rewarding to see that our friendly service combined with the new guest room experience made their stay an enjoyable one.
Thank you,
Walter van Beek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
3.8 km away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#11 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.4 km away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.9 km away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
0.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#12 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.7 km away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Charlottetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Charlottetown

Property: BEST WESTERN Charlottetown
Address: 238 Grafton St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1L5, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Charlottetown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, with its great downtown location, is a wonderful choice for your travelling requirements. Close to Charlottetown's many restaurants, Confederation Centre of the Arts, Founders Hall, water front attractions, Province House, Confederation Court Mall, Holland College Campus, Government offices, Charlottetown's Festival grounds, hiking and bicycling trails, all that can be reached with a leisurely walk from this City center hotel. As well you will enjoy a pleasant stay in our clean, comfortable facility with many amenities such as indoor heated pool, fitness center, conference center, business center, in house laundry, dry cleaning services and rooms that range from standard hotel rooms to apartment style rooms with full kitchens. If "FREE" is something that you wish to experience, then included in the rates are "FREE" parking, "FREE" WI-FI and a "FREE" hot breakfast that is second to none. The BEST WESTERN Charlottetown's clean and comfortable hotel with our wonderful staff that is friendly, courteous, knowledgeable and professional. Bring your Family to stay with our Family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Charlottetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charlottetown Hotel Charlottetown
BEST WESTERN Charlottetown Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing