We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Great George
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Delta Hotels Prince Edward(Charlottetown)
US$308
US$256
Delta Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$105
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites(Charlottetown)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$60
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodd Charlottetown(Charlottetown)(Great Value!)
US$156
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Cornwall)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodd Royalty(Charlottetown)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$69
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dundee Arms Inn(Charlottetown)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$121
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
US$124
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sonata Inn(Charlottetown)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$113
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Holman Grand Hotel(Charlottetown)
US$140
US$133
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (678)
Filter reviews
678 results
Traveller rating
554
97
19
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
554
97
19
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesmain buildinglow tablesmini quichestraditional roomfree happy hourbeer and wineunique hotellobby areacontinental breakfastwasher and dryereach eveningliving roomwithin walking distancefull kitchenstreet noiseking bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
542 - 547 of 678 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Great George! Our room was huge and very well appointed. Aside of the charming hotel, it's the staff that makes it excellent! They went out of their way to make our stay perfect. The manager was super friendly and the girls at the front desk were always helpful. They mapped out routes for us to drive each day on the island, making sure to note places to stop that we might otherwise have passed by. When we arrived to late for happy hour one night, the staff gave us free wine and beer to take to our room. The cookies that they put out each night were also fantastic! We would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessiDoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The location of the Great George is excellent; close to the waterfront, great restaurants, Province House, Confederation Centre, shopping, yet quiet and relaxing. The property is huge comprising of 18 renovated houses. The lobby is welcoming and full of antiques and quirky things. There is an exercise room downstairs. Lots of free parking. Breakfast is provided every morning in the lobby area. Lots of famous people have stayed here including Regis Philbin and Elton John.

Room Tip: Best to ask for a room in one of the many houses they have as the rooms will be larger.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamdowngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GG58GGS, Director of Sales at The Great George, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2011

Dear Jamdowngirl,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Great George. I am delighted that you enjoyed the pictures of our "famed" guests, our location plus you had the chance to relax while visiting. We hope to be your hotel of choice when you return to Charlottetown.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Best Regards,
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I decided to treat my wife and I to Sunday breakfast in bed. The breakfast is included in the room rate but room service cost a reasonable $8.00 per person. I was impressed by the promptness of my order and the smartly dressed staff who presented us with a lovely arrangement for our breakfast. At checkout I was told that the room service charged was waved. What a wonderful gesture by a hotel, whose personnel is most accommodating and gracious.

Room Tip: ASk for a balcony
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelhoundIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Such a lovely hotel and the staff were truly excellent. Our accommodation was excellent and we loved the complimentary coffee and cookies in the afternoon. There is a beautiful church just across the street and the tourist information centre is an easy walk. My only criticism (and it is a minor one) is that breakfast was a little awkward. Rather than a dining room set-up, it is large settees/arm chairs and low tables. I would highly recommend this hotel and hope to go back some day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Witter-Coombs House. Two bedrooms on the first floor and one on the second so plenty of room for a family. There is a walk in shower with two shower heads on the second floor.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qwerty2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We've stayed at the Great George for 2 nights as our "Minimoon" and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel!
You walk into the lobby and you discover a world of pleasures. The decoration of the hotel is classic English style and you feel like you are back in the 19 century.
We got the Huges House and loved it! Everything in the room is new and comfortable, the bed is like sleeping on a cloud - we didn't want to wake up. But there's definitely something to wake up for, the breakfast. Amazing breakfast with so many things to choose from! The breakfast is served in the lobby and you get to enjoy the fine food and furniture with complimentary newspapers.
The service is another thing that will definitely make us go back to the great george. The staff is friendly and professional and will do ANYTHING you ask them to. Everyday they go between all the rooms to distribute ice and chocolates. Every day between 5pm and 6pm there's a guest reception, in which the staff serve you free wine and beer. Don't forget the complimentary fresh baked cookies and water all day long.
To sum up, staying at the Great George is not only a good stay - it's an experience of a life time! This is by far the best hotel in Charlottetown and the best I've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the "houses" instead of the main building, you might have to add a bit to each night, but it's worth it!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews