We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rebeca Flores
Fredericton, Canada

Terrible customer service

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 31, 2021via mobile
I’m thé type of person that prefers don’t write anything before write a bad review for a business because I do understanding how hard can be for business to build and keep a good reputation but I’m writing to prevent others clients about this.
Yesterday after 4 hours driving, we arrived to this hotel after 9:00 pm and the guy in the reception (Mike) told sus that Booking.com cancelled our reservation (3 nights) and that unfortunately they just have one room for one night, that btw was $50.00 more expensive that the price we booked.

The guy mentioned that doesn’t worth call Booking.com because recently they do not answer the phone during the weekends and that all those companies like Booking.com recently were offering bad service: cancelling reservations, not answering the phones, over selling rooms etc ( I want to clarify that my experience with Booking.com was great)

So instead take the only room that Mike offered me, I decided call other places around.
In the app the Booking.com almost everything look sold out because is a long weekend.
I call directly the comfort inn hotel and they did have one room available, so I decided to go in person to the Comfort Inn, that I think is the same business franchise (choice privilege consortium) we made our reservation, just preventing that I loose the few options of disposability around.
Once I was in my room, we decided to call Booking.com to find out what was the problem and the lady from Booking.com was very friendly and said that will call to the quality inn hotel because Booking.com never cancelled my reservation, she called me back to said that my reservation still available that maybe was a miss understanding but confirmed that we were in the right hotel that we booked because there are two quality inn hotels in Charlottetown,
Anyways at that time we were already installed in the comfort inn and we’re tired we decided to don’t go back to the quality inn.
By the way, at the reception at comfort inn that we are now said that during these days we won’t have housekeeping so we need to make our bed and keep clean the room but the charges us as if they offering the cleaning service, something it’s not right with these hotel franchises.
So if you experienced something like this please call Booking.com , Expedia or whatever other website that you use to book your rooms, they will clarifying and solve the issue.
I guess being a long weekend, the quality inn planned to sell our room in a higher price and that’s why they were trying to not provided me my original reservation. I found that Mime was very pushy trying to sell me one night only in a higher price with only one bed.
My apologies that my English is not perfect, English is my second language.
Date of stay: July 2021
Room Tip: Contact your agency right away if you book your room with a third party as Booking.com...
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tanya Bevan Ryan, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review
Responded Aug 2, 2021
Good morning,
I am very sorry for the misunderstanding. We did not have a reservation under your name. When you book online by a travel agent or booking site it is the policy to call them when you have an issue. As they are getting paid a commission by your booking. Your reservation was booked under a completely different name never given to us. There are 4 hotels on Prince Edward Island under Choice Hotels Canada. With bookings made online by guests reservations are made at different properties in error daily.
I am glad our front desk agent was able to find you another room as most hotels were sold out with it being a long weekend. Once again I am sorry for the inconvenience.
Tanya
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$459
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$459
0.6 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$345
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$311
  • Hotels.com
    C$283
  • Vio.com
0.7 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$309
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$309
  • Booking.com
0.5 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$341
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Tripadvisor
    C$341
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$341
0.8 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$539
  • Expedia.com
    C$599
0.6 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    C$180
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$179
  • Vio.com
0.0 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$165
  • Vio.com
0.2 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotel entrance
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    C$344
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$274
  • Booking.com
0.4 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Save with Hilton Honours Rewards
  • Expedia.com
    C$339
  • Algotels
    C$331
  • Booking.com
    C$339
3.9 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    C$174
  • Expedia.com
    C$200
3.5 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Charlottetown
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveller rating
183
120
40
9
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
183
120
40
9
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sutherland house main building full size fridge large suite front desk staff a great stay within walking distance king bed free breakfast would stay here again location is great beds were comfortable cookies yogurt downtown microwave pei
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 374 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2021

My fiancé and I recently had to make an emergency trip to Prince Edward Island to take our dog to the Atlantic Veterinary College. Upon arrival we booked a room at the Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, where we ended up quarantining for four nights and five days while we waited for our dog to receive treatment at AVC.

Our experience with the hotel was wonderful from the moment we arrived. We explained our situation to the hotel staff and they immediately offered to put us in one of the larger suite rooms so that we would be more comfortable. The room was lovely and spacious, with a full kitchenette, large bathroom and open bedroom area with ample seating, desk space and a television.

Each day we had a choice of four different hot breakfast options, including a 2 egg breakfast with choice of protein, home or pan fries, toast, waffles and fruit, poached eggs and yogurt. The meals were delicious and MORE than enough food for my partner and I. Breakfast was also available until 2:00pm which was lovely.

The staff were so friendly, professional and accommodating, offering to deliver grocery items and such dropped off at the front desk by our family on the island, and any other towels/toiletries that we requested.

Overall, the Quality Inn made our stressful, last-minute trip a very comfortable and enjoyable experience. We will most certainly be back!

Room tip: Talk to the front desk staff to find out which style/location room would work best for your needs!
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G4996FHmaggieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tanya Bevan Ryan, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to post a review during this difficult time. Wishing a speedy recovery for your dog. Hoping next time you visit you can enjoy your stay without all the worries.
Tanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2021 via mobile

We have stayed at the Inn many times over the years and the service provided has always been excellent. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious and clean and the location can’t be beat. We stayed there again this past weekend and as always, had wonderful service from every employee we met. The complimentary hot breakfast was just the icing on the cake. Wonderful staff and excellent food. We always look forward to staying at the Inn.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank cherylmS2553DI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tanya Bevan Ryan, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2021

We appreciate your continued support! Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. Glad you enjoyed breakfast at our onsite restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Tanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2021 via mobile

Fantastic, updated, clean hotel. Great location. Excellent services. Great breakfast. Excellent staff at all contact points. AGM Francie a pleasure to talk to and very tuned in to customer service. Front desk made check in simple.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tanya Bevan Ryan, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2021

Thank you Mike for the kind words. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in our area.
Tanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2021

We recently booked with the Inn on the Hill for their Girls Night Wine package.
From start to finish the experience was excellent. Since my last stay this property the hotel has undergone updates including modernizing the lobby and restaurant to a classy- elegant feel! Upon check in the agent was friendly and helpful as our room was ready and she allowed us to arrive early:) We were four to a room with lots of space and found the beds were very comfortable.
We ordered apps/supper from the restaurant which was delicious and then ate from the restaurant again before checking out in the morning. Our watiress was friendly and attentive and breakfast was tasty and filling ( great sized potions and the added bonus was it was included with our package!)
All 8 of us enjoyed our stay so much so we are already planning another Girls Night at the Inn!

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EM006
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tanya Bevan Ryan, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay! We are so happy you enjoyed your Girls Getaway! We look forward to seeing you soon!
Tanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2020

First visit to PEI in 25+ years and I stayed here for two nights. Very impressed with the hotel. First remember to book either hotel direct or thru Choice Hotels because if you are a CP member, as a thank you they give you a gift of cookies to say thank you for being a choice privilege member.

My room was in immaculate condition and just was I needed to have a weekends getaway. However if you have mobility issues the suites are not in the main building but in the two adjacent converted homes, so no elevator.

Breakfast is included and was a great options due to covid. They gave you coupons and you just hand them to the server and place your order.

Will definitely stay again next time I go to the island.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank CoffeeFanHfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tanya Bevan Ryan, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2020

Thank you for taking the time share your experience! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay & breakfast. I will share your wonderful review with my team. They are working extra hard during this difficult tines to ensure guests feel safe at the Inn.
Tanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews