We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
sarah b
Toronto, Canada

Great family stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 27, 2023via mobile
Travelled with my husband and 2 boys, age 5 and almost 3. This hotel was about 15 minutes from the airport, and had free parking! We were able to walk to the harbour and the beautiful downtown area. The room was spacious, beds were comfortable and the free breakfast was amazing, not just a simple buffet of cold offerings but really yummy hot food! Loved this hotel for our one night stay, staff was friendly and we all had a great sleep post flight. This was the perfect start to our PEI vacation.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenn MacIntyre, Guest Services / Front Office at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review
Responded Jul 29, 2023
Thank you for your review! We truly appreciate such positive feedback.
We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$379
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$379
  • Booking.com
0.5 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$339
  • Hotels.com
  • Hampton
  • Booking.com
3.9 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$260
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$260
3.5 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$256
C$248
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$248
3.4 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$179
  • Booking.com
5.3 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel entrance
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$273
  • Booking.com
0.4 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Delta Hotels
    C$359
  • Booking.com
0.8 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$384
  • Booking.com
0.4 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$244
  • HIExpress.com
    C$247
3.7 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
One Bedroom Cottages
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$195
  • Priceline
4.2 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Charlottetown
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveller rating
183
120
40
9
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
183
120
40
9
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sutherland house main building full size fridge large suite front desk staff a great stay within walking distance king bed free breakfast would stay here again location is great beds were comfortable cookies yogurt downtown microwave pei
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 374 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2023 via mobile

Cute heritage houses make up the hotel.
Clean and spavious.
Free breakfast.
Mini kitchenette
Laundry facilities
Walking distance to waterfront, restaurants, shops.
Would recommend.
Walking distance to Maritime bus terminal.
Vehicle needed to sirport.

Room tip: Transportation from airport to hotel is sparse: 1 taxi only was available when we arrived- shared with another couple.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 852alexandraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenn MacIntyre, Guest Services / Front Office at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2023

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2023

We stayed in Sutherland house:
The rooms were very clean and large. The bathroom was large and water pressure was strong for the shower. The comfortable beds & pillows made for a relaxing sleep. The building was quiet and we didn't hear any of the other occupants. The breakfast was very good, too.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenn MacIntyre, Guest Services / Front Office at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2023

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in the Sutherland house!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2023

Did a one night stay. Hotel was average in all respects as far as services etc. Went for breakfast in the morning and we did put our luggage in the car when we went. Finished breakfast early so checked with front desk on the checkout time and they said 11 so we said to them great no rush and went for a walk. It was foggy so we didn't want to checkout till later, the plan was closer to 11. Got back from walk a few minutes after 9 to go to the room and washup after breakfast and to do a final room check for jewellry left on nightstands, chargers, dropped socks etc. Imagine how I felt when my room door is wide open! They cleaned out the room. I paid $317.00 for a room didn't even get to use till close to checkout time. So security isn't so great either if they don't care if you have checked out before leaving your door wide open. All we got from them was a sorry. I have traveled for work and pleasure in many countries for years and have never had staff enter my room like this and leave it open.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenn MacIntyre, Guest Services / Front Office at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2023

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. I am sorry for the confusion at check out. Our Housekeeping team thought you were checked out as there were not items left in your room. If you needed the room for an hour we would have gladly let you stay or given you another room. That was not requested when you talked to our Front Desk Manager. I noticed on your booking you were upgradedto a larger room than you booked at no charge. Thanks for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2023

We were a group of 14 and really appreciated how staff went above and beyond to accommodate our group to have us all close together in Sutherland House. We also had amazing service in the restaurant for dinner. Breakfast was awesome too - thanks so much!

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Climber702731
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenn MacIntyre, Guest Services / Front Office at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2023

Thank you so much for this review!
We truly appreciate these kind words and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 19, 2023

My soon to be wife and I stayed at one of their suites and it was an amazing experience! They have a cool hottub and the room cleanliness was spectacular. The management is so friendly and kind hearted. Overall amazing experience!

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank xdwalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenn MacIntyre, Guest Services / Front Office at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2023

Thank you so much for this review! We really appreciate your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews