We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Building, Loud Pipes, Super Thin Walls”
Review of Queens Arms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Queens Arms Inn
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
halifax, ns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old Building, Loud Pipes, Super Thin Walls”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

My family and I stayed in 2 rooms at the Econo Lodge in Charlottetown PEI on Aug 18 , 2011 and all I can say is DON'T STAY HERE! It was impossible to get any sleep in either room because of how thin the walls are, you can even hear other people flush their toilets!! The pipes are so loud, and people on the floor above us were not partying but talking at normal room voice and I could make out most of their conversation from our room. Its ridiculous how un-soundproofed this hotel is. I have sent several emails to the hotel directly and to the head office with no response from anyone, not even a sorry for your inconvenience. If you are travelling with your family and looking for a hotel to sleep in, this is not the one for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyfromNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    20
    33
    22
    19
See reviews for
36
31
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We wound up at the Econo Lodge after our vehicle broke down. The staff were beyond helpful. The first room we had was similar to what is described --older but Super CLEAN. In their defence it was the last room they had --they rent out the more updated ones first--SO BOOK EARLY . The second room which they moved us to as soon as they had one was great. Updated.. REALLY CLEAN. Great matresses... now onto the important part. The staff couldn't have been better. Everyone smiled, checked in with us... helped us with every small need... they WENT ABOVE AND BEYOND for us! If you want to understand what PEI is about and what Island hospitality is GIVE THEM A TRY. They took a stranded family under their wing and made us feel like we were home. The folks on the desk were helpful, obliging and helped us figure out a rental car on a Sunday when everything was closed. The cleaning staff found my daughters IPOD touch and made sure she got it back. The pool guys fixed were friendly, personable and kept the pool perfectly balanced, krystal clear and CLEAN. The outdoor HEATED pool is heated and during our stay was 90 degrees.. no kidding .. it was bathtub hot. They are pet friendly! It was such a relaxed atmosphere I felt like I was staying at a friends cottage. They are not the newest most uptodate but they are definately VALUE for the price. The folks who put out the breakfast in the morning were attentive and hovered to make sure nothing ran out and folks were getting what they needed! When was the last time you went somewhere where the people seemed to all care about you... all of them. CUSTOMER SERVICE is important! Newer might be nice but Customer Service goes a long way. Give them a try. Book early.. stay in the main lodge. :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationer181764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We were very disappointed with our stay at the econo lodge. The room they gave us was in the basement level. As you open your door you almost walk on the bed. It had 2 double beds separated by a bathroom in the middle. Both bedroom areas were very small and as a result you could not sit together and talk. Also, there was only one tv so you had to take turns watching it. The room was dark, it did not have adequate lighting.

The walls in the building are very thin. We could clearly hear the television all night next door and the people walking above us.

Breakfast in the morning was also a disappointment. I noticed from other reviews the coffee has remained weak and only lukewarm. The hot water for tea was only warm too. Not much of a selection. Waffes did not cook adequately, they were soggy after they were cooked.

The group rate was high. We were quoted 139.00 plus tax (166.10) but when I spoke to other parents some had gotten it for the low price of 129.00 plus tax. When I pointed this out to the reception I did get the lower rate but only after I pointed it out. This rate is far too high for this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirkie161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charlottetown hotels

Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The room we stayed in was a suite - a separate bedroom with a door which contained 2 beds. There was a small bathroom with with a deep soaker tub, kitchen, and livingroom area with pull-out sofa. This room setup was ideal for our family - our daughter could snuggle into bed and we could stay up. The other features that attracted us was the pool, and the fact that a continental breakfast was included!

But oh dear! The rooms, which looked recently renovated, were not kept clean. The first night we were there, I pulled the covers back to get set up for my daughter only to find several dark hairs on the sheets. We called housekeeping, and they promptly remade both beds, so the service was adequate, but yuck!!

The breakfast wasn't that great. At the Comfort Inn across the street, their continental breakfast includes hardboiled eggs and a much better selection of breads/bagels/biscuits. I did like the make-your-own-waffles at the Econo Lodge though! :). Overall, limited selection and brown water that passed for coffee.

We cut our visit short as I couldn't stay in the hotel for the 4 days we had planned. We were offered a discount when we explained that the cleanliness and housekeeping were unsatisfactory. Overall, this could be an average motel if housekeeping shaped up. The other service was fine!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

The room I had was below grade and required that a dehumidified and air conditoner be running all the time. The noise from them was so loud you could not hear the TV or sleep. The below-grade room (similar to that of a high-ranch house) was dingy, windows filthy, and the pull-out couch/bed in the 2nd room was made probably in the 1950s. There was a lamp in the other room with no wall plugs to plug it in. Bed was uncomfortable. This room was suitable as a storage locker. The only plus was that the bathroom was clean. Horrible place and would not return even for a free night.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hitide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Our best motel at this moment. Impressed by the very good quality of the room. Clean, new, fresh. (one of the best mattress ever) The continental breakfast was perfect! Nice staff and well located (at minutes from downtown).
A winner!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canadian_trotter_514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
500 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

The motel is a bit dated, but it is clean, very good beds, has microwave and refrigerator. The price is resonablle. The staff is very nice and helpful. Breakfast is adequate. Good internet.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.7 km away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#12 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
4.1 km away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#4 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
4.0 km away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
4.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Charlottetown
BEST WESTERN Charlottetown
#19 of 23 in Charlottetown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
3.8 km away
Suites of Euston
Suites of Euston
#17 of 23 in Charlottetown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Arms Inn

Property: Queens Arms Inn
Address: 20 Lower Malpeque Rd, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 1R4, Canada (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Queens Arms Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, the Queens Arms Inn has 62 rooms you. Choose between your standard 1 Queen Size bed, 2 double (or queen) size beds or 3 double beds. Relax in a King suite with a Jacuzzi or stay for a while in our 1 bedroom Kitchenette suite. Include in your stay is free continental breakfast, free wi-fi and free parking. Most of our rooms include fridge and microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Queens Arms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Charlottetown
Econo Lodge Charlottetown
Charlottetown Econo Lodge
Queens Arms Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing