We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
sy r

Never Again WORST HOTEL

Review of Ruby Foo's
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Dec 16, 2023
The front desk couldn't find  my booking and I and my wife have to wait 30 minutes  just to get my prebooked room.

But the worst is the staff of the Eggspectation restaurant    they were very rude and had no manners to treat a guest. She asked right at the door are you  passing through and that instantly  cancelled my food from that  place plans. I have visited many hotels but this staff was the  absolute  NEVER EVER.

 She was the worst  and a person who will drive business away for sure

Sent from my Bell Samsung device over Canada’s largest network.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica G, Other at Ruby Foo's, responded to this review
Responded Dec 21, 2023
Hi and thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear about the delay you experienced at check-in, we will be following up with our team and further training will be provided to help handle these types of occurrences. We have also escalated the issue with the restaurant staff to the current tenant of the premises. We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again during your next visit to Montreal and show you the quality of our usual services!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$331
  • Expedia.com
    C$331
  • Agoda.com
    C$295
  • Hotels.com
    C$331
7.7 km from Ruby Foo's
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$251
  • Priceline
    C$269
  • Expedia.com
    C$237
  • travelup.com
    C$308
7.0 km from Ruby Foo's
Free Wifi
Pool
C$279
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$279
  • Agoda.com
    C$261
  • Hotels.com
    C$279
7.3 km from Ruby Foo's
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
C$390
  • Expedia.com
    C$391
  • Agoda.com
    C$288
  • Hotels.com
    C$390
7.9 km from Ruby Foo's
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$459
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    C$439
  • Vio.com
    C$368
  • Priceline
6.2 km from Ruby Foo's
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$425
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$424
  • Agoda.com
    C$384
  • Priceline
7.8 km from Ruby Foo's
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Terrasse William Gray
C$392
  • Priceline
    C$459
  • Agoda.com
    C$369
  • Hotels.com
    C$459
8.0 km from Ruby Foo's
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$345
C$319
  • Expedia.com
    C$319
  • Hotels.com
    C$319
  • Priceline
    C$319
7.2 km from Ruby Foo's
Free Wifi
Pool
Rooftop Terrace with 2 jacuzzis
C$331
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    C$331
  • Vio.com
    C$140
  • Expedia.com
    C$331
7.9 km from Ruby Foo's
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
C$266
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$266
  • Hyatt.com
    C$256
  • Hotels.com
    C$266
7.8 km from Ruby Foo's
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Montreal
Reviews (651)
Filter reviews
651 results
Traveller rating
177
266
115
41
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
177
266
115
41
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews decarie metro station outdoor pool breakfast restaurant nice hotel night's sleep room was large old montreal walmart downtown bathrobes linens proximity shampoo channels refrigerator canada
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 651 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2023

Good location, beds are good and room size decent - but the positives end there. Floor and surfaces in our room were filthy, stains on the sheets, mould in the bathroom and a very ancient noisy heating and cooling unit. You won’t want to take your shoes off. You get the feeling this hotel had much better days but they are definitely in the rear view mirror. Inexplicably the in-house dinner restaurant is wildly expensive and as you’d expect, mostly empty. Not only do you have to pay in advance and leave a deposit at check in, but they insist on a room inspection before you are allowed to check out. Not sure what kind of clientele has prompted these measures but this is not worthy of a hotel that boasts 4 stars. No way.

Room tip: Inspect your room before you check in
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank N1043RTmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica G, Other at Ruby Foo's, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2023

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback, our guests' comments are invaluable in helping us to continuously improve our facilities and services. We are sorry to hear about the issues noted in your room, please be assured that the points will be followed up on and resolved immediately.
Please note that a security deposit is common practice in most hotels, the authorisation for this is released on the day of departure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2023

Not much to complain about here. The staff were nice and accommodating, the beds were comfortable, no noise, decent rates, a spa (which I didn't get to check out), and not too far from where I had to go.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AustinH6913
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica G, Guest Services / Front Office at Ruby Foo's, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2023

Hi Austin, thank you for sharing your feedback. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and hope to have the chance to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2023 via mobile

I booked a bed requested a room on the first floor due to issues with our knees both my wife and I the hotel respond by email three weeks prior confirming our request upon arrival they checked us in a room on the second floor far corner of the property.

We tried to check out both restaurants for breakfast and dinner and we discovered that they have very high pricing compared with others in the area.
The bathroom was not clean and tidy as they claim very poor quality hotel and service. The parking is not monitored and the gate is wide open to anyone to come through. The desk clerk give us a parking ticket with coding to use for departure however this can not be used because the gate is wide open. The hotel is poorly managed. We will not be back this hotel needs help.

Room tip: Avoid booking Ruby Foo’s hotel.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Yehia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica G, Guest Services / Front Office at Ruby Foo's, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2023

Hi Yehia, we're sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with our facilities during your stay. We have investigated the points you have raised, each of our guests' comments are crucial to help us improve our services. Unfortunately the room type that was reserved via the third party is located on the far end of the property and rooms located directly above the reception area are of a different category. We apologise that this was not clarified following your email, we have noted this and will provide additional training to the individual who treated your request.
Our outdoor parking area is patrolled by a security guard, however we did experience issues with the gates at the time of your stay and the technical issue has since been resolved.
We hope you will consider staying with us during your next visit to Montreal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2023

One would think the price per room on their website would be in Canadian funds, being a Montreal hotel. Not so. The surprise comes when you receive your credit card statement and shows the charges converted to US funds, plus a service charge for the booking company in Florida. Borderline sleazy! The conformation email did state this pricing conversion. However, when you're halfway out the door to the destination, it's difficult to cancel to book elsewhere. Here's an idea... how about indicating on each room price that the price you see will be converted to US funds in bold, black letters? Other than that, the room was clean and the stay pleasant.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica G, Guest Services / Front Office at Ruby Foo's, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2023

Hi Alan, we would be interested to hear through what website you reserved your room, as it was certainly not ours for this to have occurred. Our website displays rates in CAD and any charges are made on premises, also always in CAD, doing otherwise would not be possible. From your description, it sounds like you might have booked via a third party. We would love to know what site this was in order for us to investigate, our official partners do not charge service fees. Please reach out to us with detailed information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2023

On 26 August, my party and I checked in at approximately 20:00 after booking two Standard Studio-Kitchenette rooms and one Standard King Room. During the check-in process, we encountered difficulties due to the reception staff's unfamiliarity with your check-in procedures, available products, and directions to our rooms. Despite these initial challenges, we proceeded with the hope that our experience would improve.
Upon receiving our key cards, we were informed that we had been assigned two rooms as the Standard Studio-Kitchenette rooms and one room as the Standard King Room. However, our disappointment peaked when we entered room 274 and discovered that it was, in fact, a Standard King Room, lacking the kitchenette and one bed that we had specifically booked.
We promptly returned to the reception desk to address this error, only to be informed that all Standard Studio-Kitchenette rooms were occupied, and no alternative rooms were available. This situation was extremely frustrating, and we were surprised that the staff did not acknowledge or address this issue during our initial check-in.
Furthermore, we were unable to speak with a supervisor until the following morning, which left us with no choice but to accept a portable bed as a makeshift solution for the missing bed. This significantly impacted the comfort and quality of our stay.
Our disappointment continued when we checked out the next morning around 9:00. The staff informed us that the supervisor would not be available until 11:00. We were promised that the issue with the room would only be addressed after the supervisor contacted us. Regrettably, we have yet to receive any communication regarding the resolution of this matter, and our credit card has already been billed without prior notification.
This entire experience has left us profoundly dissatisfied with the level of service we received at Hôtel Ruby Foo's. We expected a seamless and enjoyable stay but instead encountered multiple issues, along with a lack of timely and effective resolution.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica G, Guest Services / Front Office at Ruby Foo's, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2023

Hi and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We would like to further discuss the unfortunate events described to better understand what happened and to ensure appropriate actions are taken to improve our services. Please contact our Front Office Manager at your earliest convenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews