We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Ranked #9 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Stayed for one night on the weekend a couple of weeks ago, definitely would recommend this to anyone going. This time i was with friends, but it is very convenient for couples and families as well. The best part is the location, you can just walk out to cobblestone streets of Old Montreal and visit the small shops, restaurants, patisseries! Also, the main area of Old Port which had a festival when we were visiting.

The staff was extremely friendly and courteous, the rooms were clean and spacious, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spark_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,329 - 1,335 of 1,772 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

My wife and I recently spent a weekend in Montreal at this great hotel. Location was perfect for walking to almost anywhere in Old Montreal (shopping, restaurants, historical sites). The rooms were lovely and in keeping with the local flavour. The staff were wonderful, both helpful and accomodating.

Only one problem. We didn't want to leave!

This hotel was everything we were looking for and more. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have views of the river. They also have loft rooms which we'd like to try ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The hotel is perfectly situated in Old Montreal and along the waterfront, a truly outstanding location. Plus the hotel's public. There is a nice balance of elegance and warm charm to the hotel -- overall the hotel's public areas and room are classy.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The hotel is wonderfully restored and has a lot of charm. The front desk/concierge was TREMONDOUSLY helpful getting us into two wonderful restaurants. The hotel restaurant was only used for breakfasts but it was very pleasant and good food.

The location is superb for walking the riverside as well as shopping and restaurants. I'm not sure there is a side of the hotel to recommend for quietness from the street noise - we're picky about that and it wasn't too bad. Highly recommend this hotel for a tourist visit to Montreal!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 77,027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I stayed in one of the lofts beginning of Jan 2012 and my experience was more than great. Very exclusive, but yet cosy feeling starting with the check-in to having my suitcase brought to the car to the airport.
People are extremely nice, especially Trifon who made our stay unforgettable.

Definite recommendation for people with a sense on style that are tired of the standard hotel room and look for real old town experience.

Room Tip: Every loft is different. My had a nice fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinMihaylov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed here for two nights in October. I did a lot of looking online, and Tripadvisor reviews were the reason I chose this hotel. I liked what I saw online and I LOVED it in person! We love old buildings, and the exposed stone wall and beams in our room were gorgeous. We had a view facing the port. Great bathroom with side sprays and rain showerhead. Our room didn't have a tub, but the shower was all we needed.
The staff were pleasant, and answered any questions we had. Breakfast was good. They have a buffet for juice and pastries and then you can order hot food from a menu. One nice touch was the newspapers available to read during breakfast.
The location was important to our choice. We could wander around the old port area, and then it was a short cab ride to the pier for our cruise.
I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the port, and is high up so that you can see over the trees along the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy49NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Stayed over a long weekend and had a really nice time. The rooms in the new wing were beautiful, and we got to peek into the wing that wasn't redone last year and (though they were less modern in design) were gorgeous, too. They've done a great job of incorporating the old stonework into the new--we loved the decor (especially in comparison to some of the other hotels in the area). The service was great, really helpful and always very friendly. We had a minor issue and Michael and the rest of the team took really good care of us. The restaurant/bar on the side of the hotel was always busy (in a good way) and had a really good vibe. Overall, just a really nice boutique hotel that gave off a feeling of being in a small inn, but in the middle of everything and with everything you could ask for. And internet was free!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,240 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,475 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,062 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,390 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux-Port

Address: 97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Montreal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#18 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $179 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Vieux-Port 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A symbol of Old Montreal's rich history, Auberge du Vieux-Port is the area's only hotel settled along the Saint Lawrence River. The two structures that house its 45 rooms are over a century and a half old and once operated as warehouses, back when the waterway still forged city's life vein. With a classic, skillfully crafted make up, the idyllic inn's decor and architecture breathe an air of authenticity. Embrace time-honoured scenery, complemented by our team's warm, personable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge du Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux-Port Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing