We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little hotel”
Review of Le Petit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Petit Hotel
Ranked #4 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
London UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great little hotel”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

small but smart modern hotel.
Staff made this a really enjoyable place to stay.
Helpful friendly full of useful advice.
We had to be moved from our first room - noisy and dark - but there was no problem in moving
One complaint is that constant noise from A/C
Great location for all things old Montreal

Room Tip: Room on higher level and overlooking street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esse10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petit-Hotel-Mtl, General Manager at Le Petit Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Esse10,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor community. Smart but small and modern, along with our team’s knack to provide tips, are attributes to describe Le Petit Hotel. Do not hesitate to contact me directly regarding the noise from the air conditioning so we can look into having the issue resolved, if it was not already. We look forward to welcoming you again should your travels bring you back to our beautiful city.

Best regards,

Joëlle Beaulieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    213
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
125
691
45
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Great location. Modern sleek and smart. Just like being in Paris, but downtown old Montreal. Room was fine although I had to turn up the heat as it was very cold. But then it was -15c outside. Room was clean and bed comfy. Breakfast was ok and I would defiantly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepysp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I hesitate to do this because I consider this hotel the my best kept secret, but they deserve to be acknowledged for their friendly and helpful staff, their great coffee bar, their fresh continental breakfasts (included), their tastefully appointed rooms and their comfortable beds - the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. After two stays there, it is unlikely I will stay anywhere else. Keep up the great work and please don't get so popular that I can't get a reservation!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Red_Apron_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petit-Hotel-Mtl, General Manager at Le Petit Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Dear Red_Apron_Ottawa,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your best kept secret with the Trip Advisor community. We truly appreciate your great comment. Our comfortable beds will be waiting for you on your next visit! We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Warm regards,

Joëlle Beaulieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Had a wonderful stay. The rooms are incredibly clean and functional and the staff is so friendly. Definitely a great place to stay in old Montreal

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WldTrvlrmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Beautiful boutique hotel in the heart of Old Montreal. The room was spacious and tastefully decorated combining the charm of the old architecture with a very modern touch. Location is superb, however if you have a street view room, it can be very noisy at night as one of the most popular bar/club in Montreal is just across the street. The breakfast was included and was delicious. Overall the staff was very attentive and hotel was a hit. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petit-Hotel-Mtl, General Manager at Le Petit Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Dear oceanbeat,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at Le Petit Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and intend to come back. We have been working with the bar down the street to minimize the noise. They are now letting people in through a different door which really made a difference.

We look forward to welcome again in the near future. Do not hesitate to contact me directly for future reservations. We can look into pre assigning a room at the back of the hotel to avoid background noise from Saint-Paul Street.

Kind regards,

Joëlle Beaulieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Le Petit Hotel is perfection in Vieux Montreal. It's the baby sister of the Nelligan down the street, and its intimacy and close personal attention make it the better choice. We visited Montreal at least twice a year when our son was in university there, and this time we decided to stay a bit further from campus in Old Montreal. What a treat to be on the cobblestoned streets, near the port, and in the midst of hip boutique shops and restaurants. The king-sized bed was lush, the rain shower was first-rate, and the chocolate croissants and lattes at breakfast were divine. Hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful or relaxed, which added another level of comfort to this lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Devo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petit-Hotel-Mtl, General Manager at Le Petit Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Dear Devo18,

Thank you for taking the time to post this great review. Our team sincerely appreciates the kind words, since comfort and close personal attentions are what we strive for. We are glad you had the opportunity to enjoy a different perspective on Montreal during this trip. We look forward to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

Joëlle Beaulieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed for 3 nights. Very nice little hotel in old montreal. The staff was very good to us and they make a good latte early in the am. The room was quiet and clean. Just out the door you will find multiple restaurants in all price range.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchyC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,347 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,135 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#3 of 165 in Montreal
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,343 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,706 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Property: Le Petit Hotel
Address: 168 rue St-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Saint-Paul street, this 28 room boutique hotel is the perfect blend of elegance and modernity. Colourful furnishings accent each cozy room while original stonework and clever layouts make for a Wonderland-esque setting. Our concierge moonlights as a barista and our front desk fills in for a trendy little cafe. Located right in our lobby, Le Petit Cafe brews artisan joe and offers delicious baked goods all day long. Room service is also available and comes courtesy of Mechant Boeuf. Le Petit Hotel's convenient location and intimate setting make it an ideal hub for the busy weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing