We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Alice A
Toronto

funky hotel/motel exceeded our expectations

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
This funky hotel/motel exceeded our expectations, particularly at the price point. Very clean, simple but attractive decor, quiet, good temperature control, comfy bedding. Loved the walk along the balcony to the lobby, just felt like we were on safari. Little details like EV chargers, places to sit outside, tended landscaping, flavoured water in the lobby, brought the vibe up. Welcome drink hour was generous and enjoyable. Staff extremely friendly, without exception. If you can do without a room clean, you get a chunky $10 rebate per day on your stay! My only complaint was the spotty wifi, but that's every hotel.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Ask to use the staff wifi channel - much stronger.
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Megan Bruce, General Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review and kind words. We are so happy to hear you had a wonderful stay and was able to partake in our evening reception, complimentary flavored water, etc.

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and hope to see you back with us again soon.

Megan B.
Hotel General Manager
gm@thehotelonpownal.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$281
  • Expedia.com
    C$285
  • Agoda.com
    C$269
  • Hotels.com
    C$274
0.3 km from The Hotel on Pownal
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$183
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Official Hotel
    C$183
3.8 km from The Hotel on Pownal
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$189
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.7 km from The Hotel on Pownal
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$180
  • Expedia.com
    C$187
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$163
  • Hotels.com
    C$185
3.9 km from The Hotel on Pownal
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel entrance
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$212
  • Expedia.com
    C$262
0.1 km from The Hotel on Pownal
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    C$359
  • Agoda.com
    C$336
  • Expedia.com
    C$358
0.8 km from The Hotel on Pownal
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$253
  • Booking.com
0.4 km from The Hotel on Pownal
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$129
  • Priceline
1.0 km from The Hotel on Pownal
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$144
  • Priceline
0.3 km from The Hotel on Pownal
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • HIExpress.com
    C$199
  • Priceline
4.0 km from The Hotel on Pownal
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Charlottetown
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveller rating
275
179
65
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
275
179
65
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator free parking within walking distance gift card continental breakfast fitness room downtown charlottetown tour group first floor would highly recommend this hotel beds were very comfortable very pleasant stay king room coffee maker close to downtown location was perfect lobby
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 533 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2024

It was a great experience. Everything was very clean and comfortable.
The breakfast was great with Gluten and lactose free options
The parking was very convenient.
The location is amazing. Just by the main street with plenty of stores.
There is no elevator but many rooms are accessible at the street level.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priscila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Megan Bruce, General Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as enjoyed breakfast and hopefully was able to partake in our new dietary restriction station.

We hope to see you back with us again soon.

Megan B
Hotel General Manager
Gm@thehotelonpownal.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 5, 2024

We have stayed at the HOP quite a few times. It is so convenient with many places within walking distance. The staff are always so friendly, the rooms are tastefully done, and the beds were super comfy.
The cookies and lemon infused water in the lobby are nice touches. We didn’t eat breakfast this time, but have enjoyed it many other times.
We’ll definitely visit again!

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicster66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Megan Bruce, General Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2024

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review and for providing us with 5 stars! We are so happy to see you had a wonderful stay and hope on your next visit you get to experience our new and improved breakfast lounge :).

We appreciate you taking the time to write and hope to see you back with us again soon.

Megan B.
Hotel General Manager
gm@thehotelonpownal.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2024

This was my first time staying at the Hotel on Pownal and chose it because it was pet friendly, a convenient location and with no pool hoped it would be quiet with less small children.
Unfortunately there was a hockey team of 8-10 year old boys!!! The noise level was brutal! Also breakfast items were mostly gone by 9:00 am with no intention of refilling even though breakfast was until 10:00 am. There was also an issue with the promo I qualified for.
All of that being said…I will book again and give them 1 more shot…why? Because the room and facilities were quite nice and the staff went above and beyond to make me happy when I did mention the issues . That means a lot! Maybe I just hit the wrong weekend. I’d definitely give them a try…

Room tip: Get to breakfast early
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Megan Bruce, General Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2024

Hi there, thank you so much for your review which we are so sorry to hear you had some issues with your stay. I am very happy to hear the staff went above and beyond to make things right during a more trying time. I spoke with my Front Desk Manager regarding breakfast in ensuring attendants are replenishing and in a timely manner.

We absolutely hope we have the pleasure of hosting you again with us in the future.

Megan B.
Hotel General Manager
gm@thehotelonpownal.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2024 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night while in PEI. It had a great location as it was right in the heart of historic Charlottetown. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel staff went out of their way to help us. When my husband made a few complaints about the room, they gave us a $25 gift card for one of their other locations (hotels and restaurants) to make up their shortfalls. My husband enjoyed the fitness center. Parking is free. Continental breakfast was great and included food for those with allergies. My husband would give this hotel a 5, but I'm pickier.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank The_Wanderer1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Megan Bruce, General Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2024

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review and kind words. We are so happy to see you had a wonderful stay and appreciate your feedback. We are sorry to hear a couple issues happened with your room but happy to hear it was rectified by our Front Desk team.

We hope to see you back with us again soon.

Megan B.
Hotel General Manager
gm@thehotelonpownal.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2024

The Hotel over all is a great choice. There are no elevators however the staff is more than willing to assist in getting your luggage to your room. Breakfast each morning was a tasty bonus and they accommodate for dietary needs. The room is updated and clean. Bed is comfortable. A nice choice for a home away from home. Great location, walking distance from restaurants bars and shopping. The Basilica was a great place to attend mass. We were able to walk around and tour this beautiful historic site.
All in all it is a come back to hotel

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1234eric2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Megan Bruce, General Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2024

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review and kind words. We are so happy to see you had a wonderful stay and appreciate your feedback. We recently upgraded our breakfast including a dietary restriction station so we were happy to see it was utilized.

We hope to see you back with us again soon.

Megan B.
Hotel General Manager
gm@thehotelonpownal.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews