We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Save
Greater Montreal 5-hour VIP Guided City Tour
4

Book in advance
from
C$122.06
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Saint Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal
from C$122.06
More Info
from C$63.00
More Info
from C$239.00
More Info
from C$250.00
More Info
Reviews (5,376)
Filter reviews
5,376 results
Traveller rating
3,380
1,553
353
60
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,380
1,553
353
60
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brother andre votive chapel largest church holy place gift shop great view of the city awe inspiring worth the trip notre dame stained glass pilgrims miracles nativity basilica candles faith architecture
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 5,376 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2019 via mobile

Very good place to visit. There is construction ongoing at the moment but it doesn’t take away from the visit. For those who have never been here, it sits on top of Mount Royal's Westmount Summit so be prepared for a climb. The approach starts flat but you will soon be on an upward slope and climbing a lot of stairs. The climb is definitely worth it though. The interior is impressive. On the east side of the Oratory is “The Garden of the Way of the Cross”. Very relaxing to walk through. In the evening enjoy the view and fantastic sunset from the Oratory’s observation deck.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank gregmR137ES
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 11, 2019 via mobile

The Saint Joseph Oratory is a must while in Montreal, even if you are not a Catholic or Christian. If you happen to be a Catholic you will enjoy it even more.

The basilique is huge, and built in a modern style that defies ages and remains as perpetually contemporary shrine.

The life of Father André is impressive and humbling. He was the one in charge is setting the vision and making all happen.

The edifice is enormous, and has several levels including chapels, a crypt, museum and the main temple.

Donations are welcomed, and the only place requiring a moderate payment is the museum, aside from the $5 CAD fee for parking if you arrive in a car.

City views are beautiful, and the wait of the cross gardens are well worth the visit.

Do go. Enjoy!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank josepZ7581NA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 11, 2019

It was very nice and interesting. Recommend to to museum as well. So damn good.Never saw something like that

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank B3261FKrobertb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 10, 2019

This is one of those places that must be visited. It is located in an elevated place where you can get a beautiful view. It is very well kept. The architecture is wonderful , although inside the "basilica" I expected something more elaborated. Nevertheless makes the time to visit and don't hesitate to go all the way to the top, hey there are electric stairs!!

Date of experience: June 2019
2  Thank pedrob28162
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 10, 2019

The oratory is situated in an elevated area which gives you a great view of the Montreal city. Plan for 3-4 hours and inside was very beautiful

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank sivasg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews