We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ramin a

STOLEN CAR - Parking Not Safe

Review of Ruby Foo's
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 16, 2023
MY CAR WAS STOLEN FROM the HOTEL’s PARKING LOT!
Apparently this happened in the past and I was not the first one.
That was a very bad experience.
A manager guy there who spoke to me even did not say sorry about that!! He only showed me my signature that somewhere I had signed I am responsible for my car not them 😐
His attitude was worse than a nowhere Motel!
Although rooms were clean and comfortable and location is okay, that was not a good experience.
Sine I was going to travel to Montreal every week for work, I asked them for a discount regarding this and they firmly refused that as well!
The pool water was very cold and we could only use it for 10 minutes!!
So if you don’t use the parking and don’t talk to hotel staff that much, it can be acceptable to stay there!
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica G, Guest Services / Front Office at Ruby Foo's, responded to this review
Responded Aug 18, 2023
Hi, we are sorry to hear about the incident that occurred during your stay. Security measures are in place to minimise risk, including a security guard who patrols the premisis. Unfortunately our control on this type of situation is limited. We will be following up with our team in regards to the response you received from staff, thank you for sharing your feedback, it is invaluable to help us to continuously improve our services!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$409
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$409
  • Algotels
    C$345
  • Hotels.com
    C$409
6.2 km from Ruby Foo's
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$312
  • Expedia.com
    C$331
  • Agoda.com
    C$293
  • Hotels.com
    C$298
7.7 km from Ruby Foo's
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$254
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$254
  • Algotels
    C$247
  • Hotels.com
    C$254
7.0 km from Ruby Foo's
Free Wifi
Pool
C$365
C$289
  • Expedia.com
    C$365
  • Hotels.com
    C$328
  • Official Site
    C$365
7.9 km from Ruby Foo's
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Terrasse William Gray
C$334
  • Hotels.com
    C$450
  • Agoda.com
    C$312
  • Expedia.com
    C$500
8.0 km from Ruby Foo's
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$321
  • Expedia.com
    C$347
  • Agoda.com
    C$307
  • Hotels.com
    C$312
7.8 km from Ruby Foo's
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
C$347
  • Hotels.com
    C$312
  • Agoda.com
    C$306
  • Expedia.com
    C$347
8.0 km from Ruby Foo's
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$277
C$260
  • Expedia.com
    C$260
  • Hotels.com
    C$260
  • travelup.com
    C$277
7.2 km from Ruby Foo's
Free Wifi
Pool
Rooftop Terrace with 2 jacuzzis
C$236
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$237
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$213
  • Priceline
7.9 km from Ruby Foo's
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
Save with Hilton Honours Rewards
  • Booking.com
    C$203
  • Expedia.com
    C$220
  • Hotels.com
    C$203
6.6 km from Ruby Foo's
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Montreal
Reviews (654)
Filter reviews
654 results
Traveller rating
177
267
116
42
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
177
267
116
42
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews decarie metro station outdoor pool breakfast restaurant nice hotel night's sleep room was large old montreal walmart downtown bathrobes linens proximity shampoo channels refrigerator canada
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 654 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2023 via mobile

We have been going to this hotel every July for 5 years. I lived in Montreal for 40 years. We return to visit my children and grandkids. Free parking and 5 min. Walk to the metro less than 30 min. To Beautiful downtown Montreal. Beautiful Pool with GREAT STAFF. The breakfast restaurant is very good and
reasonable prices. I did bring my Dyson Vacuum Cleaner cause of my server Asthma. Made a big difference. Front Desk staff were really accommodating and polite. We will be back next July.
Again thanks😁😁😁

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank snapyhabfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica G, Guest Services / Front Office at Ruby Foo's, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2023

Hi and thank you for sharing your comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, your kind words will be shared with the team! we look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2023 via mobile

We are on our second of a three-night stay and this hotel has turned out to be a wonderful surprise. Impeccable cleanliness. Helpful staff. Daily room cleaning (which is now very unusual in most properties). Free parking. Reasonable pricing. Would highly recommend without hesitation.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Andre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica G, Guest Services / Front Office at Ruby Foo's, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2023

Hi Andre, thank you so much for your lovely review, we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2023

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!. Traveling solo with my friend (both young girls), arrived at 1 am and got chased down the hallway by a man who tried to force himself into our room while we scream and ran. Other guests called the cops also because of the situation. Canadian law enforcement is a joke - they told us it “wasn’t a big deal” to “calm down” and that “he’s a nice guy who was just sleepwalking." What's even worse is that the hotel management said this "type of situation has happened before so its not a big deal." We were so scared and traumatized that we barricaded the door with the sofa and stayed up all night, unable to sleep. They’re probably gonna reply to this with the same BS about sleepwalking, but as two young women, DO NOT trust this company and please do not stay here if you care about your safety.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mobile25735885959
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica G, Guest Services / Front Office at Ruby Foo's, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2023

Hi and thank you for reaching out. As a management team composed mostly of women, we're truly sorry to hear about what happened, we know how distressing an experience like this can be. We entirely agree that the law enforcement's response was unacceptable and that proper sensitivity training is required, including on our end. We hope that the full refund which was processed helps to show you that we take this very seriously, please do not hesitate to reach out if we can assist with anything else.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2023

We stayed at this hotel because a friend said it was less expensive than a hotel downtown and it was within a couple blocks of the Metro. This hotel is on par with say a Comfort inn or Days Inn type hotel. It appears to offer some meeting rooms and it has a nice pool by appearances.
It is not in a very good neighborhood. A large highway is in front of it bordered by frontage roads. I suppose by comparison it is a fair amount less than downtown but am not sure it is worth it's going rate.
It's hallways offer a cavernous setting as we had kids screaming and running around and adults talking loudly at 10:30pm. After he had received a few complaints, ours being the last, the manager came up in a bit and got the crowd of apparently put out parents to agree to take their party downstairs.
The maid service is good but stingy on the towel replacements.

It offers a cafe type restaurant that was a bit harried when we went. It also offers a "fine dining" restaurant, self described by the hostess. This seems like a bit of a stretch since it didn't offer tablecloths or pepper with an off the shelf container of salt. That said I did have a good greek salad there. It came with a block of feta cheese on top. A bit unusual but it was good.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica G, Guest Services / Front Office at Ruby Foo's, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2023

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! We are sorry to hear about the disturbances during the evening, we strive to offer a relaxing and calm atmosphere for our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again during your next visit to Montreal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2023 via mobile

>The advantages:
Our room for 4 people was a nice size.
The staff was pleasant, when you could get them.
The pool was nice.
>The disadvantages:
The front desk rarely answers the phone.
There are plumbing issues. We needed assistance with our toilet 3 times and we had no working toilet the last night of our stay, as they told us they couldn’t fix it until the morning. So someone who has given birth a few times and someone who is in medical treatment for frequent urination had to go down to the lobby rest rooms a few times over night. We ended up checking out before the 3rd repair.
There is a serious soap shortage, which seems from other reviews to be a long-term problem. (Though the front desk told us they had just run out.) We ended up getting a couple of bars of soap from the grocery. Four people cannot wash their hands and shower with a tiny tube of liquid soap.
In some hotel rooms your view will be a service road and garden bed that are a part of the hotel property and are strewn with garbage.
The parking lot floods really badly when it rains and unless you want to step out of your car into 4-6 inches of water, it’s hard to find a parking spot. We were advised to go to the back of the lot, but the passageway was under so much water that I was afraid to drive through it.

This was really disappointing. I paid over $1100 in American dollars for 4 nights.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Embroiderer1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica G, Guest Services / Front Office at Ruby Foo's, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2023

Hi and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're sorry to hear about the issues you encountered during your stay and would like to discuss these further with you in order to follow up with the relevant teams and ensure that the problems are resolved. Please contact us at info@hotelrubyfoos.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews