We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$93
Expedia.comUS$88
Hotels.comUS$88
eDreamsUS$84
Trip.comUS$98
FindHotelUS$88
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (460)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveller rating
237
157
55
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
237
157
55
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cookies gift card motel style downtown charlottetown little touches yogurt pei
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 460 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2021 via mobile

The location of this place - in the heart of Charlottetown - is fantastic. The staff are wonderful - so friendly and helpful. The noise from the room above is unbearable.

If you stay here, be sure to request a room on the top floor - unless of course you enjoy hearing a cacophony of noise above you.

Room tip: Insist on a room on the top floor.
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DoctorProcter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan Henwood, Owner at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2021

Hi DoctorProcter,

Thank you so much for choosing The Hotel on Pownal and for providing us with a review. We are sorry to hear you experienced noise in your room which we hope to rectify this for you in the future. We take pride in recognizing and acknowledging individual's experiences which we hope to have you back with us in the future.

Megan H.
General Manager
gm@thehotelonpownal.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2021

Incredible experience, front desk was very lovely., the room tv was turned on and set to a music channel for when we walked in, so welcoming! Wonderfully clean and air conditioned room. My partner and I are for sure going to stay here again when we come back to PEI!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank K5461NZlauraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan Henwood, Owner at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2021

HI K5461NZlauraf,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at The Hotel on Pownal and for providing us with a 5 star review. We are so happy to read you had a wonderful experience which we hope to have you back with us again in the future.

Megan H.
General Manager
gm@thehotelonpownal.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2021

Two nights with small family in double room. Nicely renovated and equipped. Location in downtown Charlottetown is great. Breakfast is complementary but hobbled by COVID measures. Welcome cookies and happy hour are a very nice touch. Plenty of parking.
Five stars for the service, but 1 star for the beds.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nameleftblank
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan Henwood, Owner at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2021

HI nameleftblank,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Hotel on Pownal and for taking the time to write a review.

We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your bed. We take pride in purchasing the highest quality beds we can receive which we hope to have you back with us to try them again.

Megan H.
General Manager
gm@thehotelonpownal.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2021

I stayed at this beautiful hotel this week and, wow, what a gem. Great location, beautiful rooms, magnificent beer and wine selection and incredible service. Joee and Anastasia were truly delightful and welcoming and went out of their way to ensure our stay and trip was a successful one. Will definitely be back and thank you Joee and Anastasia. You are awesome!

Date of stay: June 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jamesmH7543LG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan Henwood, Owner at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2021

HI jamesmH7543LG,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at The Hotel on Pownal and for providing us with a 5 star review. We appreciate you stay with us out of all the selections in Charlottetown as well as recognizing our Front Desk staff.

We look forward welcoming you back again soon.

Megan H.
General Manager
gm@thehotelonpownal.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2020 via mobile

We spent a night in Charlottetown at the start of our tour of PEI. Check in at The Pownal was efficient and friendly, our room was clean and comfortable with complementary fresh baked cookies left out for us. The hotel is quite central, just a short walk to local pubs, restaurants and sights. The breakfast was a brown bag meal as the dining room wasn’t open due to COVID, but the contents were nice including fresh baked muffins, granola bar, juice and fresh fruit.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank lynnc245
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews