We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B Heaven”
Review of Studio Living B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Studio Living B&B
Ranked #6 of 146 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“B&B Heaven”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

My girlfriend and I gave Studio Living a try after trying to find a decent hotel near Viex Montreal. That was after reading all the reviews here and seeing the pictures on his Facebook page.

It's not a joke, this is really an amazing place to lay your head. To top it all, Michel is the best host we have ever had - and we regularly travel the world. Everything is thoughtfully laid out and organized for you and he puts so much love into his daily croissants that it felt like a home away from home (even if we didn't really want to go home). The studio is clean and extremely well-equipped and comfortable. It felt like a place that truly exhibits the amount of effort Michel put in.

It is also in an excellent location. Walking distance to Beaudry subway station and a pleasant walk to Rue St. Catherine, etc. A gem hidden in a quiet neighborhood but somehow so close to all the things to do in Montreal.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
studioliving, Owner at Studio Living B&B, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Bonjour Michael,

Nice comments, thanks!

I did put a lot of effort in ther Studio living and it's a pleasure to read that you enjoy the place so much! You are more the welcome to come back to the Studio living and also, to enjoy all the good food the city has to offer...

Hope to you guys soon... You were so sweet, both of you!...

Michel Lapointe
Studio living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
124
20
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We were planning a trip to Montreal and happened to come across Studio Living B&B on the internet, which seemed to be a great price and location. We did a quick check on TripAdvisor, where everyone seemed to be very pleased with it, so we decided to book. Michel was extremely easy to reach and even waited patiently for us at the door to give us our keys after a much delayed taxi ride from the airport.

We booked Suite 25 and were extremely happy with our choice. The décor in the suite was very “us”. The bedroom had a very comfortable queen bed (although Michel plans on getting new mattresses) and two leather chairs. The kitchen was spacious and had a great stainless steel island, which was stocked daily with cereal and fresh croissants. Michel had even put juice, milk and yogurt in the fridge for us. The bathroom was spotless and towels were changed daily. All in all, we had all the comforts of home.

Outside the suite we were delighted to find a very private garden with a terrace that was accessible through a patio door in the kitchen. It was great for sitting out for breakfast or for a glass of wine later in the day.

The suite had its own entrance from Montcalm Street, which, in spite of being two blocks from Ste-Catherine Street, is a quiet, one-way street. I don’t think there was any noise at night (although we always wear ear plugs while sleeping when we travel). It was an easy 3-4 minute walk to Ste-Catherine Street and the bars and restaurants of the gay village.

Michel was extremely helpful with maps and suggestions for restaurants or places to visit. He was always available to answer any questions, as he was living in one of the four suites in the building.

We will definitely return to Studio Living B&B on our next trip to Montreal and will highly recommend it to any of our friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobDave62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
studioliving, Owner at Studio Living B&B, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Hey guys!

Thanks for taking the time to write a review!

You were some very nice guests and really enjoy our little talks in the garden. Hopefully, next time I see you, I'll be in a better shape and be able to enjoy some good wine in good compagny...

Have a great fall!

Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband and I decided to stay at Studio Living after reading the favorable reviews about it on Trip Advisor. We weren't disappointed! Our studio was clean, well decorated, and private. Michel, the proprietor, was friendly and helpful, but also gave us our privacy. Cereal, croissants, yogurt, and juice were available in the studio kitchen for breakfast. The location was also incredibly convenient, located only a few blocks from Rue St. Catherine and with Metro stops nearby. Michel was very kind - my husband left his wedding band in the studio after we had departed and Michel mailed him the ring promptly without asking anything from us. I highly recommend staying at Studio Living!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
studioliving, Owner at Studio Living B&B, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Bonjour Oni,

Thank you for theses kind words...

You were such a good guests! I'm really gald you enjoy the place and the city... And most of all, really gald your husband got his ring back...

Michel xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Studio living is a cosy, spacefull, clean and very well decorated with a big bedroom and separated a well equipped kitchen leading to a balcony facing the garden (ideal for breakfast on a sunny day).
Is at a walking distance from the city centre (10min. to Marche Bonsecours and NotreDamme de Bonsecours) but away from the noisy and stressfull city and at a through of a stone of Beaudry and Berri-UQAM underground stations.
Michel is a great host. When we got there he gave us un update of the activities going on in the city during our stay. As a couple he never disrupted our privacy, was always very pleasent and helpful and moreover, he made us feel like at home.
Promise to come back on our next visit to Montreal.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ikazaceta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

These are really private studio apartments rather than the typical B&B, and that's why we LOVED it. We went to Montreal for the long weekend with my spouse and another couple.
There is a separate entrace to each studio, but there was also a shared backyard/garden where we got together every morning for breakfast. Just perfect.
Location-wise, the studios are near Beaudry station, but we still found that we were at a walking distance to pretty much everything.
Michel, our host, was great. He gave us lots of suggestions and reccommendations as to what was going on in the city that particular weekend, etc.
The accomodation was comfortable, spacious, super clean, and everything you might think you need, it was already there. I would definitely go back and I reccommend it to anyone who will ve visiting Montreal.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank independentw0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Perfect place. Perfect location. Great host and staff. Studio was tastefully decorated, immaculately clean, and extremely comfortable. Studio Living B&B is conveniently located in a quiet neighborhood near shops and restaurants. Great experience. I would definitely go back. Merci Michel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TripperWDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2011

This was our first time staying at a Bed and Breakfast and thanks to Michel's amazing hospitality, this will for sure not be our last. Not only were we greeted after a long drive with a warm welcome and big smile, we were given an in depth description of where good sites were, what was going on in Montreal at the moment accompanied by a map, which we used religiously to get us from point A-Point B. We literally parked our car in the free parking zones for the duration of our stay and walked and took the subway throughout the city. The location is so close to everything, we couldn't have done any better! The fridge was stocked with fresh fruit, yogurt and juice and the cereal containers were always full and who can't forget the croissant jar that always held fresh croissants. Needless to say, it was by far one of the best trips I have had in a while, and we cannot wait to take the trip back to Montreal and cozy up in The Studio again. THANKS MICHEL!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJCB004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#45 of 165 in Montreal
539 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,342 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Chateau de l'Argoat
Chateau de l'Argoat
#34 of 165 in Montreal
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,341 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Bed & Breakfast du Village - BBV
Quartier des Spectacles
Victorian Heritage
Victorian Heritage
#4 of 146 in Montreal
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio Living B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio Living B&B

Property: Studio Living B&B
Address: 1831, Montcalm, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3H6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quite design studios in the heart of the city with acces to a lovely garden. And you are minutes away from the subway and walking distance to most of the attractions Montréal has to offer... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Studio Living B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing