We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Pamela T

‘Inn on the Hill’ Quality Inn & Suites Charlottetown PEI

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 25, 2023


My family and I left Toronto on August 28 2023 and arrived in PEI on the 29th having pre-booked a cottage in Tracadie for 2 weeks. The only thing I will say about the cottage is that it was inhabitable.
We decided to drive to Charlottetown, find a hotel for one night and return to Toronto.

Having stayed at a number of Quality Inns driving to and from Florida, for many years finding a Quality Inn for one night in downtown Charlottetown was a breath of fresh air and what a find!

The kindness, warmth and compassion shown to us by Tanya Bevin General Manager and the young lady at reception touched our hearts. Tanya was able to secure two suites for us for one night, one at the Sutherland House and the other at Holland Grove House two separate buildings outside the main hotel. A read on the history of the ‘Inn on the Hill’ and the two buildings is a must. The Inn is within walking distance of virtually everything.

The two suites were unbelievably clean with a four poster king size bed, armchairs, desks, A/C, TV, fireplace, bay windows, wood floors and a kitchenette equipped with a full fridge, microwave, table and chairs.The bathroom had a shower etc. and outside the bathroom was a tub with a privacy screen. We had more towels than we would ever use. All the comforts of home, plus. Exactly what we needed for a good night’s rest after a horrific start to our PEI holiday.

Tanya, excellent job in selecting, training and mentoring all members of your team. This is what sincere and warm hospitality ought to be. You, Francie, Jenn, Cathy, Sanjeedah, cleaning staff and Mayra in the dining room have shown us just that. Your team has commitment, superior people skills, attention to detail, teamwork, enthusiasm and a great attitude. You and your entire team bring your A-game every day and night and always with a smile. Thank you.
.
Needless to say, we decided to stay for another week.

There is so much to do and see that a week is not long enough.
From the quaint villages, red sand and cliffs, lighthouses, beaches, seafood restaurants and bars, some with live music, The Farmer’s Market on Sundays, numerous historical buildings, shopping on Victoria Row, the waterfront, the Anne of Green Gables shop, farms, fishermen bringing in their day’s catch at the North Shore, hiking trails, places of worship and so on. Let’s not forget the gentleness of the Islanders.

As Charlottetown has been the birthplace of Confederation since 1864 every street walked, every building and every corner passed envelops you with history. Living in downtown Toronto, I was in awe.

So many adventures and more history is waiting for us. We are already planning a return trip to PEI next year.
Date of stay: August 2023
Room Tip: The Quality Inn & Suites downtown is the starting point of your historical and magical adventure.
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tanya Bevan, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review
Responded Sep 27, 2023
Hi Pamela,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review to let others know about your recent stay! We cannot express how much we appreciate it! We are a small family owned and operated business and this means so much to myself and our team. We are so thrilled your enjoyed your time with us and on our special Island. We look forward to seeing you the next time your travels take you our way.
Tanya
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel entrance
C$275
  • Expedia.com
    C$262
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$213
  • Priceline
    C$248
0.4 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$359
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$359
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$278
  • Expedia.com
    C$359
0.6 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$329
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    C$320
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$254
  • Expedia.com
    C$329
0.6 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$285
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$285
  • Agoda.com
    C$269
  • Hotels.com
    C$274
0.7 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$176
  • Expedia.com
    C$183
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$141
  • Official Hotel
    C$183
3.4 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$155
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$145
  • Agoda.com
    C$140
  • Hotels.com
    C$151
0.2 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$129
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$129
  • Priceline
    C$129
  • Hotels.com
    C$129
0.7 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$219
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Save with Hilton Honours Rewards
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
3.9 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$185
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$185
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$164
  • Hotels.com
    C$185
3.5 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Charlottetown
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveller rating
183
120
40
9
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
183
120
40
9
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sutherland house main building full size fridge large suite front desk staff a great stay within walking distance king bed free breakfast would stay here again location is great beds were comfortable cookies yogurt downtown microwave pei
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 374 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2023

We stayed for 4 nights. Everything was perfect. Comfy bed. Clean room. Delicious complimentary breakfast each morning. Impeccable service.
We would highly recommend this hotel. We will be back one day!!!

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tinarO5325XE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenn MacIntyre, Guest Services / Front Office at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2023

Thank you so much for this review!
We appreciate such positive feedback and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2023 via mobile

Travelled with my husband and 2 boys, age 5 and almost 3. This hotel was about 15 minutes from the airport, and had free parking! We were able to walk to the harbour and the beautiful downtown area. The room was spacious, beds were comfortable and the free breakfast was amazing, not just a simple buffet of cold offerings but really yummy hot food! Loved this hotel for our one night stay, staff was friendly and we all had a great sleep post flight. This was the perfect start to our PEI vacation.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sarahbB8006GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenn MacIntyre, Guest Services / Front Office at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2023

Thank you for your review! We truly appreciate such positive feedback.
We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2023 via mobile

Cute heritage houses make up the hotel.
Clean and spavious.
Free breakfast.
Mini kitchenette
Laundry facilities
Walking distance to waterfront, restaurants, shops.
Would recommend.
Walking distance to Maritime bus terminal.
Vehicle needed to sirport.

Room tip: Transportation from airport to hotel is sparse: 1 taxi only was available when we arrived- shared with another couple.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 852alexandraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenn MacIntyre, Guest Services / Front Office at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2023

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2023

We stayed in Sutherland house:
The rooms were very clean and large. The bathroom was large and water pressure was strong for the shower. The comfortable beds & pillows made for a relaxing sleep. The building was quiet and we didn't hear any of the other occupants. The breakfast was very good, too.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenn MacIntyre, Guest Services / Front Office at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2023

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in the Sutherland house!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2023

Did a one night stay. Hotel was average in all respects as far as services etc. Went for breakfast in the morning and we did put our luggage in the car when we went. Finished breakfast early so checked with front desk on the checkout time and they said 11 so we said to them great no rush and went for a walk. It was foggy so we didn't want to checkout till later, the plan was closer to 11. Got back from walk a few minutes after 9 to go to the room and washup after breakfast and to do a final room check for jewellry left on nightstands, chargers, dropped socks etc. Imagine how I felt when my room door is wide open! They cleaned out the room. I paid $317.00 for a room didn't even get to use till close to checkout time. So security isn't so great either if they don't care if you have checked out before leaving your door wide open. All we got from them was a sorry. I have traveled for work and pleasure in many countries for years and have never had staff enter my room like this and leave it open.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenn MacIntyre, Guest Services / Front Office at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2023

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. I am sorry for the confusion at check out. Our Housekeeping team thought you were checked out as there were not items left in your room. If you needed the room for an hour we would have gladly let you stay or given you another room. That was not requested when you talked to our Front Desk Manager. I noticed on your booking you were upgradedto a larger room than you booked at no charge. Thanks for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews