We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
termehk
Ottawa, Canada

Bad experience

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 10, 2024
We had an extremely bad experience with this hotel. The hotel is very old. They did not clean our room during our 3 nights stay. The breakfast was so gross that we avoided. The bathroom was extremely old and smelly. Not enough towels. I suggest to avoid this hotel.

They charged us extra $20 that I have no idea why.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tanya Bevan, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review
Responded Jun 12, 2024
I am very surprised to see this review. We never had any complaints during your two night stay with us. We explain at check in that we offer housekeeping service upon request. You would have received a door knocker at check in that you leave on your door with anything you need or if you would like full service. You were charged $20.00 as the bag the air dryer is kept in was missing when you checked out.
Tanya
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$345
C$286
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$286
0.7 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel entrance
C$304
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$287
  • Official Hotel
    C$271
  • Hotels.com
    C$287
0.4 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$341
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.8 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
C$403
C$357
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
3.9 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$190
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$200
  • Algotels
    C$172
  • Hotels.com
    C$200
3.5 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    C$443
  • Expedia.com
    C$459
0.6 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    C$522
  • Expedia.com
    C$598
0.6 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    C$150
  • Expedia.com
    C$156
0.2 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    C$180
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$180
  • Vio.com
0.0 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    C$258
  • Expedia.com
    C$293
0.5 km from Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Charlottetown
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveller rating
183
120
40
9
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
183
120
40
9
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sutherland house main building full size fridge large suite front desk staff a great stay within walking distance king bed free breakfast would stay here again location is great beds were comfortable cookies yogurt downtown microwave pei
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 374 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2023



My family and I left Toronto on August 28 2023 and arrived in PEI on the 29th having pre-booked a cottage in Tracadie for 2 weeks. The only thing I will say about the cottage is that it was inhabitable.
We decided to drive to Charlottetown, find a hotel for one night and return to Toronto.

Having stayed at a number of Quality Inns driving to and from Florida, for many years finding a Quality Inn for one night in downtown Charlottetown was a breath of fresh air and what a find!

The kindness, warmth and compassion shown to us by Tanya Bevin General Manager and the young lady at reception touched our hearts. Tanya was able to secure two suites for us for one night, one at the Sutherland House and the other at Holland Grove House two separate buildings outside the main hotel. A read on the history of the ‘Inn on the Hill’ and the two buildings is a must. The Inn is within walking distance of virtually everything.

The two suites were unbelievably clean with a four poster king size bed, armchairs, desks, A/C, TV, fireplace, bay windows, wood floors and a kitchenette equipped with a full fridge, microwave, table and chairs.The bathroom had a shower etc. and outside the bathroom was a tub with a privacy screen. We had more towels than we would ever use. All the comforts of home, plus. Exactly what we needed for a good night’s rest after a horrific start to our PEI holiday.

Tanya, excellent job in selecting, training and mentoring all members of your team. This is what sincere and warm hospitality ought to be. You, Francie, Jenn, Cathy, Sanjeedah, cleaning staff and Mayra in the dining room have shown us just that. Your team has commitment, superior people skills, attention to detail, teamwork, enthusiasm and a great attitude. You and your entire team bring your A-game every day and night and always with a smile. Thank you.
.
Needless to say, we decided to stay for another week.

There is so much to do and see that a week is not long enough.
From the quaint villages, red sand and cliffs, lighthouses, beaches, seafood restaurants and bars, some with live music, The Farmer’s Market on Sundays, numerous historical buildings, shopping on Victoria Row, the waterfront, the Anne of Green Gables shop, farms, fishermen bringing in their day’s catch at the North Shore, hiking trails, places of worship and so on. Let’s not forget the gentleness of the Islanders.

As Charlottetown has been the birthplace of Confederation since 1864 every street walked, every building and every corner passed envelops you with history. Living in downtown Toronto, I was in awe.

So many adventures and more history is waiting for us. We are already planning a return trip to PEI next year.

Room tip: The Quality Inn & Suites downtown is the starting point of your historical and magical adventure.
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 607pamelat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tanya Bevan, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2023

Hi Pamela,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review to let others know about your recent stay! We cannot express how much we appreciate it! We are a small family owned and operated business and this means so much to myself and our team. We are so thrilled your enjoyed your time with us and on our special Island. We look forward to seeing you the next time your travels take you our way.
Tanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2023

We stayed for 4 nights. Everything was perfect. Comfy bed. Clean room. Delicious complimentary breakfast each morning. Impeccable service.
We would highly recommend this hotel. We will be back one day!!!

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tinarO5325XE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenn MacIntyre, Guest Services / Front Office at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2023

Thank you so much for this review!
We appreciate such positive feedback and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2023 via mobile

Travelled with my husband and 2 boys, age 5 and almost 3. This hotel was about 15 minutes from the airport, and had free parking! We were able to walk to the harbour and the beautiful downtown area. The room was spacious, beds were comfortable and the free breakfast was amazing, not just a simple buffet of cold offerings but really yummy hot food! Loved this hotel for our one night stay, staff was friendly and we all had a great sleep post flight. This was the perfect start to our PEI vacation.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sarahbB8006GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenn MacIntyre, Guest Services / Front Office at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2023

Thank you for your review! We truly appreciate such positive feedback.
We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2023 via mobile

Cute heritage houses make up the hotel.
Clean and spavious.
Free breakfast.
Mini kitchenette
Laundry facilities
Walking distance to waterfront, restaurants, shops.
Would recommend.
Walking distance to Maritime bus terminal.
Vehicle needed to sirport.

Room tip: Transportation from airport to hotel is sparse: 1 taxi only was available when we arrived- shared with another couple.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 852alexandraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenn MacIntyre, Guest Services / Front Office at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2023

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2023

We stayed in Sutherland house:
The rooms were very clean and large. The bathroom was large and water pressure was strong for the shower. The comfortable beds & pillows made for a relaxing sleep. The building was quiet and we didn't hear any of the other occupants. The breakfast was very good, too.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenn MacIntyre, Guest Services / Front Office at Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2023

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in the Sutherland house!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews