We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
My husband found it interesting.

We walked here from the cruise ship and it was a very nice walk. There were plaques explaining... read more

Reviewed October 20, 2018
KarenEph320
,
Pismo Beach, California
Well preserved small fort in midst of major park

At the end of the boardwalk, across the street from playing fields, stands the orginal earthen... read more

Reviewed September 25, 2018
fmmbhm46
,
Birmingham, Alabama
Read all 41 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Charlottetown
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
13
18
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
18
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews victoria park government house cannon plaques era boardwalk fort harbour military history century information
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 41 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2017 via mobile

On the spit in front of Government House this makes an interesting stop if you are walking along the waterfront trail. Good info panels explaining the history. Kids can climb on the cannons so they would like playing here.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank Lesterbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2017 via mobile

Great walking trail around Victoria park and in the small forest in the Park. The batterie has a nice view of the harbour and part of Charlottetown.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Gilles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2017

I love history and when I got to the Battery and saw the cannons, I was surprised by how real they looked. I imagined what it might have been like back then and how far the cannon balls would shoot off shore. How many sunken ships are out there? I asked a couple on lookers but they didn't know. I learned a lot from reading the signs although they didn't mention anything about Samuel Brookes.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank maximumgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2017

This is the most interesting part of Victoria Park, and makes for the obvious stopping off point for the casual visitor to the park. The views from here are good, but if driving it might be harder to find a spot on busy days.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank FirstCircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2016

Currently located on a hill overlooking the sea in an apple orchard within Victoria Park this cannon battery once defended the harbour of Charlottetown. A number of posted signs provide a unique history of the local defenders of P.E.I and the involvement of the battery and its service men through our country's history.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank 179wesleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews