We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable stay at the Le St-Martin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Ranked #16 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We booked the Suite Verriere at the Le St-Martin Hotel for 3 nights in February through the Jetsetter website. The room exactly as the website photos - spacious, clean and comfortable, with a huge bed and full window view of the street. This didn’t bother us though, the blinds were great at blocking out the morning sunlight and there wasn’t too much street noise. Although on the Friday night, a nearby club did have the music pumping until the morning.

There was a fireplace in the room although i think this was more for the look and not for the heat. The internal heating worked really well though. The bathroom was fantastic – it had a really large tub and a TV mounted on the wall.

Staff seemed quite friendly – I wouldn’t say they went out of their way to greet us each time we were in the foyer, however if we needed anything they were helpful.

We dined in the L’Aromate restaurant on our first night, fantastic meal and lots of good choices.

We’d happily recommend for others to stay at the Le St-Martin for a comfortable stay in a nice area of Montreal.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeteandSiobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,157 - 1,163 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2012

This convenient and elegantly equipped luxury hotel in a prime downtown Montreal location is lovely in most respects. I realize that this may seem like a small issue but, the fact that the windows in the suites APPEAR to open but in fact do not is a problem for someone who craves fresh air for sleeping. The heating/AC works fine but its a bit noisy and the lack of fresh air makes the rooms a little "stale". On the positive side, the suites are very well equipped and the linens and toiletries are first rate. The Bistro is brilliant and reasonably priced for a superb breakfast. The same facility in the evenings is bustling. Caution.....the bartender when we stayed was completely incapable of making a simple Martini.........AND the price for 2 was an outrageous $30 for an ill prepared and under poured (2OZ MAX) drink. Now, I realize that this is a premier location in a major city however, the bartender should know how to make a decent martini........Don't you agree??
Overall, we have enjoyed our stay and if you are OK with the lack of fresh air and avoid ordering a Martini, you will find this boutique hotel to be convenient and a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rahall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My husband and I as well as another couple booked two nights in two Grand Lux suites March 2nd & 3rd.
This was the nicest room I've stayed in. Then again, i haven't been in many hotels other than in hiltons/holiday inn's.
Bar was stocked with drinks and snacks/treats. 2 Complimentary waters and 2 keurig coffee's.
5 minute walk from train station. 2 minute walk from Eaton Center/St-Catherines street.
Only reason it's not 5 star is the cheapest breakfast is $17.95+ tax/tip. Wow. Included continental would push this to 5 stars.
We went to Dunns though, 2 minutes away and had a great breakfast.

Room Tip: Our room was definately nicer than the other couples. Larger, with fireplace. We were in 1001, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dore0021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Beautiful lobby with spiral staircase. Very comfortable beds, extremely clean rooms, lovely decor, and great location. Within walking distance to lots of attractions. Very pleasant, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful staff. Overall a perfect experience, very Pleased and will be staying there again upon returning to Montreal.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nmc68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic A, Director of Sales at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Le St-Martin Montréal on TripAdvisor!

We could not be happier to read you enjoyed the experience at our establishment, and would stay with us again.
We have plenty of exciting room types, so do not hesutate to try one our Grand Luxe room, or Verriere room next time you are in Montreal.

Best,

Frederic Aouad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

For business, I stayed at Le. St-Martin for four nights. The location was perfect, just a 3 minute walk from the office and Eaton Centre. One of the newest hotels in downtown Montreal, the room was beautiful and the hotel was clean. The only downside I had was the menu selection for dinner and breakfast, but there are so many other options in the area that it didn't affect the stay. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _PheobeK_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic A, Director of Sales at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us at Le St-Martin Montreal, and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

We are delighted to read you loved your stay with us, and the central location we offer.
Being right next to all the main fashion stores in the city certainly brings value to Le St-Martin!
Even our staff has a hard time resisting the shopping urge on their lunch breaks!

Regarding our menu choices, you'll be delighted to discover we changes the items every month. Indeed, our restaurant l'Aromate is real local hotspot and makes a point to re-invent its menu. Try us again, I am confidemt you'll find the food choices to your liking!

Frederic Aouad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at Le St-Martin Hotel for one night - the location was excellent for getting around downtown. A beautiful boutique hotel, superbly clean, friendly desk staff, and reasonable rates for such a charming hotel.

Our only disappointment is that we requested a room with a fireplace and they didn't have any - however they upgraded us to a top floor room at no extra charge.

We are already talking about our next trip and will be staying here again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winterisfun2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Located on the property that used to house one of Montreal's most famous smoked meat joints (Ben's), this boutique hotel is a nice place to stay at. It is new, quiet and clean. Staff try hard but aren't at the same level as other business hotels I've stayed at.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mooboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#21 of 165 in Montreal
2,753 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,522 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#12 of 165 in Montreal
1,757 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,477 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal

Address: 980 Boulevard de Maisonneuve, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1M5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: $206 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Downtown is a haven of comfort overlooking urban life. It offers 123 rooms and suites with a warm and friendly atmosphere that reflects its philosophy. A unique blend of contemporary and traditional style endows Le St-Martin with charm and gives meaning to the term "Hotel Particulier." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing