We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Maggie C
St. John's, Canada

Full of bugs!!!

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 28, 2021
Briefly stayed in room 218. Was booked for two nights. Looked ok; figured we wouldn’t be actually at the hotel much anyways. Covered in bugs throughout the night and immediately left before 8am the next day. Was not asked why checking out early so mentioned full of bugs - the reply was “sorry about that”. Never again!!
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kathy McInnis, Owner at Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this review
Responded Jul 30, 2021
Hi Margaret

I am so sorry to hear that you did not have a good stay with us in room 118. The safety of our guests is a priority. Whenever a guest reports bugs within the premises of the room we follow a standard protocol of leaving the room out of order and getting inspected with a third-party pest control specialist. We do not rent the room until we have received the report that it is bug-free.

The inspection was completed the same day and we have received an update from the pest control specialist. The report is as stated below

"An inspection for bed bugs was completed in Room #118 on Wednesday, July 28th. Evidence of bed bugs was not found during our inspection. There were no live or dead bed bugs, eggs, fecal matter, cast skins, fragmented bed bugs, or any other evidence found during the inspection."

We have emailed you the report for reference.

Warm Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$345
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$286
  • Hotels.com
    C$328
  • Priceline
    C$345
4.0 km from Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$348
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$348
  • Algotels
    C$339
  • Hotels.com
    C$348
1.2 km from Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$598
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$599
  • Hotels.com
    C$569
  • Priceline
    C$599
4.0 km from Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$459
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$459
  • Vio.com
    C$407
  • StayForLong
4.1 km from Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$180
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$180
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$177
  • Vio.com
3.5 km from Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$167
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$167
  • Vio.com
    C$150
  • Hotels.com
    C$189
3.7 km from Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotel entrance
C$339
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$315
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$269
  • Official Hotel
3.8 km from Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$341
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$341
  • Hotels.com
    C$341
  • Vio.com
    C$341
4.3 km from Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown
Free Wifi
Pool
C$161
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$179
  • Vio.com
    C$158
  • Hotels.com
    C$179
3.8 km from Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$269
  • Vio.com
    C$263
  • Hotels.com
    C$299
3.9 km from Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Charlottetown
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
105
85
60
35
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
105
85
60
35
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pool front desk an upgrade microwave pei muffins downtown
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 321 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2021

I've been here several times. Love the location and pool. Decent price for Charlottetown.

One issue I'd like to report - the toilet in room 121 moves when you sit on it and the seat is also very loose. The shelving under the sink was dusty and dirty. You may want to attend to the bathroom.

I was going to tell the person in the morning when I checked out, but the 'be back in 5 minutes' sign was up for 10, so I just dropped the keys and left.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 6, 2021 via mobile

Me and my bf booked here to stay for our anniversary and to say it was the most horrific experience I've had at a hotel is an understatement. We booked a king suite with jacuzzi tub online through hotwire with my credit card. When we got to the hotel they needed my card again (I dont use it alot I dont know the pin) so i had to tap it. They dont have tap. I cant just pay the $250 deposit on my debit card. I cant type in the card number on the machine manually. We had to drive home and get my other credit card which also wouldnt work on there machine. I called my cc company and got them to reset my pin so I went to a bank machine and reset it so I could do the deposit. The while the attended (Vimmy) kept saying SEVERAL times if you dont pay by such a time I'll have to cancel the room. I finally get my pin changed and pay the deposit we get our keys and I ask about breakfast because it says on the website breakfast is included. No breakfast. Whatever this is about 2.5 hour affair by now so we go up to the room (NO ELEVATOR) and open the door to find the room was a MESS. It wasnt cleaned. Drag all our stuff back downstairs tell Vimmy and she goes to check to make sure we werent lying?? Gives us another room we go up trekking up the stairs again and I went to sit on the bed and I find HAIR ON THE PILLOWCASES. I then go into the bathroom and find hair in the sink and in the bathtub. By this time we are v upset and just wanted to start our night. This was disgusting especially during a pandemic they dont clean the rooms right? We trek back downstairs to desk and Vimmy "checks" the room and she finds NOTHING WRONG WITH IT. We get a refund and now this is about 3.5 of jerking us around. After we leave I got a room at the great George for $50 more dollars and got basically an apartment with a huge jacuzzi tub for 2, fresh cookies and the best customer service I've ever seen. Save your money and stay at the great george. This place is nasty.
Also was supposed to be getting an email from the manager and it never happened. Vimmy needs to work on her customer service and what a clean room means.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank meaganm680
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 13, 2020

I've stayed here a few times, most recently in September. I try to get to Charlottetown a few times a year at least and usually end up here due to their great location and unbeatable price.

It's nothing fancy, but the rooms are clean, safe and beds are comfy. Nice pool open in the summer. Also a restaurant and pub on site that is pretty good.

I'll stay again for sure. Like I said, nothing fancy but also no issues, especially for the great price!

Date of stay: September 2020
1  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cassie McPhee, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2020

Good Afternoon Mike,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoy our prime and safe location, price, cleanliness, beds, outdoor pool and restaurant! I am even more thrilled to hear that have stayed with us many times, and will stay again in the future.

I appreciate your feedback, we can't wait to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2020

Cassie the manager is the nicest lady she made sure our stay was perfect.From the king sized bed to the jacuzzi.We've stay here twice once last month and again last nite best place to stay make you feel at home.Uptown Lounge food is absolutely delicious which are in the same building.Very reasonable rates will definitely be back😊😊

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank P6435MPannab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cassie McPhee, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stays with us!

We take pride in guest service and we are so happy that we went above and beyond your expectations. I am so happy to hear your anniversary, and other nights stayed made you feel right at home!

I appreciate all of your kind words and cannot wait to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2020

My husband and I stayed a few days with Canada's Best, and it was the greatest vaca we've had on this island! Our room was big, the a/c worked like a dream in the day time heat , the beds were oh so comfy, and the swimming pool was soooo cool! The front desk had plenty of pool towels ready for us anytime we wanted a dip. We were greeted by big smiles, and the folks were ready to accomodate any way they could. The small lounge offered cold drinks and yummy hot wings. We didnt want to leave! Which is why we are going back next week. This is really the place to be for your next vaca, its roomy, quiet, and very affordable.

Date of stay: July 2020
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CBVI Manager, Owner at Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2020

Good Morning Michele,

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at our property in Charlottetown. I am especially ecstatic to hear that the highlights of your stay included your guestroom and beds, swimming pool, front desk staff and restaurant.

We love that you came back so soon, and we cannot wait to see you again for your next vacation on the Island!

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback, we appreciate your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews