We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (510)
Filter reviews
510 results
Traveller rating
482
18
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
482
18
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cunard suite premier suite antique china fine china other guests theatre tickets bed and breakfast prince edward island dietary needs food allergies each morning four nights short walk to downtown great hosts wealth of information little touches b bs
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 510 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2018

We had a wonderful stay at the Elmwood. It is hidden, definitely off the beaten path, but close to,the city centre.
The owners have paid attention to detail with stunning displays of fine china, antiques and fresh flowers. We were in a room on the first floor and it was very quiet, beautifully decorated, and comfortable.
The toiletries were high end and the shower in our bathroom was awesome.
In the mornings our breakfasts were beautifully presented. Not only did they look good, they were very tasty. The server was extremely pleasant and anxious to accommodate our requests.
We had a pleasant two night style and would recommend this bed and breakfast. We plan to return, and that is our endorsement of a real ‘gem’ in Charlottetown.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank marylynn_cameron4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2018

You could get closer to the waterfront of historic Charlottetown, but you probably wouldn't get the sheltering trees, gardens and attention of Viola, Cecilia, Ashley and the rest, all at the Elmwood. All the rooms are quite different in theme of decor, with a meticulous tilt towards antique china, typewriters and cameras in Elmwood's salons and breakfast room. Everything worked perfectly.

We enjoyed pleasant walks to and from the waterfront via either Victoria Park or else the wonderful neighborhoods as the evening streetlamps came on.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Mr_Snippets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2018

Elmwood Inn was so adorable. The ornate decorations add to the attention to detail that is very obviously put into the home and how it is maintained. For a heritage home, it has all the 5-star comforts of a hotel. We stayed in the Library on the main floor, right outside of the breakfast area. Though you would think this would be noisy, it was a room that had a double-door, and we did not hear a thing! I disagree about the last guest about the lighting, we had blackout blinds (heavy wooden doors to close), and very little light flooded into our room. The bathroom was amazing! A jetted tub, and waterfall showerhead, and high-end toiletries were provided. Our room was also equipped with air-conditioning. Breakfast was served with a very ornamentally placed table. The breakfast was very good (fresh fruits, pancakes, - recipes available on their website.) It is about a 20 minute walk to city-centre, but the most beautiful walk if you take a few minutes more along Victoria Park Boardwalk. Overall, this was our favourite hotel of our trip (5 hotels over 2 weeks). We will be back if we are in the area!

Room Tip: Library was amazing! I loved staying here.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

At this inn my wife and I had a very nice breakfast. But as you may know my problem is sleeping. The inn had no blackout blinds and at 6:30 the room was flooded with light from the outside. The service is great but it’s hard to sleep in this hotel.
Unless you sleep for hours and don’t have a care for light. Don’t stay in this hotel all you light sleepers out there.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Grandopholia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018

My sister and I stayed one night for a short visit in Charlottetown. It was simply lovely. The room was pretty, decorated nicely and the bed extra comfy. We were greeted by gracious and helpful staff, and toured around the unoccupied portions of the house. The building itself is exquisite - was obviously a very grand home at one time. The breakfast was nice, just right. There is an abundance of antiques and collectables, something my sister and I enjoy looking at, so “snooping” around was really fun! We walked downtown, and back late evening, a very pleasant walk, roughly 15 minutes. So the location truly is walking distance from city centre without being right in the congestion and noise. And we didn’t have to worry about parking. There was a bit of tacky ornamentation here and there that we did’t care for, most obvious being the giant Christmas wreath in the dining room!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews