We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
jeep_girl_00
St. John's, Canada

Convenient Location

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 1, 2024via mobile
During our trip to Charlottetown to cheer on the football team, we stayed at Canada’s Best Value Inn & Suites. This motel was not only reasonably priced but also conveniently located just a short drive from the university.

Our room was clean and equipped with all the basic necessities. While there wasn't much counter space in the bathroom, we found a creative solution by using the ironing board on top of the toilet, which worked surprisingly well.

The motel also features a swimming pool, and although the breakfast was nothing fancy, it did the job and filled the void. But what truly made our stay memorable was spending the nights outside on the benches/deck with our friends, sharing stories and laughter.

Overall, Canada’s Best Value Inn & Suites provided us with a comfortable and convenient stay. We would definitely consider returning again in the future!
Date of stay: July 2023
Room Tip: Put ironing board on top of toilet to create extra space
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel entrance
C$275
  • Expedia.com
    C$262
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$212
  • Hotels.com
    C$261
3.8 km from Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$285
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$285
  • Agoda.com
    C$269
  • Hotels.com
    C$274
4.0 km from Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$219
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Save with Hilton Honours Rewards
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$359
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$359
  • Agoda.com
    C$336
  • Priceline
    C$359
4.0 km from Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$329
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    C$320
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$253
  • Expedia.com
    C$329
4.1 km from Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$129
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$129
  • Priceline
    C$129
  • Hotels.com
    C$129
3.7 km from Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$155
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$145
  • Agoda.com
    C$140
  • Hotels.com
    C$151
3.7 km from Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    C$176
  • Booking.com
0.2 km from Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • HIExpress.com
    C$199
  • Booking.com
0.8 km from Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Charlottetown
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
105
85
60
35
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
105
85
60
35
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pool front desk an upgrade microwave pei muffins downtown
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 321 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2023

Basic room with a strange set up! Bathroom and night table were very dusty, we also found a few spiders and ants in our bathroom. Breakfast room was very dark and the included breakfast was unappealing with no plant base option for milk. Very upset that hotel staff decide to KILL the BEE HIVE at the back door rather than have them removed by a bee keeper! Seeing 100's of dead bees on the ground was extremely sad. IN BC WE DONT KILL THE BEES!!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kelsi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Canadas Best Value Inn, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2023

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We value your comments as they help us to improve our services continually.

However, we are deeply sorry to learn about the challenges you encountered during your stay. Your feedback about the cleanliness of your room and the presence of insects is troubling, and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We will investigate and address these concerns immediately to ensure they do not recur in the future.

Regarding breakfast, we understand your desire for more diverse options, including plant-based milk. We are actively exploring ways to enhance our breakfast offerings to cater to various dietary preferences, and your input is valuable in this regard.

Lastly, we appreciate your concern about the bee hive located near a main entrance. This was obviously a difficult challenge to overcome, as we had to carefully balance the venerable bee colony, balanced against the health, safety and well-being of guests and staff approaching the high-traffic area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2023

Rude staff
Room stinks…..seems to be coming thru bathroom drain and toilet
Room far from main lobby and restaurant Broken and leaking fridge which leaked onto carpet and created a stink Staff used our towels to lay down on wet carpet and didn’t replace them Tried calling front desk but nobody picked up so I left a message which was never attended to….when we were checking out I asked desk staff about my message I had left and his response was he didn’t know how to screen left messages
A/C vents not adjustable so had to stack suitcases in front of vents to be able to sleep
No natural light and if u leave door open u lose your privacy

Room tip: Room choice at this place is critical so ask for explanations as their website is deceiving
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Canadas Best Value Inn, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2023

We deeply apologize for the series of issues you encountered during your stay, which significantly impacted your first island visit. Your experience falls far below the standard of service we aim to provide, and we're truly sorry for the disappointment and frustration you experienced.

We take your feedback seriously and are committed to addressing the concerns you raised. We are conducting a thorough investigation into the issues with the room, including the odor, the fridge, the towel usage, and the lack of responsiveness from our staff. We will also work on improving communication channels to ensure that messages are promptly attended to.

Your comfort is our priority, and we're sorry that the A/C vents were not adjustable and that you had to resort to using suitcases to regulate airflow. Additionally, we regret that the room lacked natural light and that you felt compromised between privacy and ventilation.

Please understand that this is not the typical experience that our guests have, and we will take immediate action to rectify the problems you encountered. We value your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2023

Housekeeping staff are dishonest thieves. Horrible experience and horrendous customer service. Had a lot of plaques in the lobby about how great they are with absolutely nothing to show for it. Would not recommend to anyone.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Savanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Canadas Best Value Inn, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2023

We are deeply dismayed by your review and the unfortunate experience you had during your stay with us. Your feedback regarding our housekeeping staff and customer service is both troubling and disheartening. We take accusations of dishonesty very seriously, and we assure you that this matter has been thoroughly investigated.

As a warm and inviting accommodation provider that prides itself on delivering exceptional service, we are appalled to hear that you had such a negative encounter. We extend our sincerest apologies for failing to meet your expectations and for any inconvenience caused during your visit.

Regarding the plush toy you left behind, we genuinely regret the loss, but we must clarify that our team diligently searched for it after your departure. While we are disappointed that we couldn't locate it, we cannot accept being labeled as "thieves" due to this unfortunate incident. Rest assured, we did everything in our power to locate the item, and it is disheartening to be accused unjustly.

We acknowledge that the plaques in our lobby represent the positive experiences of satisfied guests, and accredation and licencing of the property, and we strive to earn each accolade genuinely. However, we also recognize that not every guest will be satisfied with our services despite all the best efforts, which we must apologize for and find sincerely regrettable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2023

We stayed in the 'motel' part and it was OK. We had the double bed room first, and the bathroom is too small for two women and all of our 'stuff'. We switched to the larger suite for the last night and it was much better. The suite was bigger and had sliding door access to a private patio. The rooms are dated, but otherwise clean. I'm giving 4 stars because of our experience with Sam, the front desk clerk, who was exemplary. He was friendly, accommodating, and he gave us very good recommendations for places to visit. We witnessed his patience and professionalism as he attempted to assist a very unpleasant guest who was extremely unhappy (not about anything the hotel or its employees said or did). Not once did he lose it, when he had every right to! It's in a decent location, not far from the tourist areas, and within quick distance of all the regular amenities. We did not eat breakfast there. If you prefer a hot breakfast, there is a Sizzlers a short drive away (as well as the usual Timmies and Mickie D's).

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Canadas Best Value Inn, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2023

Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay in our motel. We truly appreciate your comments and are glad to hear that you had an overall positive experience.

We apologize for the inconvenience you faced with the smaller double bed room. We understand how important space and comfort are, especially when accommodating two guests with their belongings. However, we're delighted that the larger suite provided a more comfortable and enjoyable stay for your last night.

We're thrilled to know that Sam, our front desk clerk, left a lasting impression on you. Providing excellent customer service is a priority, and we will surely commend him for his friendly and accommodating assistance. It's fantastic to hear that he was able to offer you valuable recommendations for places to visit during your stay.

We're happy that you found our location convenient and easily accessible to various tourist spots and amenities. We hope you had a great time exploring the area.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We value your feedback and will use it to improve our services. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2023

Very disappointed in the service given at this place. Sink had food in it from previous people and refrigerator was broken.We complained at desk as had slot of perishable food and they advised would be 5 hours .. We repacked our cooler as had places to go and came back later to find a new refrigerator still in the box outside our door ..Man at desk advised me my daughter and could move it in and take out the old one. Great service…He finally did his job and got it in for us. The continental breakfast was sufficient but room is so small everyone is bumping into each other. Our door had a gap in it we had to stuff with paper so a rodent wouldn’t get in and patio door was filthy around the moulding. I called to complain to Expedia tho they would do
Nothing for us nor would this hotel… Will never stay here again…The hospitality industry has declined so much and is no longer about the paying customer but the greedy owners..

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Billy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Canadas Best Value Inn, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2023

We are truly sorry to hear about your disappointing experience at our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay. It is disheartening to hear that our service and the condition of your room fell below your expectations. We take your feedback seriously, and we will address each concern raised to prevent such incidents from recurring in the future.

We deeply regret the inconvenience caused by the food left in the sink and the broken refrigerator. Your frustration is understandable, and we apologize for the delay in resolving these issues. We apologize for any miscommunication or inconvenience caused by the replacement of the refrigerator, and we appreciate your understanding in assisting with the transfer. We have reviewed the details of the refrigerator replacement with our team, and understand a dog was left unattended in the room - which for the safety of the guest's pet and our staff, is against our policy to enter to complete the replacement until you returned.

Regarding your complaint to Expedia, we apologize for any inconvenience caused. While we cannot control the policies or decisions of third-party booking platforms, we apologize for any lack of support you encountered during your interaction with them.

We pride ourselves as a locally-owned business, with values conforming to responsible members of our community. We maintain our rates to be the best value in our market, and are thrilled to welcome families to share our beautiful island. Our operating objective is focused on ensuring that we deliver consistent, quality accommodation at the best value to consumers - while being responsible to our community and ensuring all staff and guests are treated with respect while on our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews