We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
1234eric2019

2 thumbs up

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 29, 2024
The Hotel over all is a great choice. There are no elevators however the staff is more than willing to assist in getting your luggage to your room. Breakfast each morning was a tasty bonus and they accommodate for dietary needs. The room is updated and clean. Bed is comfortable. A nice choice for a home away from home. Great location, walking distance from restaurants bars and shopping. The Basilica was a great place to attend mass. We were able to walk around and tour this beautiful historic site.
All in all it is a come back to hotel
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Megan Bruce, General Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review
Responded May 1, 2024
Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review and kind words. We are so happy to see you had a wonderful stay and appreciate your feedback. We recently upgraded our breakfast including a dietary restriction station so we were happy to see it was utilized.

We hope to see you back with us again soon.

Megan B.
Hotel General Manager
gm@thehotelonpownal.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$378
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$379
  • Vio.com
    C$336
  • Hotels.com
    C$379
0.4 km from The Hotel on Pownal
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel entrance
C$329
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$319
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$278
  • Official Hotel
0.1 km from The Hotel on Pownal
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$359
  • Expedia.com
    C$359
  • Hotels.com
    C$359
  • Vio.com
    C$359
0.5 km from The Hotel on Pownal
Free Wifi
Pool
C$395
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$350
  • Hotels.com
    C$359
  • Priceline
    C$395
0.2 km from The Hotel on Pownal
Free Wifi
Pool
C$179
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from The Hotel on Pownal
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$180
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$180
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$180
  • Vio.com
0.5 km from The Hotel on Pownal
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$377
  • Expedia.com
    C$377
  • Algotels
    C$339
  • Hotels.com
    C$377
4.1 km from The Hotel on Pownal
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$239
Fully refundable
  • Official Hotel
  • Vio.com
    C$213
  • Hotels.com
    C$239
3.8 km from The Hotel on Pownal
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$259
  • Expedia.com
    C$259
  • Algotels
    C$216
  • Hotels.com
    C$259
3.9 km from The Hotel on Pownal
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$210
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$210
  • Priceline
    C$210
  • Tripadvisor
    C$210
3.9 km from The Hotel on Pownal
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Charlottetown
Reviews (538)
Filter reviews
538 results
Traveller rating
280
179
65
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
280
179
65
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator free parking within walking distance gift card continental breakfast fitness room downtown charlottetown tour group first floor would highly recommend this hotel beds were very comfortable very pleasant stay king room coffee maker close to downtown location was perfect lobby
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 538 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2024

Was in PEI to teach a number of seminars, my wife has chemical sensitivities and we have to be very careful.

The hotel maintenance man came to our room and removed the scented soap product in the bathroom ( locked on the wall) and was super helpful.

Our room was clean, breakfast was fantastic and the service was great overall.

Was going to book again for October but the same room we would like (115) was already booked so will check back again.

Location was perfect.

Room tip: Walking to downtown is 3 min, great location
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Megan Bruce, General Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2024

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your inquiry and appreciate your review!

We are so happy to hear you had a wonderful stay and happy Shane in Maintenance was able to help out during your stay!

We can definitely try to get you booked in the same room, I can hopefully juggle some things around internally to help :).

Please feel free to send me an email and I can try working with you on it.

Megan B.
Hotel General Manager
Gm@thehotelonpownal.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2024

The staff is friendly. The rooms are decorated with tast and clean. Very comfortable bed. It is walking distance to everything. They have cookies in the afternoon. Enjoyed the package with a free bottle of wine with a 2 night stay. Good variety with the continental breakfast.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Megan Bruce, General Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2024

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review and providing us with your feedback. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back with us again soon.

Megan B.
Hotel General Manager
Gm@thehotelonpownal.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2024

The hotel is located within walking distance to the water and a lot of great restaurants. Staff is friendly and helpful, they served breakfast earlier to accommodate our team’s schedule. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well maintained, I always had everything I needed for the many trips we made to the island on business.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Megan Bruce, General Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2024

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review which
we appreciate and are so happy to hear you had a wonderful stay! I'm happy to hear the staff were able to accommodate your breakfast timing which is very easy for us to do.

We hope to see you back with us again soon!

Megan B.
Hotel General Manager
Gm@thehotelonpownal.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2024

The hotel was absolutely perfect for me. The staff were great. Breakfast in the morning was quite tasty and I didn't leave the table hungry. Room was exquisite. Comfy bed made my nights sleep restfull.

Update, March 2024
Stayed for my 6th time at The Hotel on Pownal. Once again I was very pleased with my stay. The staff are wonderful. Always pleasant whenever I went through the lobby. Looking forward to my next trip to PEI and my next stay at The Pownal.

Room tip: Breakfast is offered from 7 to 10 a.m. Don't sleep in and miss it!!
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jimmC1116KX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Megan Bruce, General Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2024

Hi there,

Thank you again so much for your review! We are so happy you had a fantastic stay and appreciate you taking the time to write letting us and future guests know of your experience.

We look forward seeing you back with us again soon.

Megan B.
Hotel General Manager
gm@thehotelonpownal.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2024

Good experience. The staff was most helpful and polite when we asked for assistance. Room and beds were very clean and comfortable. And the location is very convenient to downtown - we were able to walk 2-3 blocks or less to shops and restaurants.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Megan Bruce, General Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2024

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy to see you had a wonderful stay.

Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you back again soon.

Megan B.
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews