We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Joy N

A very good experience

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 9, 2023
We stayed in Sutherland house:
The rooms were very clean and large. The bathroom was large and water pressure was strong for the shower. The comfortable beds & pillows made for a relaxing sleep. The building was quiet and we didn't hear any of the other occupants. The breakfast was very good, too.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenn MacIntyre, Guest Services / Front Office at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review
Responded Jul 10, 2023
Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in the Sutherland house!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$379
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$377
  • Vio.com
    C$338
  • Hotels.com
    C$379
0.6 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$359
  • Hotels.com
    C$359
  • Expedia.com
    C$359
  • Trip.com
    C$359
0.8 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotel entrance
C$319
  • Expedia.com
    C$329
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$278
  • Hotels.com
    C$319
0.4 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$309
C$278
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$309
  • Hotels.com
    C$309
  • Trip.com
    C$278
0.5 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$180
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$180
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$180
  • Vio.com
    C$180
0.0 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$179
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.2 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$347
  • Expedia.com
    C$347
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$340
  • Hotels.com
    C$347
3.9 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$239
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$239
  • Vio.com
    C$216
  • Hotels.com
    C$239
3.4 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$259
  • Expedia.com
    C$259
  • Algotels
    C$216
  • Hotels.com
    C$259
3.5 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$247
Fully refundable
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Vio.com
    C$201
  • Agoda.com
    C$245
  • Algotels
3.5 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Charlottetown
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveller rating
183
120
40
9
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
183
120
40
9
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sutherland house main building full size fridge large suite front desk staff a great stay within walking distance king bed free breakfast would stay here again location is great beds were comfortable cookies yogurt downtown microwave pei
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 374 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2023

Did a one night stay. Hotel was average in all respects as far as services etc. Went for breakfast in the morning and we did put our luggage in the car when we went. Finished breakfast early so checked with front desk on the checkout time and they said 11 so we said to them great no rush and went for a walk. It was foggy so we didn't want to checkout till later, the plan was closer to 11. Got back from walk a few minutes after 9 to go to the room and washup after breakfast and to do a final room check for jewellry left on nightstands, chargers, dropped socks etc. Imagine how I felt when my room door is wide open! They cleaned out the room. I paid $317.00 for a room didn't even get to use till close to checkout time. So security isn't so great either if they don't care if you have checked out before leaving your door wide open. All we got from them was a sorry. I have traveled for work and pleasure in many countries for years and have never had staff enter my room like this and leave it open.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenn MacIntyre, Guest Services / Front Office at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2023

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. I am sorry for the confusion at check out. Our Housekeeping team thought you were checked out as there were not items left in your room. If you needed the room for an hour we would have gladly let you stay or given you another room. That was not requested when you talked to our Front Desk Manager. I noticed on your booking you were upgradedto a larger room than you booked at no charge. Thanks for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2023

We were a group of 14 and really appreciated how staff went above and beyond to accommodate our group to have us all close together in Sutherland House. We also had amazing service in the restaurant for dinner. Breakfast was awesome too - thanks so much!

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Climber702731
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenn MacIntyre, Guest Services / Front Office at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2023

Thank you so much for this review!
We truly appreciate these kind words and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 19, 2023

My soon to be wife and I stayed at one of their suites and it was an amazing experience! They have a cool hottub and the room cleanliness was spectacular. The management is so friendly and kind hearted. Overall amazing experience!

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank xdwalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenn MacIntyre, Guest Services / Front Office at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2023

Thank you so much for this review! We really appreciate your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 13, 2022 via mobile

We had a bed bug infestation in our room and it took them hours to do anything about it. Not a single apology was given for the major inconvenience and risks of spreading, only a room refund.

I woke up at 4am and found little bugs all over our bed. I caught one and squished two to show the front desk. Unfortunately this was already our second night in the room, meaning we probably were bitten. Our luggage was placed right at the foot of the bed so all our clothes were also at risks of having bed bugs and we were only half way through our maritimes trip.

The management kept telling us this was above their jurisdiction and that the higher level management is coming to handle it. EVEN AFTER WE CAUGHT AND SHOWED THEM THE BUG. They made us wait hours and then told us that the pest control wouldn’t be able to show up on Thanksgiving Monday. As guests, how you decide to handle the infestation is not my concern, but rather my luggage and clothes that are huge potential carriers of the bed bugs.

All they offered for compensation was a room refund.

Check your bed thoroughly with the lights off, before sleeping in their beds.

Room tip: Don’t stay here.
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Nomad50119798528
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tanya Bevan, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2022

Please refer to my previous responses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 7, 2022 via mobile

I will be honest, it was just ok. First the positives. Front desk attendant was polite and efficient. Location is great. We stayed in a king suite in another building. Our first impression was a strong odour of damp or wet carpet. Not pleasant. Room didn’t smell thank goodness but when we turned the air conditioner on I immediately had an allergy response which indicates to me it had a lot of dust and needed cleaning. Lack of screens on the windows was disappointing but an easy fix. Our biggest complaint was the light from the hallway lit the bedroom up like daylight once we turned our own lights out. It was super bright and made it difficult to sleep. Not sure of how to fix that but it should be addressed.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank canadajen68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tanya Bevan, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2022

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I am sorry your did not enjoy your stay. I have not had that complaint about a lot of light coming in under the door in our heritage houses. One is 12 years old and the other we have had for 20 plus years. We will look into it to see how we can resolve that issue. I am glad out front desk team we great to deal with and you enjoyed our downtown location and complimentary hot plated breakfast.
Tanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews