We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,900)
Filter reviews
1,900 results
Traveller rating
1,364
395
85
33
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,364
395
85
33
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river view old port taverne gaspar exposed beams vieux port rooftop bar the main hotel lawrence river charming hotel crepes paul street fifth floor breakfast was included attached restaurant the entire staff great shower large windows
Filter
Updating list...
1,406 - 1,411 of 1,900 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2012

From the moment I walked in the door I knew that I’d picked a great place to stay. I had an early flight so I arrived at the hotel well before check-in at 3:00. I was greeted by Mylene who told me that she suggested not changing rooms (in order to check in early) as she had given me the top floor, facing the water, in the old part of the building. Exactly what I had requested!. As most hotels do, they stored my bags so that I could go explore the city.

Once able to check in to Room 503, I opened the door and just said 'WOW'. The rustic, old world charm and beauty of the room was gorgeous. Hardwood floors, exposed brick walls, beautiful (and comfortable) bed and an inviting table in the corner in front of the open window. There was also a desk to work at and an armoire that held the flat screen TV, and mini bar.

The bathroom was equally charming and included a jetted glass shower that was absolutely marvelous! There was plenty of room to move around, more than enough towels and an array of shampoo, conditioner, lotion and soaps. There was plenty of water pressure, a welcome relief in today’s hotels of low pressure plumbing!

They offer the usual Continental Breakfast as well as your choice of an item off the breakfast menu at no charge. Fantastic! At the restaurant I had the best Fisn n’ Chips I have ever had – and I have had it in several states and cities. As it was quite windy the nite I had dinner there I moved inside, otherwise, there are several tables outside to dine at.

There is a rooftop terrace that serves drinks and hors d’oeuvres. It is open to the public as well and can get rather crowded. It offers great views of the city and the river.

As it is an old building, not a lot of extra outlets are available. I had to unplug a lamp in order to plug in my laptop while sitting by the window. This was in no way a complaint, however when I mentioned it to the front desk while chatting with Trifon and German, they immediately offered a power strip. Though I said it wasn’t necessary, within minutes of getting to my room there was a knock on the door and Fred was standing there with said power strip.

This is exactly the type of attention to detail, and guest comfort that the Auberge has to offer. Everyone that works there could not be any nicer or more accommodating. Greeting you with a smile and ‘Bonjour’ each and every time they see you and asking how your stay is and if there is anything they can do for you.

The Three Freds – the bellmen. I referred to them as Tall Fred, Middle Fred and Short Fred – in the nicest way of course! Yes, they are all named Fred as are 2 of the front desk girls named Marie! Michael one of the Concierge, is also fantastic. I had quite a bit of fun with Middle Fred and Michael, long chats with Middle Fred and several with Short and Tall Fred as well. Everyone is rather formal at first, but travelling alone, and talking to them quite a bit, they did loosen up a bit, yet remaining respectful just the same. They are all very willing to help in any way possible and make suggestions of places to go and things to see.

I can’t imagine staying anywhere else if I get to visit Old Montreal again – and I hope I do. I cannot say enough good things about the staff and the property. There simply is nothing at all negative, nothing to complain about and just a fabulous spot and fabulous people! Thank you everyone for making my first trip absolutely delightful and the best vacation ever.

Room Tip: Go for the 5th floor, facing the river and in the older section
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BostonRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeDuVieuxPort, General Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

We are very glad to hear that you had an excellent stay with us.
I will personally make sure that your kind words of your satisfaction towards the service received, will be passed to the rest of the staff as I am sure they will greatly appreciate it.
It is our goal to make sure that you have an excellent and memorable stay .

We look forward to welcome you again at the Auberge du Vieux Port.

Sincerely
Eric Therrien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 1, 2012

My husband and I spent a night in this beautiful hotel.The location is just perfect and convenient to any attraction in old Montreal, such as Notre-Dame Basilica, and of course there are a lot of nice restaurants, bars and convenience stores around the hotel. We were lucky to upgrade our room to a river view, king size bedroom, the entire atmosphere is incredibly charming and inspiring. We had window open and enjoyed the fresh breeze, heard the sound/music from street, very cozy. We also got free drinks at terrace of top floor and overlooked the old Montreal, it was so stunning and peaceful.
Auberge Du Vieux-Port is an authentic historical building, the staff is extremely helpful and warm. I definitely will visit it again !

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TiffLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We had a problem with our room late at night and they did their best to fix it. Without going into details I would just say that you learn more about an establishment's commitment to customer service when there is a problem and they fix it. This hotel did that. Great staff. Small rooms (tripped over the bed several times to get to the bathroom) for the money, though.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mblaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeDuVieuxPort, General Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

On behalf of the Auberge du Vieux Ports team, we are glad to see that you appreciated our service and would like to let you know that it was our pleasure making sure you had an excellent time at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
I am sorry to hear that you found the room too small for what you’ve paid. I would like to reassure you that for your next stay, if there’s anything that you are unsatisfied with, please contact the front desk at all times and it would be a pleasure for my team to take care of your request. We are at all times here for you.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This hotel is perfectly situated as it is walking distance to many restaurants, bars and shops. We only stayed one night but arrived early enough to enjoy the old port area. We had originally asked to be put in a room in the old building but when we checked in, we discovered we had been placed in the newer building. Without any pressure, the hotel staff upgraded us into a room with a river view in the old building, which was really nice as they charged us for the original room price. We were put into room 401 which has nice exposed brick on two walls and the bathroom and it has two windows with great river views. The bed was queen size and very comfortable. The bathroom had a huge rain head with several jets that face you so we really enjoyed our shower in the morning.

We did take them up on the complimentary drinks on the terrace which just opened that night. The bar staff was great and the terrace itself is worth a visit. It was views of St Paul street and the river. We also loved the breakfast which is served in the bar room which is really nice room. We asked the front desk for a dinner place and they reserved us a table in Verses which was perfect for us, it's good French cuisine a short walk away. Also loved the valet parking service even though it's a bit pricey. The valet/porter Mathieu was really cool and always helpful. The only gripes we had were spotty wifi and a random freight train that rolled through at 3:09am and it felt like it never ended and reminded us of the scene from My Cousin Vinny as we had the windows open and it sounded like it was going straight through the room. Otherwise, this is our hotel next time we stay in Montreal.

Room Tip: Room #401 has great river views
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gimper90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We spent a couple of nights at l'auberge, the excellent location, the attentive personnel and the cozy and spacious room made it a very pleasurable stay. Would recommend heartily if your choice is vieux montreal which i would definitely choose for tourism.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gabeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews