We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fish and Chips is what they do.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skip's Fish N Chips

Skip's Fish N Chips
Ranked #3 of 74 Restaurants in Summerside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$17
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Things you need to know before you get here,,, - Don't wait for a maitre D in a 3 pc suit to seat you. Seat yourself - Don't ask for ice. Drinks are served in very cold cans and bottles with a wrapped straw. Why? Cans and bottles are recycled across the street while dirty glasses require the use of fossil fuels to heat dishwasher. Don't ask for a glass of ice water with a lemon either. Cold bottled water is $1.00 - There are no germ infested re used menus at the table. The menu is on the wall. - If the waiter seems to be ignoring you its because he didn't notice you as a new customer. Don't sit there and stew about it. Let him know you would like to order.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips is what they do.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

If you want a beer to complement the superior fish and chips you have to do takeaway. The restaurant is small and dinner like but the locals fill the place. The batter is perfect and adheres to the fish and the potatoes are perfectly cooked.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    67
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing special, could improve on customer service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

Very small restuarant, First time going the waiter asked what we wanted..We did not receive a Menu. We both ordered the fish n chip .The fish was tasteless< our water was warm" After our meal we were asked if we wanted dessert. Caramel, Strawberry or Chocolate Sundae. Sure! Well.. they were out of Chocolate and Caramel so our option was Strawberry, The sundae was nothing special it was Nesquik strawberry syrup. definetly not a Strawberry Sundae. After our meal we went to pay, The waitor saw us, not acknowledging that we were there he served the person behind us. then goes out back to retreive his drink, while still waiting to pay.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peiskipper, Owner at Skip's Fish N Chips, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Dont know how the water could be warm as the glass is filled with ice...We do not use Nesquick for syrup... Our menu is written on a large whiteboard. No menus at the tables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter River, PEI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We had the 1-piece fish special and chicken fingers. You cannot be in a big hurry, because everything is prepared fresh. The fish was light and crispy and the fries to die for. Not a drop left on our plates. Local color and atmoshpere. A very good meal and the value was outstanding. One of our new best favourites!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SherryCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
414 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“This place lives up to all the accolades”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stopped by after touring Cape North on the way back to Charlottetown. All the praise and high marks are true!

The taste of the fish is outstanding. The batter was the best we had ever had throughout the provinces. The portion of the fresh haddock was overwhelming. (See all the photos from the others.) And the chips were clearly the best. Whether it was from the canola oil they use or the fresh Prince Edward potatoes, who can say? They were fabulous.

And this price? Ridiculously cheap!

If you are on PEI, then I think you have to try Skips at least once. I know I'd come back here in a heartbeat.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ECL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Most excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

A little hole-in-the-wall place, but definitely worth stopping by for lunch. Huge portions, reasonable price, and deliciously crispy fish and chips

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Manimal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skip's Fish N Chips also viewed

Summerside, Prince Edward Island
Summerside, Prince Edward Island
 
Summerside, Prince Edward Island
Summerside, Prince Edward Island
 
Summerside, Prince Edward Island
Rustico, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Skip's Fish N Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing