We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a large group - think after-work Christmas party”
Review of Messina

Messina
Ranked #58 of 418 Restaurants in Longueuil
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed November 6, 2016

Last week I attended a friend's retirement party at this restaurant. The upstairs hall was a great spot and easily accommodated 70+ who attended. I was greeted by a server who gave me a numbered card that I used to order a drink and later supper. The card number is linked to your name and enables them to keep track of who ordered what when serving and billing. Great idea! They offered a menu with 5 choices for $25. I had the veal plate which was alright and might have been better had it been hot. The problem wasn't with the restaurant but the timing of speeches in the midst of the serving of the food (people waited for the speaker to finish before commencing to eat).

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MichaelL9432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 155 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2016

We were lucky the restaurant was relaxed as we were a bunch of girls who got together and have not seen each other from a long time.
The decor especially their chairs very comfy. Unfortunately, it was a little too cool to sit on their patio. There was a table de hote and a varied menu for all tastes. A few of us opted for their homemade cannelloni stuffed with beef that was braised for 12 hours. Delish!
Service was ok.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 5000traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

Absolutely wonderful. Food is exquisite. From the goat cheese appetizer to the amuse-gueule to the linguine carbonara and the salmon. Service is impeccable. Mario was so nice, very welcoming and helpful. A gem in old Longueuil! Can't wait to come back!

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank Mishka01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2016

Very helpful and friendly staff. Menus is varied. Outdoor dining on main street. Great for people watching.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank carlka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2016

Just got back from Longueuil having spent last evening at a birth day party at the Messina Restaurant on St. Charles St W. The restaurant is located in the old part of Longueuil so parking is an issue which the restaurant solves through Valet parking at no particular cost except tips. The restaurant is spacious with various levels both inside and outside. The staff is courteous and friendly and always willing to help. Most of them are in their early twenties and are well turned out. We arrived late at about 1940 hrs for Dinner with most of our large party already present. That caused no issue and we were promptly seated in very comfortable leather overstuffed chairs. The drink request followed and so did the request for our fare choices. As our crowd was quite large (50) there was a set menu of about six items all of which proved to be very nice. My choice was a veal cutlet with pasta. The cutlet was prepared without excess bread crumbs and was very tasty. My wife had a sea food dish which also was very tasty. My wife and I rarely order the same dish when going out to Dinner but taste each other's dishes during the meal. Service, given the size of the party, was reasonable with the meals all being served at the same time for all. this was followed by desert of a very nice birthday cake and coffee. This restaurant is not a bring your own wine venue but does offer a cash bar at reasonable prices. Dinner was finally over at about 2200 hrs and was followed by the clearing of the floor for some dancing courtesy of our brought along DJ. At no time did we feel rushed and the staff made us feel welcome throughout even though a good portion of our group were children. This was a great experience and we feel strongly that we will go back another time. A job well done.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MichaelHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Messina also viewed

 
Longueuil, Quebec
 

Been to Messina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing