We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Save
Greater Montreal 5-hour VIP Guided City Tour
4

Book in advance
from
C$122.06
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Saint Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal
from C$122.06
More Info
from C$63.00
More Info
from C$239.00
More Info
from C$250.00
More Info
Reviews (5,376)
Filter reviews
5,376 results
Traveller rating
3,380
1,553
353
60
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,380
1,553
353
60
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brother andre votive chapel largest church holy place gift shop great view of the city awe inspiring worth the trip notre dame stained glass pilgrims miracles nativity basilica candles faith architecture
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 5,376 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2019

Many miracles are performed at this holy site...you will see so many rosaries that people have left behind....
Miracles do happen if you believe!!!

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Excursion659054
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 28, 2019

I was able to visit this church almost after 15 years with my family. Everytime I visit, I get amazed by the architecture and the craftsmanship put into building this church. The church, the building, the gardens outside are all designed so beautifully. The size of this church is mesmerizing. Definitely calms you down and gives you positive vibe. The gardens outside is marvelous. There are so many escalators to make going up and down easy. But be prepared to walk a lots of stairs as well. The views from the top are breathtaking. Definitely worth the visit.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank SERAN78
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 27, 2019 via mobile

Don't go if you don't want to walk up lots of stairs.
Very interesting place. More than 1 chapel on different levels. Churches very plain compared to others.
Beautiful gardens with Stations of the Cross. Great views.
Well worth a visit

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank LorraineD111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

Our expectations were high for such an impressive structure. We were expecting something like the old gothic "Notre-Dame" type interior, but this was quite different. Grounds and structure were beautiful, but much was under construction. It was very hard to park near the entrance, so would recommend tour bus or just driving all the way up and taking your chances if handicapped. Too far to walk for most seniors from designated parking areas and there is a lot of walking once you are inside. This is made for worship and study and it is well suited for that purpose. Sanctuary is in a modern style as is most of the inside, except for the lower level chapel area. Well suited for its purpose. Restrooms old, but well maintained. Has restaurant inside and plenty of tables, and a large gift shop.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Friend_of_IEEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

The grounds are under construction. Be prepared to walk a great distance. Plus, the traffic in Montreal leaves something to be desired. The drivers are nutz! The place itself is very lovely. The only fee you need to pay is for parking so I would not suggest purchasing ahead of time unless you were interested in some sort of guided tour (which, in my opinion) is not necessary. Make sure you go in the back behind the crypt church. It is really solemn there and holy.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews