We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Honeymoon!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairholm National Historic Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Munising, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Honeymoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We just loved our stay in October 2011 at the Fairholm, we stayed 4 nights in the Brecken (more rustic styled with wooden beams and brick) and we liked it so much we decided to stay an extra night, and they had the Elmslie (Older style lace curtains, floral wall paper ect)open so we stayed another night in that room...the Fairholm is nice and quiet, comfortable, cozy fireplace, large rooms with unique decor. Perfect for our honeymoon! They had a complimentary bottle of champagne waiting for us on our first night! Centrally located in Charlottetown, we could walk every where downtown. Quaint delicious breakfasts each morning (they made flower apples on the plates ect)...lovely breakfast room, however being honeymooners we ate 4 of the breakfasts in our room which Erin brought up to us. They gave us advise on which places to travel to see the best cliffs and sights on the Island. On the one day that was rainy, we were able to borrow movies from their dvd library and watch them in our room... Was worth the price we paid for the rooms, I have traveled extensively in the states, Canada and Europe and never been in such a nice B & B...for sure is a 5 star place. The only bad thing was on a weekend if you get a room facing the street you can hear rowdy loud people on the street...(still stay on the weekend just bring a pair of earplugs)...We would love to come back!

Room Tip: The Breken is very quiet, top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatalieMalinowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper230, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thanks for your detailed review! The Brecken Suite is perfect for honeymooners; it's very private and quiet and you have the whole third floor to yourselves. We're so glad you had a great stay at Fairholm and hope you'll be able to return someday to celebrate an anniversary with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    42
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
46
173
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed at the Inn during the time we were on the island for our daughter's wedding in Aug/2011. Our entire family stayed with us. What a wonderful place! The food was wonderful, hot fresh cookies every afternoon, fresh muffins await you while you place your order for breakfast. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable and immaculate. They are equipped with everything you need down to wine glasses and corkscrew! The staff was so wonderful and welcoming. We had several special requests and all we had to do was ask. The innkeeper Erin was so helpful as were the other staff. They organized a bridal brunch for us for 20 people that was very special. It is located right in the heart of Charlottetown so all our guests could walk to activities in town. You will absolutely love your time at the Fairholm Inn.

Room Tip: they are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper230, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us! I am so glad that you and your family enjoyed your time at Fairholm. Our Inn works really well for extended families looking to stay together and is also a wonderful venue for dinners and parties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

This was my "splurge" on our two week vacation, as we booked 3 nights here, at about $300 a night. It was worth it! Our room was spacious, stylish, comfortable and QUIET. We stayed in the Emslie room, which is sort of tucked away all by itself. We didn't hear any other guests, and felt like we had lots of privacy. The bed linens were a little skimpy in the thread count, but that's really the only thing I would improve.

The bathroom was quite nice, very spacious, and I really appreciated the AC because it was super hot when we arrived. We were able to keep our own beverages in the fridge and breakfasts were filling and delicious! The day we arrived Erin was able to quickly suggest an itinerary to make the most of the beautiful sunny evening, as we were looking at a couple of bad days ahead. We really appreciated her tips, but also enjoyed that there was a bit of distance and we didn't feel the need to chat constantly.

It was easy walking distance to the downtown area, and the parking worked well. I would recommend this place wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingSum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper230, General Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us! We really appreciate your kind comments and are very glad that you had a great visit to PEI. We are planning on purchasing new pillow-top mattresses later this fall and will most likely top those off with some high thread count sheets for an unbelievably comfortable bed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumberton, New Jersey, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We usually don't participate in writing reviews but were shocked to read some of the earlier comments. My wife and I have traveled extensively and have stayed at many B&Bs and five star hotels. I can't account for what may have existed in 2007 or 2008 but in July 2011 we found this to be one of the finest inns we ever stayed in. Erin the innkeeper was personable, helpful and very professional. It quickly became apparent that her job was to make sure our stay at the Fairholm Inn was a positive experience. Our room was large, the bed was very comfortable, the air conditioner worked flawlessly and the bathroom was well lit.

This is not a modern hotel and as described is a B&B converted from an older Victorian that has been impeccably maintained and has all the modern conveniences of the 21st century such as air conditioning, wireless internet access and an excellent location.

Our review and praises would be incomplete if we didn't mention the breakfasts. Each morning we would awake to the aroma of breakfast from the kitchen followed by the the opportunity to indulge in some of the most savory crepes, omelets, pancakes, french we had experienced on our vacation.

Our only regret is this Inn isn't closer to our home because it would make for a lovely weekend getaway. It is definitely on our list of inns we would return to and have since recommended without any hesitation to several of our friends.

W&J New Jersey USA

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wes36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper230, General Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Fairholm. It was a real pleasure to meet you both and I hope you will be able to return to PEI again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
328 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

The Inn was indeed very nice, breakfast was great as was the location. Staff were very friendly.

We had the Brecken Suite on the third floor which although very nice was definitely not 5* material and therefore over priced. I think a 4* rating for this suite would be much more appropiate and around $200/night a fair price rather than $289 in high season.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterDCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper230, General Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Thank you, PeterDCanada, for taking time to write a review of your stay with us. I appreciate your kind comments about our staff and breakfasts but am sorry to hear that your experience was not what you expected from a five-star establishment.

The Brecken Suite features a lovely deep two-person Jacuzzi tub that you were very much looking forward to using. Unfortunately, the water sensor in your tub was not working properly and the jets would not turn on. As we were not able to repair it before you left, we asked what compensation would be fair in exchange for this problem. The sum of money that you quoted was deducted from your bill and the tub was quickly repaired that same day. I hope that as no specific comments were made about your room, that your only issue was with the tub and that you were happy with all other amenities offered at Fairholm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Fairholm National Historic Inn for our honeymoon and just fell in love with it, we even extended our planned 3 night stay to 5 nights! It's a beautiful building with so much charm and elegance. It is a very old building with gorgeous antique furniture in every room, it is so well kept, and all the modern amenities (jacuzzi tub, stand up shower, flat screen tv, AC) are thoughtfully blended in. We stayed in the Haviland Room, which was just perfect. We loved the bay windows and the wooden floors and furniture! The innkeeper Erin and the staff were extremely helpful and kind, going out of their way to make suggestions on restaurants, beaches, and areas to take in the picturesque landscape of P.E.I. Breakfast each morning was absolutely delicious, always offering two choices for hot entrees. Each afternoon, cookies were laid out for the guests to enjoy and they were just divine! The Inn also offers the perfect location for walking around Charlottetown and driving to any point on the island. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, we hated to leave! We're already planning to go back for our First Anniversary.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SANisbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper230, General Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. It was an absolute pleasure to meet you both and we wish you all the best. Hope to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

I recently booked a room at the Fairholm for one night as a surprise for my boyfriend before he went away on a lengthy trip and we weren't going to be seeing each other for awhile. This Inn is quite expensive ( although theres no denying it is also Very high quality! you get what you pay for) I chose one of the two least expensive rooms. When I arrived the Innkeeper welcomed me and showed me to my room. It was very lovely. Very clean , very well appointed, beautiful period pieces with modern conveniences. I mentioned that I once knew the owners of the home before it was turned into an Inn. She then welcomed me to take a look around the Inn and see all the rooms and areas. I checked out most of the rooms. Each one was unique and beautiful and filled with comfortable and beautiful furnishings. As the Inn was empty other then myself she then offered me a free upgrade to any room I liked. The entire attic comprised one large suite. It happened to have the same name as my son so I was drawn to this room! One end had a siting area with a comfortable modern couch and leather ottoman with a flatscreen t.v. The other end had a small sitting area by the (working) fireplace ( which turns on with a switch) and a king size bed with very comfortable bedding and pillows, tucked into a nice space and lit by dimming chandeliers and lamps. There was a small television set in the bed area as well. In the middle of the space there was a desk and telephone and across from it a beautiful large free standing mirror and then the washroom. Large soaker tub with jets - with plenty of room for two , a separate stand up glass enclosed shower with a rain forest shower-head and heated floors. (heated floors make SUCH a difference)
The whole space had angled(attic) ceilings and exposed wood beams and while theres not a lot of natural light here are two windows. It's an extremely comfy and romantic space and while we'd planned on going out that evening we decided instead to stay in and enjoy this room.
I loved the personal service we received as well - the Innkeeper greeted me , chatted politely , showed me around and then also showed me to my room , showed me where the light switches were , how to work the fireplace e.t.c. She asked what time we'd like to have breakfast at and showed me to the sun-room where they kept a selection of movies , reading material, ice and beverages for purchase (at a reasonable rather than exorbitant price) In the morning there were juices and coffee and tea available when we came to the dining room a long with banana bread and some fruit. She then came and told us of the two options we had for breakfast and made it exactly to our liking. She was extremely pleasant and professional but never cold.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper230, General Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review, 13 April 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words! It is always great to meet someone with a connection to Fairholms' history as a family home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.5 km away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.7 km away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.3 km away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
#4 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.1 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#12 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.8 km away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairholm National Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairholm National Historic Inn

Property: Fairholm National Historic Inn
Address: 230 Prince Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A4S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 Star Inn and National Historic Site, Fairholm is a 1838 Mansion restored to its original splendor. Spacious and unique rooms with superb architectural detail all feature private baths, fireplaces, original antiques and hardwood floors. A short walk away from the waterfont, theatre and downtown shops and restaurants. Free wi-fi and parking. Delicious full hot breakfast for two is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Fairholm National Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairholm National Historic Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing