We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Suite was just that... Romantic”
Review of The Great George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Great George
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Romantic Suite was just that... Romantic”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Stayed in a "Romantic Hideaway Suite" and had a wonderful time! The suite was very large, very clean, and very quiet. The view of St. Dunstan's Church across Great George Street was an added bonus. Fireplace and jacuzzi added to the experience, as did the wonderful bed and spacious room. Honestly, if you're looking to stay in downtown Charlottetown, you will not find a better location, and a nicer inn.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattandBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    84
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
92
277
27
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Great George! Our room was huge and very well appointed. Aside of the charming hotel, it's the staff that makes it excellent! They went out of their way to make our stay perfect. The manager was super friendly and the girls at the front desk were always helpful. They mapped out routes for us to drive each day on the island, making sure to note places to stop that we might otherwise have passed by. When we arrived to late for happy hour one night, the staff gave us free wine and beer to take to our room. The cookies that they put out each night were also fantastic! We would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessiDoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The location of the Great George is excellent; close to the waterfront, great restaurants, Province House, Confederation Centre, shopping, yet quiet and relaxing. The property is huge comprising of 18 renovated houses. The lobby is welcoming and full of antiques and quirky things. There is an exercise room downstairs. Lots of free parking. Breakfast is provided every morning in the lobby area. Lots of famous people have stayed here including Regis Philbin and Elton John.

Room Tip: Best to ask for a room in one of the many houses they have as the rooms will be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamdowngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GG58GGS, Director of Sales at The Great George, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Dear Jamdowngirl,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Great George. I am delighted that you enjoyed the pictures of our "famed" guests, our location plus you had the chance to relax while visiting. We hope to be your hotel of choice when you return to Charlottetown.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Best Regards,
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I decided to treat my wife and I to Sunday breakfast in bed. The breakfast is included in the room rate but room service cost a reasonable $8.00 per person. I was impressed by the promptness of my order and the smartly dressed staff who presented us with a lovely arrangement for our breakfast. At checkout I was told that the room service charged was waved. What a wonderful gesture by a hotel, whose personnel is most accommodating and gracious.

Room Tip: ASk for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelhoundIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Such a lovely hotel and the staff were truly excellent. Our accommodation was excellent and we loved the complimentary coffee and cookies in the afternoon. There is a beautiful church just across the street and the tourist information centre is an easy walk. My only criticism (and it is a minor one) is that breakfast was a little awkward. Rather than a dining room set-up, it is large settees/arm chairs and low tables. I would highly recommend this hotel and hope to go back some day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Witter-Coombs House. Two bedrooms on the first floor and one on the second so plen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qwerty2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We've stayed at the Great George for 2 nights as our "Minimoon" and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel!
You walk into the lobby and you discover a world of pleasures. The decoration of the hotel is classic English style and you feel like you are back in the 19 century.
We got the Huges House and loved it! Everything in the room is new and comfortable, the bed is like sleeping on a cloud - we didn't want to wake up. But there's definitely something to wake up for, the breakfast. Amazing breakfast with so many things to choose from! The breakfast is served in the lobby and you get to enjoy the fine food and furniture with complimentary newspapers.
The service is another thing that will definitely make us go back to the great george. The staff is friendly and professional and will do ANYTHING you ask them to. Everyday they go between all the rooms to distribute ice and chocolates. Every day between 5pm and 6pm there's a guest reception, in which the staff serve you free wine and beer. Don't forget the complimentary fresh baked cookies and water all day long.
To sum up, staying at the Great George is not only a good stay - it's an experience of a life time! This is by far the best hotel in Charlottetown and the best I've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the "houses" instead of the main building, you might have to add a bit to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

I only stayed at this lovely hotel for one night, but the property "works" because it has nice elements of both a larger "chain" hotel and the charm of a well-run bed and breakfast (including a beer and wine happy hour, and the local beer is terrific, and a far above average continental breakfast with addictive baked goods). The rooms are outfitted in a nice antique-y style that compliment the property's historic underpinnings. Charlottetown, especially with this particular hotel, reminded me a lot of Dublin.

Room Tip: This is your perfect property if you like staying "in town" and you walk a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIquidLIvingEditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.6 km away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.2 km away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#4 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.5 km away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Prince Edward
0.5 km away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.6 km away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great George

Property: The Great George
Address: 58 Great George St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4K3, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Great George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique cluster of fully restored, 4 1/2 star heritage buildings situated within the streetscape splendour of Charlottetown's National Historic District. 50 guest rooms and suites + 4 luxury condos sure to satisfy the senses of the most discriminating traveler. Choose from the 21-room Victorian Pavilion, the intimate five-room Wellington House, family-friendly townhouses business-savvy Stable House or romantic Hideaway Suites. Deluxe rooms featuring fireplace, Jacuzzi or claw-foot tub. Frommers 2004: "One of Charlottetown's very classiest addresses." Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Great George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great George Hotel Charlottetown
Great George Charlottetown
Great George Hotel Charlottetown
The Great George Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing