We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Billy V

Stay somewhere else

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 17, 2023
Very disappointed in the service given at this place. Sink had food in it from previous people and refrigerator was broken.We complained at desk as had slot of perishable food and they advised would be 5 hours .. We repacked our cooler as had places to go and came back later to find a new refrigerator still in the box outside our door ..Man at desk advised me my daughter and could move it in and take out the old one. Great service…He finally did his job and got it in for us. The continental breakfast was sufficient but room is so small everyone is bumping into each other. Our door had a gap in it we had to stuff with paper so a rodent wouldn’t get in and patio door was filthy around the moulding. I called to complain to Expedia tho they would do
Nothing for us nor would this hotel… Will never stay here again…The hospitality industry has declined so much and is no longer about the paying customer but the greedy owners..

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Canadas Best Value Inn, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this review
Responded Jul 17, 2023
We are truly sorry to hear about your disappointing experience at our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay. It is disheartening to hear that our service and the condition of your room fell below your expectations. We take your feedback seriously, and we will address each concern raised to prevent such incidents from recurring in the future.

We deeply regret the inconvenience caused by the food left in the sink and the broken refrigerator. Your frustration is understandable, and we apologize for the delay in resolving these issues. We apologize for any miscommunication or inconvenience caused by the replacement of the refrigerator, and we appreciate your understanding in assisting with the transfer. We have reviewed the details of the refrigerator replacement with our team, and understand a dog was left unattended in the room - which for the safety of the guest's pet and our staff, is against our policy to enter to complete the replacement until you returned.

Regarding your complaint to Expedia, we apologize for any inconvenience caused. While we cannot control the policies or decisions of third-party booking platforms, we apologize for any lack of support you encountered during your interaction with them.

We pride ourselves as a locally-owned business, with values conforming to responsible members of our community. We maintain our rates to be the best value in our market, and are thrilled to welcome families to share our beautiful island. Our operating objective is focused on ensuring that we deliver consistent, quality accommodation at the best value to consumers - while being responsible to our community and ensuring all staff and guests are treated with respect while on our property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$598
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$599
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$538
  • Priceline
4.0 km from Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$180
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$179
  • Vio.com
3.5 km from Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$459
  • Agoda.com
    C$423
  • Priceline
4.1 km from Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel entrance
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$269
  • Booking.com
3.8 km from Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$299
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$269
  • Hotels.com
    C$299
  • Priceline
3.9 km from Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$167
  • Agoda.com
    C$148
  • Hotels.com
    C$189
3.7 km from Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$210
  • Expedia.com
    C$251
0.4 km from Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    C$275
  • HIExpress.com
    C$231
  • Booking.com
0.8 km from Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$341
  • Booking.com
    C$341
  • Trip.com
4.3 km from Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$161
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    C$179
3.8 km from Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Charlottetown
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
105
85
60
35
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
105
85
60
35
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pool front desk an upgrade microwave pei muffins downtown
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 321 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2023

Staff at the desk were friendly, basic, clean hotel room but a bit dated. Our room on second floor was loud at night (banging pipe sounds, close to stairwell and not tight shutting door and noisy AC unit). Continental breakfast and pool were nice. Not really anything within walking distance, no side walk either so made navigating without a car for a day a but trickier with small kids

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Canadas Best Value Inn, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2023

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your kind words about our friendly staff and our clean, basic hotel rooms. However, we apologize for any inconveniences you experienced due to noisy facilities. Your comfort is our top priority, and we regret that we fell short of your expectations in these areas.

We also apologize for any inconvenience caused by the location of your room near the stairwell and the door not shutting tightly. We will review your comments with our team to identify areas for improvement and take necessary measures to enhance the comfort of our guests.

On a positive note, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our continental breakfast and had a pleasant time at our pool. We strive to provide a variety of options to start our guests' days off right and create an enjoyable atmosphere for relaxation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2023

Away from the petite Charlotte town a quiet place this hotel was. We were directly into our room as the vehicle was parked infront of our room itself ! The round tables and the writing table were a bonus for a person who gives travel writing it's due when silence pervades the room at the end of the day ....The room was a large one and the comfort level was good. The long drawn transfer of luggage from car to lobby and the lift and on the room was missing ! A great relief in case of a one night stay ! Breakfast had limited options but nevertheless was good.... Looking out of the window in a rather crammed breakfast lounge was fine given the need to hurry up and leave for Charlotte town ....

Room tip: Go for the breakfast or you shall to wait for a hot cheese toast ! The sprawling place is okayisht for the price .....
Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank prasad0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Canadas Best Value Inn, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2023

Hi Prasad! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2022

We stayed here two nights. We appreciated the direct access to our room. Although the room is tired and could use an upgrade there is everything you need in the room. I liked the separate eating table and the separate desk area. Things to improve on. There were cobwebs in one corner of our room and one of the light bulbs over the table was burned out. There was no light on the desk and got dark at night. The breakfast was the standard hotel breakfast, no issues or recommendations. Somehow our room cards did not work on day two for some reason. The person at the front desk attended to it.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hsumelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2022

Hello hsumelo,
Thank you for the feedback. Our guest feedbacks and suggestions are always our priority. We will use your input and when you visit us again you will see the changes. You have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2022

Stayed here recently and had a good experience. Clean tidy room. Adequate breakfast, affordable. Will definitely stay here again. It was difficult to get a taxi and none were to be had due to a shortage of drivers and cabs, This was not the hotels fault. One of the check in staff was going off duty and he ran me downtown., Thanks again.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2022

Hello Johan,
Thank you for the feedback. We are glad you had a great time during your stay. We are looking forward to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2022

Booked for the pool and deluxe breakfast. Had a cute patio as well. The room had a mini kitchenette with sink, dishwashing soap and rags, as well as a small bar fridge and microwave. When we pour our coffee in the morning, we were mortified to see that the cleaning staff had not checked to see whether the previous tenants had cleaned the cups (gag...) as they were filthy. The shower's grout also had black mold in it...and the establishment should never try to squish in two beds in that size room as it was a maze to walk around to open and close the bathroom door.
When we checked out we were not even asked how our stay was...and when we tried to tell them about our concerns, they did not seem concerned.
Deluxe Breakfast: The restaurant is too small to accommodate the crowds of people that show up and the muffins looks like they were half baked. We opted not to go back for the second morning.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank julietF8650YZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2022

Hello Julie,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Please accept our most heartfelt apology for your unsatisfactory experience. We are addressing your concerns and hope that you come back to see how we’ve implemented your feedback. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews