We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$84
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-12-11
Expedia.com
US$88
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-12-11
Priceline
US$93
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-12-10
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.comUS$88
eDreamsUS$84
Trip.comUS$98
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (460)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveller rating
237
157
55
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
237
157
55
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cookies gift card motel style downtown charlottetown little touches yogurt pei
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 460 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2021

Two nights with small family in double room. Nicely renovated and equipped. Location in downtown Charlottetown is great. Breakfast is complementary but hobbled by COVID measures. Welcome cookies and happy hour are a very nice touch. Plenty of parking.
Five stars for the service, but 1 star for the beds.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nameleftblank
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan Henwood, Owner at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2021

HI nameleftblank,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Hotel on Pownal and for taking the time to write a review.

We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your bed. We take pride in purchasing the highest quality beds we can receive which we hope to have you back with us to try them again.

Megan H.
General Manager
gm@thehotelonpownal.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2021

I stayed at this beautiful hotel this week and, wow, what a gem. Great location, beautiful rooms, magnificent beer and wine selection and incredible service. Joee and Anastasia were truly delightful and welcoming and went out of their way to ensure our stay and trip was a successful one. Will definitely be back and thank you Joee and Anastasia. You are awesome!

Date of stay: June 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jamesmH7543LG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan Henwood, Owner at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2021

HI jamesmH7543LG,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at The Hotel on Pownal and for providing us with a 5 star review. We appreciate you stay with us out of all the selections in Charlottetown as well as recognizing our Front Desk staff.

We look forward welcoming you back again soon.

Megan H.
General Manager
gm@thehotelonpownal.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2020 via mobile

We spent a night in Charlottetown at the start of our tour of PEI. Check in at The Pownal was efficient and friendly, our room was clean and comfortable with complementary fresh baked cookies left out for us. The hotel is quite central, just a short walk to local pubs, restaurants and sights. The breakfast was a brown bag meal as the dining room wasn’t open due to COVID, but the contents were nice including fresh baked muffins, granola bar, juice and fresh fruit.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank lynnc245
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2020

The rooms were very clean and in great condition. Well stock and the suite is the way to go. Full fridge and all the amenities The getaway package included 4 Gahan beer and a $50 gift certificate you can use at numerous restaurants. The staff are so friendly and helpful. They took care of our every need. Even gave us nice bagged breakfasts because the covid protocols keeps the continental closed. The hotel is right in the center of things and a 5 minute walk to almost anything you would want to do. Quiet at night with off street parking. If you go to Charlottetown stay here

Room tip: Suites are wonderful. First floor
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fiftyone5162
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2020

My SO and I went to the hotel for two nights on their package of a similar name, a "staycation" package for people on PEI. It involved a bagged breakfast, wine/beer each night, and a $50 gift card for DP Murphy restaurants at $160 (with taxes) a night. Not a bad deal!

The hotel is more motel-style- no microwave in the room, for example- but it was roomy enough for the two of us and overall very clean (the only thing I noticed was some yellow spots in the ceiling in the shower, but they were not very noticeable so it was an understandable miss).

Because of covid, there was no housekeeping. However, the front desk staff were very helpful and accommodating and were always kind and polite.

The boxed breakfast had yogurt, cheese, juice, fruit, and a muffin. Basic but with covid considered, a well rounded breakfast that give all the caloric needs for the first meal.

Also, the shower was nice and warm. No surprises- the temperature was not at all off the dial. So rare.

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choycec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews