We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Rooms and Huge Breakfasts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cranford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cranford Inn
Ranked #3 of 43 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful Rooms and Huge Breakfasts!”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

What a lovely place from which to explore Prince Edward Island. We stayed three days here at the beginning of August 2011 with a 2nd floor room with a balcony that overlooked the beautiful gardens. I happened to mention it was my Birthday and when we checked in there was champagne and fruit to enjoy. Vicki and Martha made us feel quite special and will help you plan your day. But be sure to pace yourself at breakfast (they are huge).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SojournerToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
221
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

A five star rating for the Cranford Inn. Vicki and Martha welcome guests with wonderful smiles that make instant friends. The accommodations include elegant private rooms where not even the smallest detail is overlooked. Comfortable beds, luxurious bedding, big fluffy towels in impeccable surroundings. The food is outstanding. Hot from the oven muffins and breads, accompanying home made quiches, french toast, eggs, ham, sausage or bacon depending on the day, and beautiful fruit parfaits with hot coffee or tea and juice round out the morning menu. Just a walk from Confederation Centre, or downtown shopping, or a quick drive to all points of business in the Charlottetown area, the Cranford is a gem. I stay when travelling for business and it is a little piece of fabulous on every trip.

Room Tip: Visit the Cranford Inn on line and get a first hand look at every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Spent a very quiet 4 days and 3 nights in the Sandstone Room. Vicki and Martha were very accommodating for our food allergy and preferences, creating excellent (and different) breakfasts each day. We parked our car for the entire stay, and within a two-minute walk each day, we were able to tour downtown/historic Charlottetown. The atmosphere of the B&B was quiet, elegant, and relaxing. Thank you so much! I plan to stay here again on my next trip to PEI and will recommend the Cranford Inn to anyone travelling to the island.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SNOWFLAKESPORTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone who loves a hearty breakfast, appreciates elegant contemporary decor and would like to be in walking distance to downtown Charlottetown. Our hosts Vicki and Martha were very welcoming, helpful and professional. We stayed in the beautiful Amethyst room we loved having a fireplace.The 3 course breakfast was the best I've ever had! Even with my voracious appetite I was splitting at the seams! We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario's Near North, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Fantastic hosts (Vicki and Martha). Fantastic breakfasts. Fantastic room. Fantastic location. The Cranford Inn is easily the best Bed and Breakfast at which I've ever stayed. I don't think I'd want to stay anywhere else in Charlottetown.

Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinFromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This is a very good B&B. The location is great and free parking is useful.

Even though I took a cheaper room, the "Onyx", I found it spotless, spacious, well appointed and extremely comfortable. The bed is especially nice. The en-suite bathroom is also very pleasant and 100% clean.

The hosts are helpful, discrete and professional. Breakfast was fresh, high-quality and impeccably served. There is also an attractive lounge, which I didn't have occasion to use, and a nice-looking yard which was probably not a sensible option in November!

Overall, I would recommend this B&B for anybody looking for polished, comfortable and professional accommodations in downtown Charlottetown.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjygriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waretown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

martha and vicki the owners were excellent hosts, the cranford inn was just immaculate. we stayed two nights due to inclement weather. the first night we stayed in the sapphire room, with a beautiful fireplace and deck. the second night we stayed in the amethyst room, just a little smaller. the inn was in a ideal location where you could walk to most of downtown.
karl and bea

Room Tip: ask for the sapphire room when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karl r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.8 km away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
693 reviews
0.4 km away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
381 reviews
0.6 km away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
271 reviews
0.9 km away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
300 reviews
0.9 km away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Prince Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cranford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cranford Inn

Property: The Cranford Inn
Address: 177 Fitzroy St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1S3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the 2013and 2014 TripAdvisor Traveler's Choice Award. Inducted into the Trip Advisor Hall of Fame, for those who have had 5 years of the Certificate of Excellence in a row. Guests have reviewed us as the Number 9 Bed and Breakfast in Canada. "Contemporary elegance-perfect for business or pleasure." The Cranford Inn is an elegant accommodation, owner operated, located centrally in historic Charlottetown. The property is designed to provide the comfort of a first class hotel while maintaining the charm and personal touches you look for in a great Bed and Breakfast. The Cranford Inn is an excellent choice whether you are here for business or pleasure. Location is key and the Cranford Inn is walking distance to great restaurants, theatre, historic and cultural experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cranford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cranford Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing