We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch on the Shortest Day of the Y”
Review of The Gahan House

The Gahan House
Ranked #8 of 260 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Gahan House Pub opened in June 2001 and quickly became one of Charlottetown's favourite restaurants. Its unique and friendly atmosphere, food, and fine Ales have helped to establish it as a destination of choice for locals and tourists alike. From our house to your house... Cheers! Hours Monday/Tuesday 11am - 11pm (kitchen close) 12am (bar close) Wednesday/Thursday 11am - 12am (kitchen close) 1am (bar close) Friday/Saturday 11am - 12am (kitchen close) 2am (bar close) Sunday 11am - 10pm (kitchen close) 11om (bar close)
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped in for a late lunch and happened upon the release date for The Shortest Day, a limited-edition milk stout. This wonderful restaurant has a warm and welcoming atmosphere that felt cozy on a cold wet day. The service was excellent and the seafood chowder was out of this world! They offer vegetarian options as well as amazing fresh seafood. They brew their own beer downstairs in the warm cellar and they do a pretty darn good job.
Highly recommended.

Thank DaisyinDayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GahanPub, Guest Services at The Gahan House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi DaisyinDayton,
We're so happy to you enjoyed the atmosphere here at Gahan along with the food and beer! Thank you for visiting and for sharing your review - we always appreciate hearing from our guests.
Thanks again,
Alyssa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 1,497 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

One of my favourite restaurants on PEI! Local and fresh food, great staff, and a unique atmosphere! Very professional and affordable. Definitely try the nachos or donair fries if you can!

Thank sierrabelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GahanPub, Guest Services at The Gahan House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi sierrabelong,
We're honoured to be one of your favourites! Thank you for visiting and for sharing your review, we can't wait to see you again!
Alyssa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

A quaint and nice place to eat. The food is fresh and beautifully prepared. The oysters are simply worthy of the visit. A real taste of Island hospitality. One cannot be disappointed with a meal in this restaurant.

Thank ericdQ8828ZO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GahanPub, Guest Services at The Gahan House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi ericdQ8828ZO,
"A real taste of Island Hospitality" - that is exactly what we're going for! Thank you for sharing your review, we always love hearing from our guests. We hope we'll see you again the next time you're in town.
Alyssa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Definitely recommend hitting up The Gahan House for some great music, great drinks and good food! We had the mussels (DELICIOUS), the potato fish cakes (even MORE delicious) and the poutine (amazing, too!). We kept thinking about the potato fish cakes throughout our trip, so of course, we had to go back for more. Also purchased a growler of The Gahan Red Ale, too, because we absolutely loved it. We miss you Gahan House! <3

Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GahanPub, Guest Services at The Gahan House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Jessica B,
We miss you too! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed the Gahan experience and we can't wait till you can visit us again. Thank you for sharing your review, we appreciate it!
Alyssa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

We went here because they playing my favourite music, country and folk songs. Great ambient for dining and just chill. Food is acceptable with affordable price.

Thank ant7007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GahanPub, Guest Services at The Gahan House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi ant7007,
Thanks for sharing your review, we're happy to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere here at Gahan!
Looking forward to seeing you again,
Alyssa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gahan House also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to The Gahan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing